We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait till renovations are done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Irvine Marriott to your Saves list
Irvine Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18000 Von Karman Avenue, Irvine, CA 92612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Irvine
France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wait till renovations are done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Major renovations have made the lobby and its public rooms virtually nonexistent. Staff remains friendly and helpful through this process and rooms are large and comfortable. Location, so close to John Wayne airport, is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    158
    72
    22
    5
See reviews for
50
41
20
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were - literally - on a plane at LAX when the Qantas lock-out hit. Thrown off like cattle, left at the airport in the hands of hopelessly overwhelmed American Airlines staff (thanks again, Qantas) and made it to the Irvine Marriott at 5am - seven hours after leaving the plane (did I say thanks again Qantas?).
The staff at the Marriott were unbelievable; 100+ tired and angry Australians and others landing on their doorstep and they didn't miss a beat - well done, you guys! The only people I felt sorry for were the two bar attendants when a mob of thirsty Australians decended on them like a plague of locusts at midday the next day - they looked like rabbits in the spotlights!
We can't praise the staff of this hotel enough for the professional and friendly way they handled this extraordinary event (thanks again, Qantas); they hooked us into the world's cheapest car rental company, treated us gently at a time of considrable stress and had plenty of staff on the bar the next day!
LA's not a place I ever thought I'd visit (thanks Qantas) but the staff at this hotel were exceptional; if you're wanting to see the beaches of LA (ordinary!) and looking for a quiet hotel in a good area - this is a good pick.
Thanks again to the front-of-house people and all the other staff at the Irvine Marriott: you made a stressful and unexpected stop-over (do I need to mention Qantas again?) almost memorable - for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are Marriott premium customers. We used Marriotts for conferences and for travel. We have used the Irvine Marriott for the past five years for an annual conference. It has been there a while, but it is a really classy Marriott for both business and casual travel. The service is excellent, the rooms large and clean, and the lobby comfortable and hopping. There's a full Starbuck's, good concierge service, and the breakfast buffet is well above average. There is a quick shuttle from the Orange County airport (SNA), and some excellent lunch and dinner restaurants within walking distance. The 10,000sf conference facility is flexible and comfortable, and our conference luncheon meal always outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the Irvine Marriott for a night for a workshop held at the hotel.

Their room is noting fancy, just an average hotel room. It seems a little outdated. The bed is pretty comfortable. I was surprised that they don't have a safe in the room. Their fitness center is decent with many machines and snack (apples) and headphones provided. $12 overnight parking. They have one restaurant and their food was okay. They have very friendly wait staff, though. No free internet. Marriott in SoCal without free Wi-Fi?

I went to a restaurant to have a breakfast and when I returned my room and my room door was left opened by the housekeeping. What if I was leaving important items in my room???

There was a wedding reception was something in their ballroom and they were blasting music till pretty late. If you need to wake up early in the morning, the loud noise is pretty irritating.

Overall my stay at the Marriott Irvine was just okay. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk wherever you don't hear the loud music from the ballroom if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lobby area is under renovation but still quite busy. Next renovation is probably the restaurant. Restaurant could offer more choices. Rooms were OK and quiet. Staff very hospitable and friendly. Bartenders interacted with crowd. For sushi lovers, sushi bar is gone. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Here for a meeting that I am conducting in the AM. I stay at tons of Marriott's across the US. As a vegetarian, first of all, I loved the dinner menu. Lots of great choices (see pics) and great martinis! !/2 mile from John Wayne airport - great location - very, very nice staff at desk, van, lounge, Concierge lounge and dining room. Great job - spread your ideas all around the chain!!!!
;-)

Room Tip: If you are a vegetarian, the dinner menu has great choices!!!!!!!!! The veggie dumplings are fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a seminar. The lobby is under renovation but it is still a very nice hotel and the service was great. I sat at the bar and enjoyed conversation with friendly bartenders. I would return and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Address: 18000 Von Karman Avenue, Irvine, CA 92612
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Irvine Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irvine Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.