We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The *best* way to start the day--for visitors, business folks and locals!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Park Grill

Six Park Grill
17900 Jamboree Rd, Irvine, CA 92614-6211
+1 949-225-6666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Six Park Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 538 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main
Description: A warm, light-filled space, complete with an arched wall of floor to ceiling windows in the main dining room and a central circular bar and lounge area. The restaurant opens onto the outdoor terrace and fire lit lounge area, perfect for year-round dining in the lovely Orange County weather. The elegant private dining room includes a separate butler's pantry for discrete service, and the warm, wood walls are lined with the vintages from around the world. While Six Park Grill is located within Hotel Irvine, it boasts a private entrance and complimentary valet service. Six Park Grill features contemporary Californian Coastal Cuisine utilizing fresh seasonal ingredients. Our Wood-fire grill is prominent in many of our dishes, including our signature grilled Caesar salad and the Meyers Ranch naturally raised steaks.
Paradise, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The *best* way to start the day--for visitors, business folks and locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Let's face it: Hotel breakfast "dining" isn't usually delightful. There are those hotels with the "free continental breakfast" that is merely a plastic-packaged pastry, orange juice from frozen concentrate and coffee that is definitely brown and coffee-flavored but not necessarily good. Step up a level and you have the "boiled eggs, make-your-own waffle, cereal in plastic dispensers" hotel breakfast.

That is *not* what the 6ix Park Grill breakfast at the Hyatt Regency Irvine is about. This lovely dining experience is what breakfast should be: relaxing, brimming with true service, an inspiring yet calming environment and delicious food. I suppose that's why, in nine days of breakfasting at the 6ix Park Grill, we saw not only Southern California visitors like ourselves but also business people ready to start their day and area residents all enjoying what 6ix Park Grill had to offer (family activities kept us away from the hotel in the evening; this review is only for the breakfast hours—although I'm eager to try this restaurant some evening when we're visiting again).

First, the setting: The restaurant has a small adjoining bar area (separate from the larger bar just off the hotel's lobby). In the morning, this area is where the restaurant stages its delightful breakfast buffet. It's plenty roomy enough to serve well for this purpose, meaning breakfast diners have comfortable space to choose from the hot selections, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals and breads. The dining area is comprised of a few booths as well as many tables set in three distinct areas, separated by low dividers; this keeps the large, high-ceilinged room feeling intimate, no matter where you're sitting. You can also choose to sit in the outside dining area, visible through the glass walls at the edge of the dining area. The outside area is planted with ferns, bird of paradise and other greenery, lending a bit of a tropical feel.

Tables are set with heavy napkins, nice drinkware and heavy stainless; this does not in any way feel as if the restaurant's management has just added a makeshift breakfast in to their repertoire to maximize usage in the morning hours.

The morning servers are incredible at 6ix Park Grill. We were lucky to enjoy the professional service of Zia as well as Javier—and we would certainly ask for either one of them on our next visit. Zia was eager to bring us whatever type of eggs we desired, even though we'd chosen the breakfast buffet. He treated my mother, a very recent widow, with tenderness and true solicitude. Additionally, Zia engaged with us in friendly conversation each morning and made certain our day started at 6ix Park Grill with sincere service and a sense of being cared for by someone who was a a real professional in the service industry. Javier, our excellent server on our last morning, asked if we'd like to package up some pastries and fruit for the 10-hour drive ahead and brought us bottles of water, napkins and plastic utensils as well. These two gentleman, teamed with the other wait staff, were key in making sure our days began with comfort.

Food at the 6ix Park Grill was impeccably presented and tasted wonderful. Fresh fruit not only *looked* appealing (perfect triangles of melon, curving little grapefruit sections, rosy-red strawberry halves), but tasted ripe and bursting with flavor (keep that produce supplier!). Bacon was perfectly cooked—ranging from uber-crispy to softer, depending on your preference—but don't miss the chicken sausage. Chefs would make an omelette with whatever items you chose (including omelettes with egg whites only) and the pancakes, French toast and waffles were tasty. Pastries were small (meaning I could try a few for variety without feeling like I'd maxed out my calories for the day), flaky and tasty; we especially enjoyed the one with pecans and glazed with honey. Coffee is from Starbucks (which is served in the neighboring cafe inside the Hyatt).

