We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pretend City Children's Museum

Pretend City Children's Museum
29 Hubble, Irvine, CA
+1 949-428-3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Irvine
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pretend City, a non-profit organization, is an interactive children's museum that builds better brains through whole body learning experiences, educational programs and creative exhibits.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My kids love to go here and play. Some kind of imagination. You can pretend to shop, make your own lunch, play in the water ducks, a bank, grocery store and so much more. My kids loving playing here the entire day with the nanny.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Expensive and boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took my 9 month old son to Pretend City today for a baby steps group. The admission for infant is free but adult is $10 each ($20 for myself and my sister). They normally charge $12 per adult for admission. They let us stay for 1.5 hours. I think it's kinda small for children museum however I'd like to call it an indoor playground instead. The toys, props and play stations are pretty run down and dirty. Seriously they could have done a better job at cleaning or expanding the place. I will not be going back there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for little ones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fun place! My kids (now 5 and 3) had a GREAT time. It is what it says it is: a little pretend city. They occasionally change things up to keep it interesting for repeat visitors. My only complaint is the gift shop RIGHT at the entrance. Little littles (my then 2-year-old) didn't get the difference between random stuff you can play with to your heart's content and "no, put it back, I'm not buying it" stuff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perfect every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have a family membership and take our daughter there weekly. She always has a great time and the staff is great!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for preschoolers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our kids love this place. We purchased the year pass so they could go more often. They keep it very clean. The kids run the city. Our kids loved the garden, the baby chicks and the water play. The people who work here are awesome, very engaged and help the kids and get involved in the play. The dress up and stage are a lot of fun. It is a great place for kids to just run around to each place and play. It tends to get busy in the morning as I can imagine most little kids still nap in the afternoon, so either get there when it first opens or get there a little later in the morning so it's less congested.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pretend City Children's Museum also viewed

 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pretend City Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pretend City Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.