We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected from a usually fine hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Main Street, Irvine, CA 92614   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Car Rental Package
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Irvine
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not what we expected from a usually fine hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Typical Embassy Suite Hotel from the outside. Hotel check-in staff very accommodating and friendly. Nice spacious two room suite, nicely equipped, and easy access. That's where it seemed to stop this stay. AC/heater unit ran like an old garage refrigerator. Loud when running and clunking sounds when it turns off. It seemed to gasp as if it was tired. After manually turning unit off, all we could hear is a constant hum or vibration of the hotel HVAC unit on the roof, we were on the top 10th floor. Also, don't be fooled with the "City View" and extra cost. Nothing like the beautiful San Diego skyline. When booking for someone sleeping on the soda bed, make sure there are enough pillows and blankets. Had to use pillows from the king bed. No extra pillows or blankets in the closet. Too late and tired to wait for hotel staff to deliver so we just dealt with it. Carpet needed vacuuming too. This hotel close to all in Irvine business community and easy freeway access. This stay was nothing like previous stays at same hotel. Seems to be going downhill from this stay which is unusual for a Hilton facility and this hotel chain. But, we still love the Hilton chain of hotels.

Room Tip: City View not really worth extra expense or extra HiltonHonors points. Suggest lower floor to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear iRland – thank you for sharing comments regarding your recent stay. I sorry to hear we missed the overall mark on this stay and appreciate your past loyalty. I have shared your comments with our operations staff and this is certainly not our standard. Recently the Hotel had a significant improvement to the HVAC system which we expect to provide a better guest experience. Should your travel bring you back to Irvine please reach out to me directly.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    174
    74
    38
    20
See reviews for
161
70
30
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harndrup, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I enjoyed the suite and the service level from the staff, but since the shower was not working, and were not fixed after mentioning it, my ratings are low. The two main things for a hotel will always be the bed and the shower, so I have to give it this low rating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Allan - thank you for your recent stay and comments. I'm very sad to hear about your experience with the shower and I truly apologize if this is something we were not able to correct and make it right during your stay. I will certainly share with our maintenance staff and hope that if you are returning to the area we can make sure you have a top notch experience.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

First of all I would like to say the hotel staff was great and attempted to make my stay enjoyable even with the protesters out side screaming at 0600 each morning. This is the second year in a row that this annoying demonstration has occurred and much as I like the hotel and it's location I will check before my next stay. The manager did offer to relocate me to another room but it's just such a hassle to move I elected to stay where I was ( big mistake should have moved ) I'm not sure what the issue is but I wish someone would resolve it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Slocumb - Thank you for your recent stay and happy to hear overall that it was a good experience and that the staff was great. Our staff and management take great pride in running the Hotel and delivering true hospitality to all our guests. It's unfortunate that occassionally we do have people not related to the Hotel causing noise. It's infrequent and short lived. We look forward to seeing you back at the Embassy on your next trip to Irvine.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

a very practical and comfortable hotel, very good value for the money. the staff is very friendly, they don't have bell service but there are luggage trollies, they have a nice small bar and daily happy hour

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Anas - Thank you for you r recent stay and 5 star review. I'm glad to hear everything worked out so well and that you found us very practical. We hope to see you back at the Hotel should you be returnng to Southern California.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location for family activities. Near Disney & several shopping malls. Also, very good restaurants in the area. Sara, front desk agent was very polite and attentive to my family's needs. A great example of what hospitality should be. Hilton should be proud to have her as an employee...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Herman - thank you for making us your home away from home for the BCS Championship game. I'm glad to hear our location to Disneyland and other area attractions was appealing for your family. Thank you for recognizing Sarah at the front desk. She's definitely one of our Superstars. We hope to see you back in Orange County for future vacations.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We are Embassy Suites fans, usually stay in Brea however, do to a work function we stayed at the Irvine Location. It is very modern and a little different feel. Still a great experience always very clean and quite. You never hear noise from other rooms and besides our key card not working it was a pleasure staying with Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Del - thank you for your recent stay and so glad to hear it was another great Embassy experience. Thanks for spliting time with our friends in Brea and hope to see you back in our area if business brings you this way.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel was very nice from the outside. The area where you park your car is little tight and confusion. It did need an elevator from the parking to the hotel. Your experience staying is very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesIrvine, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Richard - thank you for your recent stay with us and that everything was good. We look forward to your return should trravel bring you to Orange County.

Best regards, Ken
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport

Address: 2120 Main Street, Irvine, CA 92614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Irvine
#3 Romantic Hotel in Irvine
#4 Business Hotel in Irvine
#4 Green Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the premier suite hotels in Southern California, Embassy Suites Irvine-Orange County Airport. Offering a comfortable and stylish base just one mile from John Wayne/Orange County Airport, the hotel is also near Disneyland(R) Resort, University of California-Irvine and the Anaheim Convention Center. Relax in a spacious two-room suite with separate living and bedroom areas and outstanding amenities including a wet bar with mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel also has a limited number of guest studios. Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a full bar with snacks at the Evening Reception is served daily in the atrium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Irvine
Irvine Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Irvine-Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.