We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17601 Fitch, Irvine, CA 92614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Irvine
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Unlike most, I spend two weekends out of the month in Irvine. And have been doing that for 3 yrs. I have stayed in all the Marriott properties in Irvine and Costa Mesa. But this place is by far the best value in the area. Convenient location minutes from John Wayne Airport (off both 55 and 405 fwys), the hotel is spotless, with contemporary lobby, and friendly staff. Rooms are spacious, and well planned out. Partitioned between bedroom section, and living room which has desk and sofa bed, they have iHome, Microwave, refrigerator, and my morning Joe' maker in each room. Awesome free buffet breakfast, free WiFi, indoor pool, gym, and no $20 per parking fees like the other hotels in the area. If there is availability, this is home :-) Highly recommend this place to others...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    89
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
40
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you look at my reviews, about 95% are positive. That just highlights how very bad this hotel is, and how strongly I recommend you do not stay here. Here are our experiences:
First, we came in to the airport at about 10:00 pm. It was about 10:15 pm after we got our luggage. We went out to look for the shuttle to the airport (the one advertised on their website), and it was not there. I called the hotel and was told by the rude desk clerk (more about her later) that the shuttle doesn't run at that time. So, we took a cab and it was about a 8 minute cab ride. Here's the catch. When we rolled into the hotel's foyer, guess who also rolled in right behind us? The shuttle! It had other guests in it, and I don't understand while I was told directly the shuttle didn't run that late when it clearly did?
Next, we went to check in. I booked the room with a discount rate. When we arrived, the desk clerk immediately demanded my proof that we qualify for the discount. I had a card but it was from 2012, and my new card genuinely had not come yet. That shouldn't be a problem and never has been, in fact in every other hotel I have ever stayed in I wasn't even asked for my card. But, the Springhill must be special because we were rudely denied the rate by the same desk clerk who blatantly lied to me about the shuttle. She then proceeded to lecture us at around 10:45 pm at night after a long flight about company policy. It's just not important honestly, and this clerk was not my Mother. It was only about $20 difference anyways, is the Springhill that cheap that they have to put us through the ringer for $20? Then, the clerk's attitude got worse, and she made us feel ridiculous. We asked her to call to verify our rate and she said it wouldn't matter, and she wouldn't do it. Finally, after her diatribe we were released to go to our room. In the room we called and asked them to verify our rate with the clerk. No problem, they did it, but we didn't know if we got the rate or not, until the next morning - the clerk never let us know.
Finally, we hoped to get some rest. But, that didn't happen! In our room I found (it was not hidden in any way) splashed blood on the walls! Granted it was not all over,but it was clearly drops of blood in a space of about a foot next to the couch. I was horrified! I took a picture of it and will try to upload. But, I was more scared at the thought of dealing with that desk clerk. So we went in the bed area and tried to keep. To top it off, the walls were paper thin and we heard our neighbor snoring all night.
After an hour or two of sleep, we had to get up the next morning to go to the airport for our next flight, we were exhausted! We went downstairs for breakfast and asked the front desk about the shuttle. Guess what? It was running, but wouldn't be able to take us until much later than we hoped. I guessed it only runs on the half hour, and we had just missed it. I wish the clerk the night before would have said something about this while she was lecturing us, we would have gotten up earlier!!!
So, we ate breakfast, which was good - no complaints, and asked for a cab. While my Husband was checking us out, the manager, Steve, was called out because I guess we were a problem couple. Truthfully, we have never been considered problematic before - ever!!! He didn't do much, and eventually went away when we finished checking out. Our taxi never came, it was doubtful it was even called, we took the later shuttle and were late for our flight. That ended our experience at the worst hotel we have stayed at to date,
I would like to think this was just because of one clerk, Gisela, but if she is allowed to work there and treat us like that the real problem is probably much deeper. I mean the blood on the walls was the unreal icing on this terrible cake!
It goes without saying that we will not stay at this little slice of hell again, and probably will avoid Springhill Suites altogether.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel. It is truly disappointing to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay. I understand that we have some areas for improvement. I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our complimentary shuttle schedule has been set at specific times that we have found to be the most accommodating times for our guests and are scheduled around travel time and expected traffic. Our complimentary shuttle works on a reservation system, leaving the property every half hour based on guest requests, and we have one shuttle going back and forth to the airport. We do apologize for the miscommunication on the night that you arrived into John Wayne Airport and that you were told the shuttle was not available. The morning of departure when you requested the shuttle, it was in transit to the airport and therefore the next available time was in the next 20 minutes. I would also like to let you know in order to be consistent with all our guests a valid AAA Card is required at checkin for the discount to be applicable. We have addressed your concerns on the wall stains in your room and have utilized your feedback to improve our housekeeping procedures. We appreciate the time taken to provide us with valuable information to improve our hotel and we hope you’ll someday allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and it was just what we were looking for in a hotel/suite. My daughter is studying in the area and was able to check in before our late night arrival as I left a note online requesting this and was told there would be no problem over the phone as well.

