We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodel hell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irvine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Irvine to your Saves list
Hotel Irvine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17900 Jamboree Road, Irvine, CA 92614 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Irvine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Irvine
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Remodel hell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Never ever stay at a hotel during a major remodel. If I had known beforehand, I wouldn't have! I came down this morning to check out and there was a black curtain where the registration desk was the night before and the cafe (Read caffeine source) as completely gone. WHAT!?!! It might have been nice if there was a sign, or at least some little indication of what was going to happen. I was staying there a notice under the door would have been nice. This on top of the restaurant being moved 12 floors from the kitchens so the food was cold, construction noise starting at 8:30 and no pool at all. Again, some notice would have gone a long way. After all of that the free airport shuttle that never showed up seems pretty small. Really, I know that remodels occur, but keeping everyone informed goes a long way to making it more bearable. I did eventually get checked and the coffee was in the parking lot outside....

Room Tip: Away from the construction which by the looks of it will be several months long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    22
    4
    12
See reviews for
13
4
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was my second stay at Hotel Irvine. Since my stay in May the hotel has started significant renovations. The room I was assigned had updated carpet and furnishings including comfortable beds. The room had a fridge and was facing the front of the hotel which is nice and quiet. Check-in and check-out were quick, the room was clean and well appointed.
Luckily I had lots of time to catch my flight because the hotel shuttle got caught in a traffic jam in the hotel driveway!?! That and the fact that all main floor restaurants are closed due to renovations kept this from getting an excellent rating.

Room Tip: SIgn up for their rewards program and you will get free wifi. Rooms facing the front of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel when it was a Hyatt property and it was great. I stayed at the hotel last night for a business trip, and I found the hotel not suitable for business travelers. I got a corporate rate which didn't include WIFI in the room. The self parking is 5-10min walk to the hotel lobby.. the bathroom amenities consist of only a soap/sample type shampoo/conditioner. The décor is outdated and everything looks old even though my room was "refurbished" ... There is a Fairmont and a Marriott within a miles where I had stayed before and would much prefer to use for my corporate/entertainment travel accounts.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two days at Hotel Irvine. I have stayed at this hotel last year when it was branded with Hyatt. The new management group is in the middle of major renovations, so at this time it is no better than a 2 star motel. Very limited food service, no pool, and indifferent staff. I stayed in a recently renovated room and I do not think that the checklist was finished for the room, bathroom was not completed with towel bars, some things did not look finished. Discussed the fact that the current construction was not mentioned on the hotel website with Tiffany at checkout, and she really did not seem to care that we were disappointed, she first questioned that I used the hotel website to check in (I Did), then just shrugged it off and told me she would let their IT department know. There are many other quality hotels in this area, if you stay here for the next six months do not pay any more than you would pay for a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Wait until renovations are complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in on business and was skeptical based on past reviews. This hotel is fine. It appears the rooms have been recently renovated. There was a bit of noisy comstruction going in in the lobby area. I did not have time to use any of the amenities. There is a coffee shop in the lobby and there's plenty of things in the area. Very close to the Orange County Airport with a shuttle that runs at the top of the hour and half past.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for business. The room was very dirty. Carpet had stains. You can see the dirt and stained curtains. Room smells. Plus they turned off the water for 5 hours to work on the plumbing. Front desk workers seemed inexperienced and not customer service oriented. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD S, General Manager at Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Freddieb29,

Hotel Irvine is in the process of an overall enhancement of the rooms, which will include new contemporary furnishings, design elements, amenities, and of course new carpeting. We pride ourselves on customer service. So, if there is any issue at all that needs the attention of hotel management, please don’t hesitate to ask.

JD Shafer
General Manager
Hotel Irvine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very large convention center type hotel. Hotel lobby oddly uninviting. It is large, cavernous and unwelcoming.
Renovated rooms need renovation: decent bed, decent linens, nice furniture. Bathroom is small and outdated. Housekeeping neglected to leave any of the amenities in my room so I cannot even comment on those. Overall: Fine especially for a business trip. If you are coming for leisure stay down near the water.
Upon check in there was a line of foreign travelers and it took about 20 minutes to get to me.
Also - hotel restaurant has a very limited menu.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irvine

Address: 17900 Jamboree Road, Irvine, CA 92614 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Irvine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Irvine Jamboree Center is an independent lifestyle hotel located at the center of bustling Orange County in the City of Irvine. Catering to the needs, individuality and aspirations of today’s diverse business, social and leisure clientele, Hotel Irvine combines highly personalized service with a sought-after centralized location just three miles from John Wayne Airport and is easily accessible to the region’s most desired activities and destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Irvine
Hotel Irvine CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irvine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.