We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience During Renovations” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16150 Sand Canyon Avenue, Irvine, CA 92618   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Irvine
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful Experience During Renovations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I booked my reservation for a week long business trip and imagine my surprise when I arrived and discovered that they were in the middle of renovating the hotel while I was staying there.

Yup, they took my money (standard price) and didn't bother to tell me that:

1. I would need to stay in one room one night and another room the following nights, so I had to checkin and checkout twice.

2. The laundry mat and gym would be closed for two of the days.

3. The hotel would have no water after 10am on a couple of the days.

4. I would enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of construction from early morning to early evening.

I didn't receive any cut rate or advance warning or anything.

Now, if you're reading this, you may think, "What do I care? By the time I visit, they will be done." That's a fair point, but consider this: This hotel is so desperate for money and so devalues its relationship with its business customers that it will charge them full price with no warning to stay in a hotel that is undergoing construction in the exact same areas where you are staying. If you think the mindset that thought this was OK is going to lead to you having a good experience while staying at this hotel for an extended period, I wish you luck.

We have an internal travel site at our company, and you can be sure that my fellow employees will hear about this and think twice about staying here or any Candlewood Suites again.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
7
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My room was upgaded to a suite on arrival. The suite was nicely appointed and clean, the only minus was the cabinetry showed a bit of wear. The staff was friendly and professional, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Poor management of hotel and staff. There has been a deterioration of integrity; guests are intentionally given faulty information and no remorse is shown even when calmly confronted about this.

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on Sand Canyon Avenue four times during the past 12 months, and observed that guests are treated as disposables, as if management fails to comprehend and uphold its role in the hospitality industry! We have had two incidences with this hotel. There was an issue with the room that we were incorrectly assigned. When we approached the general manager, he checked the computer and said that he understood the issue and that he would personally fix this by assigning us a different room within a half hour. After 40 minutes, we went to him for the fulfillment of his commit and he said that there was nothing he can do for us. We immediately terminated our stay there.

Thank goodness, there are optional hotels for guests. So we have astutely opted to not return to that hotel. For the sake of other guests, we truly hope for correction of the attitude of indifference towards guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I had previously stayed at this hotel 9 years ago for 2 months during a business relocation and it was fine. I had 2 cats with me and the hotel did everything to accomodate me. This recent 4 day stay was disappointing. The hotel is a bit run down, stained sink, scratchy sheets and a plugged bathtub drain which I requested they fix. 2 calls and a visit to the front desk and nothing was done about it. The 24 cupboard is not well stocked or actually even re-stocked. I watched the same bananas turn brown over my 4 day stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

In town for a small family reunion, this hotel couldn't have been more perfect. Modest in services (no housekeeping during our stay), the hotel has everything you want, whenever you want it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here this week and it was the usual Candlewood Suites experience. The 2 standouts are that it is exceptionally quiet here (that's a good thing), but there is ZERO recognition of Priority Club status. With that I mean no welcome back greeting, no recognition that you are a PC member at all, and no water or cheap amenity snack at check-in. I have seen the Priority Club program with Intercontinental Hotels Group diminish into near joke status over the past few years. Marriott and Hilton are eating their hotel lunch and they really need to try harder for frequent stayers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you miss the actual street to trun down going past the hospital, you will miss it! Love Candlewood Suites, the rooms are like mini apartments. We normally get the smoking room, this last time it was a bit stuffy, but otherwise this location features a much better stocked hotel pantry. Staff are quite polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAXSDGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you roachiebug!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. I’m also glad you mentioned the special care a traveler should take in looking four our hotel. As you point out the hotel is not visible from Sand Canyon Ave. Accessing the hotel is easiest for travelers after entering the Hoag Hospital complex and making a left at the stop sign.

Please come back and visit us soon. The hotel will be completed with its renovations by mid February 2012.

Charles E. Julien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum

Address: 16150 Sand Canyon Avenue, Irvine, CA 92618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Orange County Irvine/Spectrum Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). We are conveniently located off of the 405 or 5 Freeway in Orange County, and just minutes from the John Wayne Airport. The Spectrum Entertainment Center is minutes away where you will find fabulous bars and restaurants as well as a 21 Stadium Theater, a comedy club and a variety of stores for shopping. Orange County is home to some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, including Huntington and Newport Beaches. We are also an easy day trip to the sites of Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Candlewood Suites Irvine
Candlewood Irvine
Irvine Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.