We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak, of course.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
2961 Michelson Dr Ste A, Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 252-8848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 536 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $70 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Michelson Dr and Jamboree
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak, of course.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As one would expect, excellent steak, good service, and voluminous portions. A leisurely (but well attended) meal. Stuffed Mushrooms, baked Brussels sprouts sides also very good. The location is somewhat unusual, it almost, from the outside, looks you're headed into an office. From the inside, it's a high quality restaurant, of course.

Personally, I'd go for "medium" which is closer to medium-rare in some places, and maybe ask them to gently cut back a bit on the butter. This is, however, a question of style, not a question of proper preparation.

Even the leftovers were good for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great, small intimate Ruth Chris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We made a reservation for 4 people and requested a quiet area of restaurant because we had not seen these friends from Oregon in quite sometime. We had a wonderful table by a. Window. This is a much smaller Ruth Chris than we have been to in the past. We had the appetizer with Brie, fruit and some tasty bread. The dinner was wonderful and service impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner....terrific Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The last time we were in the Southern California area we ate at Ruth's Chris in Irvine and we enjoyed it so much that we decided to make a return visit on this trip to the area. It did not disappoint! The food was wonderful and the service was fantastic. This area is very busy and the tables fill up quickly so be sure to make a reservation before you go. We have been to many Ruth's Chris Steak Houses across the country and this one is very nice...a little more crowded than some and a little louder but the food and service can't be beat! I would highly recommend a dinner here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This Place Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Better make a reservation in advance because this steak house is ALWAYS full for dinner. Steaks are the best in the area and service is excellent. The sweet potato casserole is phenomenal. I hate sweet potatoes but this side dish is an absolute must try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Was unpleasantly surprised!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I were vacationing for our wedding anniversary and had booked a reservation well in advance of our special night. When we arrived to the restaurant, we couldn't even find a parking place within 2 blocks, so we were forced to valet. Ok... that's fine. Once inside, we checked in with the hostess and (we were about 10 minutes early) and told we would be seated shortly. It was so busy, with a crowd of people waiting, and so loud! 45 minutes later, yes... 45 minutes.... we were finally seated. We were not drinking, so we ordered our food right away. Ruth Chris is a tradition for my husband and I on every anniversary, so we knew what was good (everything), and what we wanted. I ordered the larger Rib Eye, because they are thick, juicy, and flavorful. I also ordered the house salad and a baked potato, all of which are ordered ala carte. I was so disappointed when the food came.... luke warm, yet very over-cooked potato, and my steak was an uneven cut, so part of it was under-cooked, while part was over-cooked. It was on a searing plate, so the over-done parts were getting cooked even more. I did not want BAD food to spoil our dinner, so I didn't complain to my husband, who appeared to be enjoying his. I waited quietly while taking tiny bites, hoping the server would come back around and I could send it back. No luck there! We didn't see a server for more than 20 minutes! By then I was so done and over it! I choose to not say anything to ruin my evening with my husband on our anniversary, but boy did I have an expensive plate of garbage!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.