We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steelhead Brewery - CLOSED

Steelhead Brewery
4175 Campus Dr, Irvine, CA 92612-2618
(949) 856-2227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had lunch here with colleagues from UC Irvine and it was very nice. The service for our group of 10 was outstanding. We had to make a flight and were able to get served and eat, and they called us a cab, all in less than 45 minutes for our large group. The food was excellent. I had a personal pizza with wild mushrooms and loved it. The other meals looked very good too. The ambiance wasn't terribly special -- just a big warehouse feel. But, overall, I would recommend for good food, service, and value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was just along for the ride - had no idea where we were going - for dinner a couple of nights ago while attending a convention in Irvine, CA. What a great surprise! The choice of beers, while not overwhelming, was more then adequate for the craft-brewed beer afficianado. The menu was quite varied, but the portion sizes - as another review notes - were a little over the top. Can anyone eat a pound French fries? Really? The service was great and the staff was friendly without being intrusive. I'll go again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rootbeer On Tap?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Rootbeer on tap, how cool is that? Nice atmosphere, good appetizers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A decent bar near UCI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I checked this place out for a late lunch. I had the BLT and it was good. The only downside was the portion was HUGE, I'm still adjusting to American sized portions and this was just far too much.

The service was great and the server was very helpful and asked if I wanted a box, so I packed the BLT and took it away with me, but left the mountain of fries. I'm still adjusting to this box concept too, if I'm honest I would rather have a smaller portion & finish it on the premises.

They also have lots of TV's to watch sport and a great selection of beer.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent Chicken Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was able to go by this place with my son for a quick lunch. Room is cool, I like the mix of booths, and tables with regular and arm chairs. Service was great, server was friendly, and prompt. She let just the right amount of time pass between taking the order, delivering out chili, and the meals.

The food was just above average. We started with a bowl of chili, medicore chili at best. I liked the raw red onion, but the chili itself seemed a bit watery and needed more cheese. The chicken sandwich had a nice soft bun and looked wonderful when delivered to the table. It was piled high with bacon and had a bunch of fries on the side. The cheese was melted nicely and the chicken had a good seasoning. The meat itself was a bit dry though. My son's mac & cheese was good.

I wish there was a 3.5 bubble to rate this place. The reason I would knock off a half bubble from my rating would be value. I hate it when restaurants charge for kids' drinks. These should be included in my opinion, or at least discounted. I was surprised to see on my check a "Kids Milk" charged at $2.95. Seemed a little pricey for a cup of milk. Overall though a nice lunch, but I wouldn't go outta my way to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steelhead Brewery also viewed

 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steelhead Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.