We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Comfy Beds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
101 Clinton Road, Jackson, CA 95642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super Comfy Beds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Despite the fact that a snowstorm closed the highway the night before and filled the Hotel to capacity, our room was ready to go by the suggested check in. On a normal day the Hotel could have checked us in early. Initially checked into room 102, which i recommend you request NOT having as it backs up to laundry room and the dryers beep every 300 seconds until 5pm. We were promptly moved to another room within minutes of making request to move. Our final room was MORE than comfortable and clean. Housekeeping was nice and pleasant and did an excellent job. In fact the shower was better than the one I have at home. Our room was appointed with a microwave and minifridge. TV remote batteries actually worked too ! Huge clock radio worked and was very easy to read and operate. Parking was ample and they have a luggage cart to borrow if you are like me and travel with tons of gear.
The only thing I can think of fixing in the room would be the lighting in the door area to see oneself better in the full length mirror, but since I dont stare at myself much it wasn't too big a deal.
Express Breakfast could use some help. Eggs were microwaved and tasted sorta.. I dunno what. Cinnamon rolls were cold but all the food was there, restocked and ready to eat even at 9:45am.
So all in all we slept really good and comfortable and ate "ok" enough to get by til lunch. Oh the internet was hit and miss... kept kicking us off

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
25
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We chose to stay here even though it was more expensive, because we had a very nice stay 2 years ago. We arrived and checked in, and the room was ready, and clean except for a few stray pieces of trash on the bathroom floor and the toilet was not flushing properly. When I called the desk about this, the clerk brought up a plunger, but no one came in to unclog it, I had to do it myself, and the toilet never seemed to work quite right.

A much bigger complaint however, was the "free internet" they advertise on their website and on the sign outside the hotel. No mention was made of a problem when we checked in, but when we tried and tried to log on, it would not connect. Another call downstairs, and the clerk admits that the internet has been out of service since Thursday, and this was Sunday. This is absolutely inexcusable for a business hotel. There was no offer of compensation or access to the internet elsewhere. When we checked out the next day, the desk clerk was allowed to deduct $25 from our bill for the inconvenience, but this did not come close to making up for time wasted and work that could not be done. We never would have stayed here had we known.

There was also the room key issue. Our key cards stopped working about 2 hours before our departure time. The clerk implied that it was our fault for carrying the keys with coins or car keys (both of us simultaneously?) She then reissued keys without even asking for ID, which my husband pointed out was an extremely unsafe breach of security. 15 minutes later, our parents' keys both stop working. Same story, the clerk tried to blame them rather than the hotel's equipment, and gave them new cards without requesting ID!!!!

Finally, the breakfast was not what they advertise. The juice machine was broken, so you could only pour from 2 cover-less pitchers in the little refrigerator, the only fruit was bananas, and there were no cinnamon rolls. I normally would not care, but the Holiday Inn makes such a big deal about their wonderful cinnamon rolls, even selling them by mail order, and I could not even give my daughter one for her birthday breakfast (the reason for our trip!) They obviously run out often, judging by the laminated sign apologizing for the lack of cinnamon rolls and the ample supply of cellophane wrapped pastries. I will let you know if they send us a complimentary tray of cinnamon rolls to apologize.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed here for one night without booking and from the outside it looks like the nicest place in Jackson. We were a little disappointed it had no pool but the room (116) was comfortable, quiet and clean with a microwave and fridge. This is a nice rural town and we even saw deer grazing next to the hotel! The included breakfast was pretty good and the staff friendly. The hotel is located opposite a shopping area with numerous restaurants to choose from. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

HIE is almost always a great stay, but this one in Jackson is one of the best. All ot the things you have come to expect from HIE are here and in top notch shape.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Second time visiting Jackson-and returned to this holiday. Service was very good, rooms are spotless and if you need any assistance-just ask someone at the desk-they will help you.

There is an additional surpize in Jackson, if you are in the mood for great food-try the mexican food resturant-down the road. Family business and the food is good!

If you were considering going to another "major chain" hotel in this area, check the with the locals about them first. This Holiday Express Rocks.. but another "name brand-national chain" seems to be blighted with little tiny bugs-in the bed. BEWARE! Perhaps, checking with the health board-before making any choices.. (ICCKY)

Have fun wandering about in the caverns and gold mines... we had a blast!

  • Liked — Simply the front desk and the rooms
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

This is a typcial Holiday Inn Express, with pretty much everything you would expect. The location is convenient, and it sits up on a hill with a decent view of the surrounding area. There are stores and fast food places across the highway, and other restaurants downtown, which is a couple of miles away. Nothing is really walking distance, but very convenient by car.

