We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review was for Miner's Motel not Railtown Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miner's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miner's Motel to your Saves list
Miner's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   18740 Highway 108, Jamestown, CA 95327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Review was for Miner's Motel not Railtown Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Please note that my review of "MINER'S MOTEL" got posted for Jamestown Railtown Motel. Please correct this error.

rdjm@comcast.net

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Miner's Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Miner's Motel. We look forward to your next visit. We did see that the review was posted for another motel instead. The Railtown Motel, however, is also owned by the same owners, and it is an equally nice place to stay. It is now under new management and has undergone many improvements. We appreciate your time for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were traveling with our little dog so our options were slim to start with. Miner's Motel proved to be an excellent value! Our room was upstairs, #302, and was spacious and attractive having one wall wood and the others painted block. Two big windows had pretty views - woodsy. Shower curtain could have benefited with a washing in bleach, but even that wasn't enough to make us go "eeeeoow." Updated bathroom, comfy king bed (enough room for our treated-for-fleas pup), fairly new carpet, microwave, frig, and small coffee pot - we were comfortable for our two night stay. Location was super as we came to visit Yosemite and Jamestown's Railtown 1897. Even a small grassy area that had picnic tables and a grill suited us well as it provided a grassy fenced area for our little pooch to run around in. At $75 per (including dog fee), it was a great find!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Basic room with some amenities, comfortable, quite clean. No complaints about the bed. Enjoyed having both a shower and a tub. Staff was friendly adn helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I found cacaroach bugs in my room. When I told the owner, he was very rude and said I must have brought them since I had so many people. After I rented three rooms, I couldn't believe his response. All rooms were disgusting, and one even had cereal under the bed! I'm never returning to this place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Miner's Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with our motel. However, your request for a full refund at check out was unreasonable. The managers stated that you had more than 12 people, which was more than the amount you had informed and the amount allowed per room. There were no cockroaches in any rooms, and the one bug you showed the manager was a beetle from outside. You have to keep in mind that this is a mountainous area and a bug from outside can occasionally crawl in. We strive to make every stay at our motel pleasant and are again sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Eleven of us riding on 9 motorcycles stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were extremely clean and offered the full range of amenities. The owner/hosts were quite friendly and were there for us at all times. The BBQ facilities and gazebo provided a special place for us to gather and relax. The pool was great - sparkling clean and well maintained. Location is convenient to both Jamestown and Sonora. Those of us coming to this area again will definitely stay here. Good value for the money - Rustic - but well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, U.K
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

clean and friendly motel just a short drive from the centre of the town. After trying to find somewhere cheap to stay in the centre my friend and I drove back to the miners motel we had spotted on the way in. Not only was the man at the desk friendly he was happy to bartar and we got a well priced spacious room (much cheaper than the prices we had been quoted in the centre).. It might not be the most stylish of places but it has a swimming pool and we had a fridge in our room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I've stayed here a couple times and would stay here again. The rooms were clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. The rates are very reasonable. The room had a refridgerator and microwave and coffee maker. Only drawback for some would be that some of the furishings were a bit dated.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miner's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miner's Motel

Address: 18740 Highway 108, Jamestown, CA 95327
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Miner's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miners Motel of Jamestown is just minutes from Yosemite National Park, Stanislaus National Forest, wineries, fishing, boating, horseback riding, and white water rafting. In the winter, guests can enjoying skiing, snowboarding, and sledding at the local ski areas. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, picnic area and BBQ, and dogs are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Miner's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miner`s Hotel Jamestown
Miners Hotel Sonora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miner's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.