We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super relaxing,super beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soneva Fushi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Soneva Fushi Resort to your Saves list
Soneva Fushi Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi by Six Senses)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Offer – 25% Off
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super relaxing,super beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went there for our wedding anniversary. The place is a beautiful island, bigger than usual Maldiviam we were told.
We liked the room, got an upgrade to Soneva Fushi villa (is that the right name?). Food wise, buffets were great (ham & cheese room and chocolate room, yummy!). Restaurant nine not as good otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary at Soneva Fushi. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to a Soneva Fushi villa and we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed all that we had to offer in our food & beverage outlets, especially the ham and cheese room and the chocolate room, which we recently added, and has become a favourite dining area amongst all our guests. We are sorry that you did not favour Restaurant ‘Nine’, I would be very grateful to hear your further comments on this so that our shortcomings can be addressed. Please email : mail@soneva.com

We hope you will stay with us again should your plans bring you back to The Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    15
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
119
156
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our sincere thanks to Laurie and his team at this fantastic tropical island for making our three weeks stay so incredible.

If you are looking for the perfect Maldivian holiday then look no further because this resort has it all, including unfortunately a mosquito problem which was one of only two bad things we could say regarding the whole holiday.

If you love being fussed without being annoyed, if you like privacy and sophistication whilst still retaining real and simple then this is the holiday for you. We had a three week stay in October 2012 ( sorry the review is late Laurie meant to write it months ago)

Ticks all the boxes. Food, accommodation and facilities were unbelievable and we have stayed at most of the better Maldivian islands. Crusoe Villa was perfect, right on the beach with water sports 100 yards away. I would say though if you are a keen slalom water ski-er bring your own ski as the ones supplied were not up to much. Chris the water sports manager (great guy) ordered a new ski whilst we were there, so hopefully you will be luckier than us. Canoes and windsurfing are free.

Food and beverage manager Jospur was exceptional with his intimate knowledge of their extensive wine list, they even have their own wine cellar. We tried dining in the dark (very unusual don't miss it) plus a special food and wine tasting menu "brilliant" So many things to keep you occupied that I won't even try to list them all, but here are some! "Champagne cocktails on a deserted sandbank" "Outdoor cinema with old black and white movies plus hot popcorn to snack on" "Their own planetarium although you sometimes need to book" "Best gymnasium we've ever had at any resort" To list just a few and if you think that you have been to a Maldivian resort with really great food before, you still won't be prepared for this one. First snorkelling trip I was lucky enough to meet one of the the reef turtles and later in the holiday swam with the giant rays. Fabulous

We did have one other problem which was the lack of evening entertainment/music in the main bar area, but we enjoyed everything else so much that it really wasn't a big issue.

one of the Best holiday's we've ever had. We will definitely be returning to this resort.

Keith & Lisa

Room Tip: Sunrise side of the island for great snorkelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your visit to our Resort in October last year. I am sorry that you encountered mosquitoes during your stay. Rest assured, this has now been resolved by changing pest control companies whom have had noticeable results in reducing our unwanted flying friends.

It is always inspiring to know that the quality of the facilities and standard of service is enjoyed and appreciated by our guests – we are delighted that you enjoyed it all, particularly those you mentioned, such as the Champagne cocktails on a deserted sandbank, the outdoor cinema and the snorkeling trip where you got to see a reef turtle and manta rays. Thank you for your comments regarding water sports equipment. I will address this with Chris and his team and make sure we have a full selection of water sports equipment available for our guests.

We hope you will return for another holiday with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

it is not the cliche holiday - it was the real experience of an island close to nature by trying to be ecologically independant (recycled water, homemade vegetables, no plastic, everything is made up of wood). The fauna has been kept intact in the centre of the island with its free rabbits hoping along. You travel around with your bicycle. The villas are divine and beautiful yet simple. The food and service are excellent. We had a magical time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us in December 2012. We are proud of the Soneva philosophy of intelligent luxury, working hand in hand with the environment, local communities and reducing our carbon footprint in all that we do and it makes us happy to know that you appreciate and recognize our efforts to be ecologically independent.

Thank you once again for being our guest and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just coming to the end of a short stay at Soneva Fushi. This is my first time to the Maldives and I have already booked for next year, same time, same villa. I had worried a bit about travelling by myself but there is plenty to do, if you want to, and all the space in the world to relax by yourself if you don't. The staff are incredibly helpful and seem to know everything, and the natural beauty of the island means the days simply slide by without any thought of the "real" world; total relaxation. I wasn't sure about "No shoes no news" as I have to keep up with work, but every villa has fast efficient wifi, as does the main bar, and as well as taking care of everything else for you your man (or Ms) Friday will print you out the news daily if you request, on recycled paper of course.

I had also worried a bit about visiting at this time of year because of the weather, which is usually described as "changeable", but it only rained for any time on 2 days out of 8. Also when the high tide and waves meant the cocktail party couldn't happen on the sandbank they simply organized it at the amazing "Jungle Reserve", which was possibly even better, with no fuss and a great offering of both food and drinks as well as friendly faces and lots of interesting information about the resort, the island and the Maldives in general.

