We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEFINATELY IMPROVED OVER THE YEARS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amador Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Amador Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
200 S Highway 49, PO Box 758, Jackson, CA 95642   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DEFINATELY IMPROVED OVER THE YEARS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I read the older reviews and they are VERY outdated. The staff DOES NOT smoke in their lobby! What a ridiculous thing to say in my opinion. The hotel IS a mix of non and smoking rooms so being tolerant of that is best to enjoy your stay if it bothers you at all. I think you should stay in a smoke-free hotel if you dont like smoke because you're going to experience smelling of smoke at a hotel that is mixed, sorry! The staff is friendly and hard-working and you have to meet K.C. at the front desk when you're checking in or out because she is sweet, friendly and very informative of the area! I'll be coming back to this hotel often on our visits to the county. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    30
    24
    16
See reviews for
52
58
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We had originally planned to go to Stateline, NV, but we couldn't go east on Highway 50 as it was snowing. So, we decided to go to Jackson, CA enroute to Yosemite. What a great surprise this place was. The price was more than reasonable when you consider breakfast at Denny's (next door) was included in the price. The large comfortable room included a fireplace which we used as it was very cold outdoors and it was very romantic. The room had everything you could think of, including enough space in the bathroom for my cosmetics to be laid out for the next morning, a hairdryer, free wi-fi, great shower, etc. and it was quiet. A few nights later we more more than twice as much for a "fancy" resort hotel near Yosemite and got none of those advantages, plus they wanted to charge $10 to use their wi-fi! The Amador Inn was a far better value for money!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

My husband stayed at this hotel for 1 night; the accomodations were
acceptable, the price was not. I am outraged by the $129.95 he was
charged. My husband was travelling to Reno with our 12 yr old - he was
exhausted when he arrived. He called me from the rm and said the rate
was $99.... I asked if he had remembered to request a AAA discount - he
said "no", but that he would in the a.m.; I expected the final rate to
be ~ $85; high but okay. After he returned from the trip, I found the
receipt (!). I called the 1-800 number for BW and was told to go through
the hotel. I did and spoke with a front desk person then, a higher up. The manager herself never did call me as requested, but had an employee call to say that there
was nothing they could do whereas my husband had initialed the invoice (huh?). Let me tell ya, they left some serious money on the table if that is there only criteria. My husband would have initialed an invoice for $1,000! In conclusion, I will say that I do not expect something for nothing, but $129 for Jackson, CA is OUTRAGEOUS and leaves me feeing taken advantage of. Not a good feeling after staying at a national chain were you expect some value. We will stay elsewhere from now on.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed 1 night. Had a large clean room with a comfortable bed. We asked for a quiet room and were given one in block C at the back. It was very quiet away from the road and even had its own patio with table and chairs. Hot breakfast is at Dennys next door to the motel. Bit disappointing - there was porridge but no cereals or waffles. Overall a very good value motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed here one night while driving up through Gold Country to Lassen National Park. This hotel did NOT meet the minimum expectations for a Best Western. The room furnishings were very outdated (and the room smelled funny), the front desk staff was sub-par, and the "free hot breakfast at Dennys" they advertise on their website is a side room off the Dennys next door, where they have a few warming dishes filled with food that looked like leftovers from people who had breakfast in the restaurant. Don't waste your money, keep on driving.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The rooms in this hotel are nothing like the website. They are flthy and hot. The smell of stale cigarette smoke (years of it) premeate the furniture, bed, and even the lobby when you walk in. The "dumpster" for the hotel consists of a pick up truck parked in the parking lot in front of the pool and smells all day full of garbage. The rooms are filthy. Being one of the few hotels left that allow and encourage smoking, the smoking rooms are not even in a seperate building, they are dispersed throughout the hotel so the smell of smoke fills all hallways and rooms on both floors. The hotel sits right on Hwy. 49 and Hwy. 88 so the window units suck in massive amounts of carbon monixide and pump it into your room (It does not blow cool air either) and outside your door , smoke from other rooms (no matter where your room is) comes in from the hallways. The rooms are very dirty. The counter tops in the bathroom are black with dirt and filth. The bathtub and toilet looked to have never been cleaned. The whole hotel smells like garbage and smoke. The carpets are filthy and the furniture is soiled and wreaks of years of cigarette smoke even in the non smoking rooms. The owner obviously does not want to spend the money to maintain the property and does not care about the safety and comfort of the guests, only about getting the money. I will not even go into detail about the "fitness room". It has two pieces of equipment in a very dirty room right near smoking rooms so if you like working out in cigarette smoke it might work except for the filth. There is a small room with one coin washer and one coin dryer right in the fitness room that serves the whole hotel. The washer had something undiscribable in it. I can't imagine someone washing their laundry in it. This is the worst hotel you can imagine.
It is a shame that this is a privately owned Best Western as it is a very poor reflection on the Best Western chain as a whole. If you plan to spend the night here, plan on a hot stay in a filthy, dirty place full of smoke and in vast disrepair with very poor customer service. You would be safer and more comfortable spending the night in your car.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the Jackson area The Best Western Amador is your best bet. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is helpful and pleasant, especially KC at the front desk. Any cons are trivial in comparison to the pros. The only real complaint our group had was the free breakfast is from Denny's across the street but they are the pickiest of eaters.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Amador Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amador Inn

Address: 200 S Highway 49, PO Box 758, Jackson, CA 95642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amador Hotel Jackson
Best Western Jackson
Jackson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amador Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.