We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Hands Down!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
2961 Michelson Dr Ste A, Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 252-8848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 533 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $70 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Michelson Dr and Jamboree
Sublimity, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Steak Hands Down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Be ready to spend some $$$$ The food is ala carte. This was a special occasion and totally worth it. Great atmosphere, Service was outstanding. Don't miss desert!! Reservations highly suggested.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yellowstone, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Delicious We Travel 1250 Miles To Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I travel from Montana to California each October for our anniversary, and we always eat dinner that evening at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Irvine! It's a tradition now, and has been for the past several years. Ruth's Chris filets are something out of a fairytale, they are so delicious and tender, and are perfectly prepared. The family sized side dishes are wonderful too, although this time we only ordered the Harvest Salad and our delicious filets! For dessert, our Crème Brûlée was rich and creamy, with a crunchy burnt sugar topping, making every mouthful a delight. Ruth's Chris servers are always friendly and attentive, and treat their customers like royalty. I had told them it was our anniversary when I made the reservation, so the Crème Brûlée dish arrived on a plate with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate, and a candle placed in the middle. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ruth's Chris is always crowded but with reservations seating is timely. The food here is always great and we never feel rushed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Don't fall for the hype!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Upon recommendation from my sister-in-law, my husband and I went to this restaurant for our anniversary. What a mistake! My husband grills better steaks at home! It felt like a Disney theme place as we were greeted with instructions not to touch the 500 degree plate that our steak will come to us on. The bread was average at best, butter from a whipped tub. My husband like his tomato soup, hence the number 2 rating but I thought it was greasy and not fresh feeling. on to the steaks...they were swimming in bubbling butter! Both were overcooked. Service was excellent in re-doing them and the decor was very comfortable. We also ordered the creamed spinach which tasted just like the kind my Mother made from frozen spinach and cream of mushroom soup...tastless! They did give us a complimentary dessert but the chocolate bark was awful and the key lime affair missing the lime...needless to say, despite the excellent service recovery about our steaks, we will not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“my #1 for BEST Filet Mignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Havent been here in more than a year and its still my number 1 for best filet mignon on my list. nobody can top it. sizzling butter and a filet? Come on! yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.