We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms but Lobby was under Construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irvine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Irvine to your Saves list
Hotel Irvine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17900 Jamboree Road, Irvine, CA 92614 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Irvine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Irvine
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Rooms but Lobby was under Construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall good experience in Hotel Irvine. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean and room service was good. Overall good price for location close to John Wayne airport. Lobby was still being renovated but staff was super nice. I was there for the art education conference with NAEA.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
4
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first time staying at this hotel. It was close to John Wayne Airport. They have self parking around the back, with a short walk through the parking lot. Check in was quick with very friendly staff. Room was very clean and updated. Room service was quick and food was good. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was undergoing renovations during my stay. A sign in the makeshift lobby said that it would be completed by December. Front desk was literally several desks or tables next to each other covered with a black tablecloth. One row of elevators was closed off by a temporary wall making for a very narrow corridor that was probably the width of a wheelchair. The temporary bar / coffee shop was outside at the main entrance to the hotel, and breakfast was in a converted suite near the top of the hotel.

The saving grace of the stay was the staff who were very helpful, pleasant, accommodating and there were plenty of them. Would have given it a Poor rating were it not for the excellent effort put out by the service staff.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is under renovation and for the money is way over priced. We were there for a business conference and there were no real good meeting places, pool was closed and real bar or restaurant in the lobby area to meet. My bathroom was in need of a total renovation. The bed was comfortable but the room looked tired and was noisy. The staff was friendly and professional but I doubt I would ever stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even if we put the renovation aside, the hotel was still disappointing:
1) The "supposedly" hot items ( scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes) at breakfast were cold.
2) There was an ipod connector/speaker at the room but it was broken ( they are a bit late on adding ipod speakers to the rooms once most people now use their phones for music),
3) coffee in the rooms but no proper milk
4) hair inside the bed ( before I had used it)
5) wi fi is EXTREMELY slow

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, it's undergoing renovation, but that isn't being managed very well. No place for a cup of tea in the afternoon. No real milk in the rooms, nor a decent selection of teabags. Our room was renovated but it had a sliding door on the bathroom, meaning that you can hear everything that is going on in there. Definitely bad news, and very cheap feeling.
The room also only had one bedside lamp between 2 beds - what if one of you wants to sleep with the light out before the other? This is very poor design, not thought through and I would never recommend this hotel, even when the upgrading is finished.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper bathroom door that closes, not a sliding one. if they have any...
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmentally friendly practices didn't exist. No facility for recycling, nor for towels not being washed every day.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD S, General Manager at Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
To say that you had a disjointed experience during your stay at Hotel Irvine might be an understatement. I want to apologize that you caught us at the tail end of our reinvestment project, where some of the rooms have new furnishings, others haven’t been converted yet and some are right in the middle, which it sounds like your room might have been. We’re definitely aware of the things you mentioned and have plans to be sure that every room is equipped with the latest amenities and comforts of home.

Each room will soon have its own new coffee maker, and our 24-hour marketplace will give you the chance to bring nearly any kind of milk you like back to your room to store in your refrigerator. The hotel is also implementing new green initiatives, including refillable water bottles in each guest room and hydration stations throughout the hotel, eco-friendly food containers for Marketplace, and new standards for laundry services and recycling that we look forward to sharing with our guests. We have great things in store, and I’m disappointed that you didn't get to see the final result. I hope you’ll join us again once we have worked out all the bumps in the road.

JD Shafer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even though there are in the middle of a major remodel the staff went out of there way to make the stay impressive. My room was clean and quite ... I live out of hotels ... quite is a good thing after a busy day. They staff made sure the shuttle was waiting and ready to get me to my meeting on time. All in all ... good stay.

Room Tip: Since they are currently going through a remodel make sure you ask for a finished room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly and professional practices are in place at this facility.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irvine

Address: 17900 Jamboree Road, Irvine, CA 92614 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Irvine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Irvine is a lifestyle hotel. What the heck is that, you ask? Well, it's a statement that means we're independent, current and free to do whatever we want, just like you. It means that we're all about bringing a fresh new hotel to the OC, one that blends the best of work and play into one spiffy, designer package. It's bold colors and textures and exciting spots to chill, sip and dine. Not to mention the friendliest, in-the-know service around. Top that off with you-centric perks like free "everyday" breakfast, free parking for restaurant guests and free Wi-Fi and you've got an instant classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Irvine
Hotel Irvine CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irvine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.