We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Funky Trip to the Past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jacumba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel
Save
You added Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel to your Saves list
44500 Old Highway 80, Jacumba, CA 91934   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jacumba
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Funky Trip to the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

The place is an older slightly rundown desert motel in the middle of nowhere with a "manana" mentality, but we really enjoyed it. It was like going back to the 50's and stopping at an old place on route 66 with the bonus of the hot spring and pools. Definitely not a five star place, but the room was clean and comfortable and we thought a little bit fraying around the edges added to the atmosphere . The trip out along old highway 80 and 94 was great (DO NOT take the interstate) and put us in the mood for this funky spot. The restaurant was fine and the cantina seem to be a local hangout, but friendly and casual. I would recommend it to anyone who can be a bit flexible and who is looking for an unusual overnight trip.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    2
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
15
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

A must for a great massage and michelada. Brian makes the best michelada west of the 5 and Sue gives an awesome massage. Great food and staff. On Saturdays, the place fills up with quite an eclectic group of locals and touristes. Super friendly place !

Dawn and Kurt Dose

  • Liked — food/bar
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I just came back from the most relaxing hide away. Three days in the high desert sun shine and cool clear star filled nights (you can see the milkyway). The massage was top notch, the restuarant excellent and the mineral water pools dream like. The property has new owners and they are doing alot of work and really fixing it up. There are no phones in the rooms, my cell phone had no coverage and I was able to unplug and tune the world out. The manager "Alfred" is one of the funniest people I've ever meet and the owner "Sonya" bent over backwards to make us happy. I highly recommend this get away to anyone looking to escape the city and enjoy the sun, water, food, sky and just relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We discoved this place years ago, but just started staying at the hotel a few years ago and we love it. The staff is down to earth, very relax and the food is always five star with a two star price. The only thing we found a little funky was the windows in the rooms could use a good cleaning. It's always a different experience each time we stay there. Now our families are wanting to check it out. If your use to the Phoenician or some place like that, STAY HOME, you want a appreciate the value of the source and quality of history. ENJOY! BE at peace with yourself. Teresa

  • Liked — Kicked back
  • Disliked — Dirty windows
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Made reservation for Memorial Day weekend night. Staff persons were friendly, however, upon opening the door to our hotel room, we were surrounded by swarms of flies. Told hotel staff who said it's desert climate, you have bugs. Went to local store to buy fly strips, hung them in room, they appeared to work but when we returned 2 hours later, a new swarm had arrived. Then we discovered that our bathroom towels and washclothes had already been used by someone and were not replaced with fresh ones. There was not tile but really old carpeting in the room which reeked of cigarette smoke and needed to be replaced. We finally had enough after 3 hours and told the German woman (the owner?) that we were checking out for the above reasons. She just said, "Cash or credit?" She seemed resigned about the state of the place and I felt sorry for her. Didn't have high expectations about the place after reading reviews but did expect clean towels and no swarming insects in room. My advice: get the day pass, enjoy the springs, then go home.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

The hotel seems to have been remodeled a bit from the last time we stayed. the rooms were fine although the tiled floor was very cold in december. We tried to get a meal in the restuarant at 930 and the although the waitress was helpful the manager who we observed in the bar rudely shook his head and said they were closed. We were very disappointed in the "hot" springs. The water in the jacuzzi is barely body temperature and the water in the pool is cold. When I called to book a room I specifically asked about the springs as this was the primary reason for my visit. This is not the experience we had the last time we were here. We won't be back

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

This place has been the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Bathroom light switch did not work. "You can just unscrew the bulb" (With damp hands for extra excitement!). Room door closed but lock did not catch. Room connected to the office through a thin interior door with lots of light leaks and no soundproofing. Loud conversations outside room well into the wee hours.

  • Liked — Reasturant staff was friendly and food was good
  • Disliked — The accomodation
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep away
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel

Address: 44500 Old Highway 80, Jacumba, CA 91934
Location: United States > California > Jacumba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jacumba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacumba Hot Springs & Resort "The Jacumba Spa" consists of a completely renovated Restaurant, Full Service Bar, Two Swimming Pools, Spa and 24 Hotel Rooms. In addition to all the new features, the main focus is on the world famous mineral water. Pumped from our artesian well, the 100 degree mineral water fills our two pools and spa. As we are utilizing a continuous flow system so no chlorination is necessary. Located on the US/Mexico border in the high desert East of San Diego, the Jacumba Spa is the perfect get away destination. Many people have referred to the hot springs as "...Magical, mystical healing water". The waters at The Jacumba Spa will leave you relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated from the stress-filled world we live in today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.