We were glad we chose the breakfast buffet—not because it offered a "quantity" of food (which it did) but because of the quality and variety of food. We're back home now but are missing the food, staff and ambiance of our daily breakfasts at the 6ix Park Grill. We'll definitely return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyIrvine, Public Relations Manager at Six Park Grill, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding 5 Star review. We are humbled by all your amazing compliments and we will certainly pass your praise along to Zia, Javier, and the rest of the staff at 6ix Park Grill. We strive to provide a quality product, served with authentic hospitality. We are always delighted to hear how our efforts impacted our guests and we appreciate your feedback. We are known for our quality of food, but we also proudly boast a wood fire grill used to perfect our cuts of meat and fish. We hope your next visit will allow you an opportunity to enjoy our California coastal cuisine for lunch and dinner. We greatly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had breakfast here on the way out. The atmosphere of this restaurant is very relaxing and tranquil. The food was really good and had excellent service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyIrvine, Manager at Six Park Grill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your great 5 Star review. We strive to provide authentic hospitality in conjunction with outstanding food options. We are glad to hear that your experience exceeded your expectations. Our wood fire grill provides great flavors in our food, we hope you have an opportunity to return for lunch or dinner sometime soon. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Better vibe than typical hotel dining; outdoor area is very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I come to 6ix Park Grill several times a year, about 2/3 of those for lunch. The food is most often a “hit” but unfortunately there is the occasional “miss.” The ambiance is rather to my liking, to the point where I don’t feel like I’m in a hotel restaurant. This is especially true of the outdoor dining area, where the architects had the presence of mind to provide a lush, palm tree and grass buffer from the other hotel amenities. On occasion, there will be ballroom events there when the conventioneers pile into the restaurant. Luckily, I manage to avoid that nine times out of ten. The menu selection is not huge, but is diverse and changes often enough to provide one with a reason for going back again before too long. Given that the prices are a bit above average, and the typical dress code is a little nicer than casual, I would not recommend this restaurant to off-the-street diners wanting a low budget meal. Look nice; have the credit card ready.

For your consideration:
(1) Self-parking is clear on the other side of the hotel, but the restaurant will validate the ticket. For more upscale service, you can valet park, which the restaurant also covers … except for the tip, of course.
(2) If the weather is good, I highly recommend getting a table outside. It’s A+ for outdoor ambience.
(3) All the meals I’ve had were prepared and presented well. I always feel like I’m in a special restaurant. Proportions are typically perfectly sized for me (not a big eater).
(4) On a few occasions when I was there for lunch (I usually arrive early, say 11h30), a waiter introduced himself, described the specials, brought our drinks, then explained there was a shift change, so someone else would be taking over. This caused slip-ups in communication between the first and second waiters, so we had to “re-order” things that didn’t showed up initially. Pardon me for trying to be logical, but why would a restaurant serving lunch have a shift change around 11h30-11h45?
(5) A rare food “miss”: there’s a beef salad on the lunch menu that contains really crunchy tortilla-like strips. I ordered it during my last meal there: the beef was good, the greens were okay, but IMHO the crunchy chips shouldn’t have been in there. Not right for that [upscale] salad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyIrvine, Manager at Six Park Grill, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. We appreciate feedback as it provides us with more clear insight as to what our diners like and what they would like to see done differently. We appreciate your loyalty and are humbled by your comments about the quality of food and general ambiance provided at 6ix Park Grill. We strive to provide a quality meal and a memorable experience for each of our guests. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary valet parking for all patrons at all times. We change our menus seasonally and we are happy to hear that our selection is to your liking, we have recently added additional options based on sustainability, calorie count, and items conscientious of specific food allergies. We agree with you whole heartedly that our patio is one of the best places in Orange County to enjoy a meal. We hope that our drive to be the best restaurant in the area will continue to bring you back, we appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dinner by the firepit outside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here twice during our 5-day stay and it was great! I would highly recommend sitting outside during the evening time near the fire pit. Great ambiance and food. The edamame is grilled an a wonderful appetizer to kick of our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyIrvine, Manager at Six Park Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take great pride in our entire experience and truly enjoy receiving comments such as yours. Our wood fire grill provides a unique opportunity to enjoy flavors in our foods that aren't commonly pronounced. Your recommendation of an evening by the fire pit is definitely a good one as this is a perfect spot to enjoy a relaxing evening in Orange County. We appreciate your business and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An excellent crab Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had both the breakfast buffet, which was average and also tried the shrimp and crab Louis salad for dinner, which was excellent. I believe they prepared the rib eye sandwich that I ordered at the coffee shop also. It was outstanding and a real bargain for the quality of the meat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyIrvine, Manager at Six Park Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5-Star review. We receive compliments regularly on our California coastal cuisine and our authentic wood fire grill, we’re glad you enjoyed it. The fire pit on the patio provides a wonderful spot to enjoy a delicious meal, if you didn’t try it this time we hope you are able to on your next visit. Please remember, diners at 6ix Park Grill always receive complimentary valet parking. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Park Grill also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Six Park Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Park Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.