The room (224) was a nice size, with a good mattress. You had a choice between firm and soft pillows, which was a nice touch. It had a small work desk, but I was unable to get the wireless Internet to work. The front desk said the only other choice was to plug into the DSL outlet in the room, but I had neglected to bring a cable. Not a big deal.

There was a microwave and refer in the room, along with a coffee maker and "Holiday Inn Special Blend" coffee, which was some of the worst in-room coffee I've ever had. The room and the furniture are starting to show some signs of age. The bottom of the tub was stained from age - not gross, just getting old. Shower was adequate, and there was a strange combination of nice fluffy towels and older, thin ones. I found it a little odd that there was a small catalog in the bathroom adverstising Holiday Inn towels and shower heads for sale. You can even order cinnamon rolls to have shipped to your house. A strange touch.

Breakfast is included, but stay away if you want to eat healthy. They had hot omlettes with cheese (premade, not made to order), which were actually pretty good, along with really greasy sausage patties. The usual cereal and bread. Good coffee here. Also their special cinnamon rolls (I guess the same ones you can order by mail), which were pretty good as well.

The real downside to this hotel is the paper-thin walls. In this day and age of soundproof construction, I was really surprised to find that I could hear the TV and much of the conversation from the room next door. I ended up with earplugs in and the fan running on the AC all night in order to dampen things down enough to get some sleep.

All in all, a decent enough place to stay, and I would not recommend against it. But don't forget the earplugs!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

The Holiday Inn Express looks new both outside and in. Our bed was comfortable and all fixtures worked well. With the windows closed the room was very quiet. There is a fitness room on the first floor but no pool. We walked out the back door to the movie theater situated a few steps away during the hot afternoon. The hotel attendant was very helpful, offering ideas for local restaurants and attractions. We ate at the Bonanza restaurant and were pleased with the food quality and prices. The tapioca pudding was delicious! Jackson itself was rather quiet downtown, but the museum was interesting. The breakfast at the hotel consisted of some good cinnamon rolls, hard boiled eggs, juices, and warm/cold cereals. The breakfast room itself was spacious and clean. For the money, the Holiday Inn is a very good value.

  • Liked — Newness of facility, proximity to historical points of interest
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson

Address: 101 Clinton Road, Jackson, CA 95642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stay Smart" with Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Jackson, California! Escape to historic Jackson, California on the Scenic Highway 49, which leads you to the many wonders of the Gold Country. Visit multiple quant towns with an abundance of antique and specialty shops here in the Mother Lode. Mokelumne River is just minutes down the highway and wishes to help you create some magical memories while relaxing or living-it-up next to the water. Families and people of all ages will be enticed by the beauty that engulfs Amador County. For you fish lovers, we have a few lakes that are sure to "catch" your attention! Open tournaments for fishing happen yearly at Lake Pardee and Camanche Lake is fun to take a swim in or even to break some waves on your jet skis! Golfers tend to love the fact that there are two golf courses in our area including Mace Meadows Golf Course being minutes up Highway 88. There are tournaments, fun events and great people and food! All located within 20 - 30 minutes from our hotel, you'll find wineries in stretches of Plymouth and the Shenandoah Valley with rows of cascading vineyards for miles to see. Snuggled nicely in the winery area is the Amador Flower Farm which features vibrant flowers, plants and staff!A pumpkin patch excites many in the Fall as well! For those who love the snow, located an hour drive up Highway 88 is Kirkwood Ski Resort. We sell discounted Ski Lift Tickets for Adults, Teens and Children during the current season of the year! (Check out our Ski and Stay Package on our website during Ski Season.) Chaw'se Indian Grinding Rock State Park in Pine Grove, up Highway 88, is great for a solo retreat and a pleasure for couples or even families. They are also ADA compliant. A few miles down the road from this beautiful park, you'll find the just-big-enough town of Volcano, which has wonderful features including an outdoor amphitheater and cavern tours at Black Chasm. You can fill a photo album with fantastic captures of Daffodil bulbs from the 1800's that peak out each year at Daffodil Hill, just a few minutes' drive from Volcano. This outstanding family-owned (and still occupying the property daily as a residence) ranch and farm, opens their gates for a couple weeks in the Spring to the public and is a MUST-SEE of Amador County. Try your luck at the Jackson Rancheria Indian Casino, just 5 miles from here. Entertainment and good food awaits. To sum it up, we are just three hours from the gate of Yosemite and two hours from South Lake Tahoe and Heavenly Valley Ski Resort! We look forward to your visit to the Holiday Inn Express in Jackson, California! Cya soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Jackson
Holiday Inn Jackson
Holiday Inn Express Jackson
Jackson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.