We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometime the Old is better than the New” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort to your Saves list
Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12222 New York Ranch Road, Jackson, CA 95642   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Oakdale, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sometime the Old is better than the New”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We so much enjoyed the old location, and food.

The food now is just mediocre. No need to comment any further, but they would not print a short comment.

The new sections are nice, and presentable. The food however is left to long when it's not moving, looks dried out. The overall quality doesn't even come up to chain food standards.

You may want to pass this one by, sorry to have to make such a report on resturant that once had good food.

We were looking for a nice lunch like we've had in the past, what a total let down and disappointment, when your mind was set on something good.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
15
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We live in the Jackson area and have friends up for the weekend all the time. We will usually go up to Tahoe for a night or two, but decided to go to the Rancheria since we had not been there since they remodeled. Well let us say for the whole crowd of us ( twelve that night ) that this place still stinks after all these years ! This is by-far the worst casino that California has at this time. Bad service all the way from the staff to the lousy gaming they offer. The Food is the worst any of us have had since school and a few of us even got quite ill after eating the buffet. We could go on and on but we hope you get the point from a group of us who travel around all the time that this is a place to avoid !!!

Room Tip: No good rooms here, all BAD !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Everything was perfect here. The usual free tv, phone calls and Wi-Fi were there. I found the pillows and comforter to be down (feathers) and I am very allergic to feathers. I called the desk and in record time everything was replaced with hypo allergenic items. The Wi-Fi was very fast, allowing me to get much done on my pc in record time. Also, the hotel is connected to the casino that is there and there are several restaurants in the casino area that have very good food. I ate at their Lone Wolf restaurant and had a great meal at a reasonable price served by a very good waiter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghann K, Manager at Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.
We offer several amenities to make our guests more comfortable and I’m happy that our team took care of you.
We truly want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us.
Our Information Technologies team is excited to hear that our Wi-Fi upgrade was a success.
With a lot of corporate groups staying with us, we needed the best.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have never stayed at an Indian Casino Hotel before but came to see Paul Revere and the Raiders, awesome show as always. The grounds were beautiful, the staff so friendly and helpful. The rooms I thought were very nice, they are HUGE, have a fridge, coffee maker, bottled water and very clean. Walking through the hall the floors did sound a little creeky so glad we were on the top floor. The casino is a casino so it is smokey as someone mentioned but what casino isn't? I did like that they do not serve alcohol in the Casino, instead they have complimentary soda,water and smoothies, YUM! We ate at the food court and the buffet, they were good but nothing standout. The concert was handled so well, lots of security and very well organized, the only draw back was no assigned seating, I prefer to choose and book a particular seat. The over all experience was great and I love the antique shopping in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Jackson Rancheria is an old casino. The hotel rooms have antiquated looking tables and chairs. Old but very sturdy. I wouldn't mind having some of their bedside tables. It's not as modern as those you would find in Vegas for example, but I like the look of it. The staff are extremely friendly, cheery, and helpful. They remodeled everything a few years ago. It used to be very smoky and dark in the casino and the hotel rooms smelled like ashtrays, but it's much improved and there are several new places to eat at.

I usually stay during the weekends when it's busy. Lots of parking in the four level garage and they offer valet parking too. If gambling is not your goal, they have monthly concerts I believe and there is a pool you can use or just relax by. The hotel also has a weight room, business center, even a small gaming room for the kids. It's probably quiet during the week, so if you want to get away from the city noise, it's a good place to be at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We decided to go with friends to the buffet last week. We had to walk all the way through the horribly smoke-filled casino to get to the buffet, which was relatively smoke free. The six of us were appalled by the awful food; a brisket that was so heavily smoked it seemed perfumed, (maybe it had been exposed to the casino air), mac n cheese that stuck to the spoon when you tried to put it on your plate; a very watery pasta w/broccoli dish, and a salad bar that had just a few ingredients. We all decided it was the worst buffet we'd ever had, and wouldn't ever go back. Then we had to make our way back to the entrance thru the unbreathable air. It was very cold outside, but hey, it was FRESH, smoke-free air, thank god. We had to wait almost a half an hour for our car. Not a good experience, and certainly one I would never recommend. Live and learn.... Oh, the waitress was funny, witty and good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghann K, Manager at Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about your experience at the Rancheria Buffet. We have addressed the items you were dissatisfied with, with our chef. This invaluable feedback gives us an opportunity to improve the quality we expect out of all our restaurants. Our hope is that you will give us another try. I'm not sure which day you dined but our be weekend buffets have had a great response from our guests.
On Fridays we have our Fishermans Whar Buffet from 4pm - 11 pm we serve Dungeness and Snow crab, lobster claws, fresh fish, oysters, Prime Rib, cioppino, clam chowder and much more.
On Saturdays we have our Steak Lovers buffet from 4pm - 11 we feature at least three types of steak including Prime Rib and N. Y. Steak Diane as well as Dungeness Crab and a baked potato bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Nova scotia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

hey I even met an employee there from Nova Scotia I belive his family was from martock area. Ilso hear ther is a historic site that they are working on. Add it to your destination when there. buffett was enormous enough to cover any price range. the food courts offered a great variety, however IM yet to try the indian taco and burrito.

Room Tip: check out new accomidations
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort

Address: 12222 New York Ranch Road, Jackson, CA 95642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jackson
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of course, we offer all the comforts you'd expect from a first-class casino and hotel. But at Jackson Rancheria, the difference lies in our service. Stay here - and let us amaze you. As our guest, you'll enjoy complimentary valet and bell services and so much more. Relax in the pool or hot tub. And if you prefer to travel by RV, you can enjoy all these amenities in addition to those of our RV Park. Stop by the Coffee Bar in the Lobby for Sandwiches, Wraps, Pastries, Donuts, Fruit & Yogurt Parfaits, Cookies, and more. Open daily 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Book Your Banquet Now - We are accepting bookings for our banquet facilities. The moment you hit the casino floor, you feel the energy. 33 Gaming tables, 9 Poker tables featuring Texas Hold 'Em and over 1,500 slot and video poker machines. Action that happens around the clock. Sit down to a game of Blackjack or EZ Pai Gow (no commission). Give a spin to the most popular progressive and video poker games. Visit our 24-hour Poker Room. Here, you're sure to find the most fun and friendly staff anywhere. Jackson Rancheria has more MegaJackpot winners than any casino in Northern California. Step inside, and let your imagination run wild. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Rancheria Casino, Hotel Jackson
Jackson Rancheria Casino, Hotel And Conference Center
Rancheria Hotel Jackson
Jackson Rancheria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.