We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jackson Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Jackson Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jackson Lodge
850 N. State Highway 49/88, Jackson, CA 95642 (Formerly Jackson Gold Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF Rates, from $69
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Jackson
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent two nights here as part of a group that was participating in a 2 day car rally. We had almost the entire lodge for our group and the management was wonderful.

This is not a 4 start lodge, nor do they bill themselves as one, but it is clean, the beds are comfortable and the location is fantastic!

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
22
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franconia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Large room with all amenities; nice pool, pleasant management
Overheard talking next door late into night, skimpy continental breakfast, small old bathroom; although it looked clean, room had an odor.
Adequate for a one-night stop-over

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Memorial Day weekend. This statement alone should be a plus for this motel management, because these days it's rare to find places that do not enforce the 3-night minimum over a long weekend. So it worked perfectly for our schedule, and saved us unnecessary money.

When we first pulled in, I was apprehensive, because the place looked like an average motel with its doors lined up along a corridor, and very small windows in the front. But as soon as we walked into the room, it was an entirely different world. Big, wide windows lined most of the wall on the inside that faces the woods, giving you the feeling of seclusion and peace. The room we got was a double-double, and it WAS bigger than your average hotel room, though sparsely furnished. The beds were big (two queen size) and firm, and the pillows just the right height. You won't mistake this for a 5-star hotel, but it is definitely comfortable, with everything working and clean. The fridge is new and clean and a good size. The shower stall has the old-fashioned kind of hot and cold water knobs.

My only 2 complaints are these: The walls are rather thin, so once or twice we heard people stomping upstairs and talking outside, but not often. The bathroom is too small, and there is not enough places to hang wet towels, though they do provide enough towels.

Breakfast was bagels, danish, 2 types of cereal, coffee, tea, milk, juices, and hot cocoa. There is also a microwave oven for you to heat up anything you want, a toaster, and a high chair. The breakfast area is very nice and cozy, with a tall ceiling, fire place, TV, and facing the swimming pool. The owner is very efficient in bringing out food that has run out if you tell him. The pool is a nice size, with a small corner of shallow water for children, but it is not heated, so it would be only good in the summer.

I like this place for its unpretentiousness and its efficiency. It's enough, and it is reasonable. We had a very good stay here and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the gold country. The town of Jackson is within walking distance and very cute, with an awesome Indian store, and some very nice consignment and antique stores. In terms of restaurants, there is town called Sutter Creek nearby, and its Pizza Plus makes the best pizzas we've eaten in a long time. Angel's Camp is about 20 mi away, and Columbia another 20 mi from there. The Museum in Angel's Camp is definitely worth visiting, and Columbia, well, there's just no word for it.

I'm giving this place a 4 star not because it's a 4-star hotel quality, but because it really packs a lot of value for what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Came up to Jackson in September, and was looking for a place to stay. Came upon the Jackson Lodge, which I would recommend anyone looking for a great place to stay. The location was lovley, and the front desk was very kind and helpful. Your stay will include a contenental breakfast which was an added bonus inclusing the free wifi. The pool was fabulous as well. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I thought that this motel is one of the most reasonable and economical places to stay along the Hwy. 49 corridor that I have come across. It is affordable, well maintained and very central to all of the Jackson area. I would recommend to anyone.
NC

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Booked Jackson Lodge for 2 night Dec. 23, 2011, to Dec. 24, 2011. Upon arriving at this motel the price I was quoted was wrong, never got AAA discount nor was I asked about this , the mangement was rude and I guess since they are the owers they can be rude. After traveling from Las Vegas, Nv. I was in hopes that the room would be warm, wrong the heater is a air condition unite with a heater built in it, turned it on and very little heat. So I went to dinner thinking that by the time I got back it would be warm.. I don't think so, proceded to go to front desk and tell them of this problem, they offered to give me a another room I said no I will be checking out. They would not credit my account for the whole amount, since I had been their 3hours. I will be writing the Better Business in Jackson and will be talking to AAA in Las Vegas, this is the problem that I had whith this Motel, and no one whould have to put up with rude owners who want to make a buck off the consumer.

Room Tip: Stay at the Best Western for a good rate good rooms and great service even get a 15% off Denny's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Clean and quiet, but the rooms have not been remodeled since the 60's. Bed was hard and pillows were double-sized, making for a sore neck in the morning. Breakfast was pitiful, offering toast, pastry pieces, two kinds of cereal, or cold oatmeal. There must be a better place to stay in the Jackson area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jackson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Lodge

Address: 850 N. State Highway 49/88, Jackson, CA 95642 (Formerly Jackson Gold Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Lodge features 28 spacious, rooms and 8 fully equipped, one bedroom cabins, a year round heated pool, lawns, trees, and landscaped grounds. We are situated 1/4 mile north of downtown Jackson on the quiet hillside, below the highway. Continental Breakfast is included in our beautiful fireplace lobby. We are constantly upgrading and pride ourselves in absolute cleanliness and a staff that really cares about your experience. Free Wi-Fi., AAA approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your The Jackson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jackson Hotel Jackson
The Jackson Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jackson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.