We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it again and still the same” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houston's

Houston's
2991 Michelson Dr, Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 833-0977
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 538 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Corona, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tried it again and still the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I tried Houston's again this time in Irvine. I had eaten at the one in Scottsdale. The exact same thing. Service however in this one was worse. The server was about what she couldn't do for us versus what she could do. Disappointing again. Food was just OK, menu very limited, just did not enjoy the experience at all. I will not be eating at Houston's again at any location. Pass it up if you get the chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You need to visit once every month”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food is great and comes in large portion. They have the best chicken noodles salad and their dings crispy chicken sandwich is my dream come true sandwich. Not to mention the staff were pleasant and very helpfull when you do not know what to order.
This is the resturant that you must visit at least once a month.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent shrimp and macadamia nut sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent shrimp and macadamia nut sushi. One of our local favorite restaurants. Great service. Excellent Thai noodle and steak salad and rotisserie chicken

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine ca
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We live close by so we have given Houstons several chances. Menu is unexciting and prices are up there. I think it is so busy because of the singles bar scene. It certainly isnt the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The food is consistently great along with the service. A favorite of many people is the French Dip. They have the absolute best french fries.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

 
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.