The room was spacious. My son slept on the sofa bed in the living room area and was comfortable. One thing we had never seen before was the divided bathroom with the toilet and small sink in one room and the shower with a larger vanity and sink in another room. This was a great feature for a family. There was a small fridge and microwave which was nice since we brought back some leftovers from dinner.

We were close to the Orange County John Wayne airport but honestly never heard the planes. The hotel is in a convenient location, close to shopping areas, UC Irvine and Newport Beach. It took us about 20 minutes to get up to Disneyland...great!

The complementary breakfast was pretty standard with eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, bagels, English muffins and apples and bananas.

WiFi was fast in the room.

The front desk was friendly when we asked for extra towels and for directions driving.

Great value!

I do not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will be sure to return if in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is brand new. Located right next to 57 freeway with easy access to John Wayne Airport and OC attractions with car. Free parking compare to other hotels nearby makes it more attractive than others.

Rooms: They call it suite where you have a living room area and separate bedroom area divided by a desk. Bathroom is interesting where the shower area and toilet are in its own separate area so very nice if you are traveling with others. However, that makes the bathroom seems smaller than it should be.

Facilities: Nice gym, indoor pool with ample towels. Free wifi, Free Breakfast. Breakfast is not fancy but adequate for its purposes. Staffs are very nice and would recommend for others who needs a short stay in this area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to Elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Honestly, I was really thrilled with this hotel. The rooms look exactly like the pictures on their website, so that was a very pleasant surprise. So much free stuff going on here which was why we decided to go with this hotel. Free Parking and Wi-Fi (fast connection). They even offered a complementary breakfast which included scrambled eggs, sausage patties, fresh waffles you can make yourself, along with the usual bagels, cereal, fruit, etc. The staff was very friendly and greeted us upon arrival. I didn't hear any airplane noise like I read in some of the other reviews and even though our room faced the fwy it was very quiet. Location was great as well, very close to South Coast Plaza and the fwy on ramp and off ramp for travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location to Orange County John Wayne Airport 5 min. and Disneyland 20 min. with a free airport shuttle on the half hour. BREAKFAST INCLUDED and was wonderful with hard boiled as well as scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, muffins, english muffins, toast, cereal, waffles, fruit, milk, juice and coffee. COMPLIMENTARY coffee 24 hrs. a day in lobby. Loved the size of the room, very comfortable with iPhone clock, internet access, small refrigerator, coffee maker, ironing board, hair dryer, desk, couch, & HUGE flat screen tv. Could not hear the airplanes but I could hear snoring and noise from the neighboring room :( NO BATHTUB but the shower was big and in a separate room than the toilet which I liked. Overall was worth the $109.00 with tax that I paid for one night. I had the king room and I would say w/the pull out co that it would be comfortable for up to 4 in a room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My brother and I stayed here for a few days in early February 2013. After much deliberation on where we would stay, I'd have to say that this was the best value that we could find in the area. Very good price for what you get - Free Parking, Free Breakfast, In-Room Microwave/Fridge, Free Wi-Fi. Many surrounding hotels only offered some, if any of these all in one.
The hotel grounds and interior were very clean from what I could see - no complaints. Our only interaction with staff was upon our arrival, as we did not have to ask for housekeeping during our 4-night stay, and the woman we checked in with was very friendly.
The room was very nice, modern, updated. Pocket doors closed off the shower area and toilet area, which was very interesting. Plenty of room to move around, the layout was ideal.
I did have a chance to utilize the workout room, which was very clean and had some basic cardio machines and weights.
Survey says: Will stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Address: 17601 Fitch, Irvine, CA 92614
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Irvine
#5 Family Hotel in Irvine
#6 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County is designed for extended stays with up to 25% more room and separate areas for working, relaxing, and sleeping. Located 4 minutes from John Wayne Airport with complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Accommodations include 37" HDTV, luxury bedding, pantry area, and work area with ergonomic chair. Additional amenities include indoor pool, fitness center, complimentary high-speed internet, business center, complimentary parking, and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.