The food is amazing, although you do find yourself eating so much that I skipped lunch most days and just had a snack from one of the bars, usually barabara which is the best place from which I've ever watched a sunset. Tip: The snorkeling is better on the other side of the island, which most people didn't seem to realize as I had it to myself most days, and it is the season for manta rays right now so the hotel organizes daily snorkeling trips to see them, which is just amazing.

So yes, I'm hooked. I almost want to try another resort because I'm sure there are other wonderful ones too, but Soneva Fushi got everything so right that I just can't bring myself to not come here again. Special thanks to my Man Friday Abbas, I hope you're still there to take care of me next year, and to all the other elements that made my stay so special. I'll miss you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We loved your review – and are so happy to know that you have already booked a holiday with us for next year as well.

Our commitment to providing our guests with that ultimate holiday experience is what makes this an extraordinary place; your review will do much to help others become aware of it.

Your feedback was shared with my Team and your special thanks were conveyed to Abbas your Mr. Friday.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your visit next year and to the pleasure of welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our stay at Soneva Fushi was simply the most amazing vacation ever. We have had the good fortune of staying at many nice hotels/resorts in various parts of the world but Soneva Fushi tops the list. The service is seamless and of the highest caliber. The food is wonderfully delicious in every way from selection to presentation to tasting. You have to remind yourself you are on an island...how do they do it?
Our villa was a tiny piece of heaven. Oceanfront with a private pool with the groundskeeping and housekeeping maintained at an exceptional level. It's like magic, it all gets cleaned and you never even see anyone.
It all starts at the Soneva Fushi Airport Lounge. You immediately understand you are about to experience something special. The seaplane ride to the "Soneva International Airport" allows for breathtaking views of the Maldives with a short boat ride to the resort itself. This is just the start of your "No News, No Shoes" experience..

The overall feel and energy of the resort creates this inner calmness that takes you by surpise. The Soneva Fushi Team knows how to create and maintain the ideal dream vacation experience. We wanted to stay forever! Don't miss this experience, put Soneva Fushi on your list of "Must Take Vacation Spots".

Room Tip: Can't imagine that there is an undesirable location on the island......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted by your wonderful review from your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. Feedback like yours help us reach people all over the world and we thank you for taking the time to share it others.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the entire Soneva experience from arrival until your departure and we hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have stayed there with my husband in November 2012 and I can say that I had the best Maldivian vacation so far. I have preiously been to three different hotels in Maldives and this one is the best of the best.

The food is great in all restaurants, we never had any problems with staff, rooms are spacious, very well equiped, we had a Crusoe villa and it was huge. We had a great time on the welcoming cocktails on a small island in the middle of the ocean (the hotels takes you there with a boat). You will also enjoy going to a restaurant with organic food (products are grown on the island), it looks fantastic and is located in the middle of a jungle.

The island itself is very beautiful, you will enjoy wondering around with a bike. Amoung several top hotels that I've been to this hotel has the best island so far.

What is more important is that the General manager of the hotel was always around to resolve any issues that you might have. Probably this is why we never had any issues to be resolved.

Room Tip: I'd say that it always better to ask a room which is not near the jet landing stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Soneva Fushi as your holiday destination in the Maldives - we are delighted by your wonderful review and it makes up proud to know that you have rated us as one of the best of the best in the Maldives.

My Team and I are glad to hear that you were pleased with many aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to your return and to the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place is heaven. So heavenly, in fact, that we just had to write and tell anyone thinking of going just how special it is. Soneva Fushi isn't any old super-luxury resort in the Maldives, it is the owners' unique vision brought to life, a quintessential desert-island hideaway with an intensely personal touch and a strong ethos. From the moment we touched down in our seaplane on the ridiculously clear blue water and stepped out onto a small wooden raft with a sign reading “Soneva Fushi International Airport”, we knew it was going to be right up our street. Our very own Man Friday was waiting to welcome us and relieve us of our shoes, which we didn't wear again till we left a week later. No News, No Shoes is part of the island's philosophy, which pretty much sums the place up. So, if you are looking for a flashy stay somewhere with all the gadgets under the sun, you are barking up the wrong palm tree. But if you really want to log off for a few weeks and get back to nature in all its unspoilt beauty, then we really can't recommend it enough. Don't be mistaken, though, Soneva is still super-luxurious, just in a different way. They call it Intelligent Luxury. There is everything you need presented in the most charming and eco-friendly of ways – and nothing you don't (although I suspect most requests, however off-message, can be accommodated). We stayed in a Robinson Crusoe villa, which is the ultimate hut on the beach. We loved the fact the (gigantic) bathroom was al fresco and it was lovely to go upstairs to bed, especially when you wake up to an uninterrupted view of the implausibly turquoise Indian Ocean.

The whole set-up is so incredibly private, it often felt like we were the only two people there. With our children back at home, it was a bit like a second honeymoon – and we were treated as well as if it had been our actual one. It seems that everyone who works there can't believe their luck and there is a fabulously relaxed vibe around the place. Every member of staff we came into contact with, from the owners themselves, to our charming Man Friday, our villa attendants, waiters, diving instructors, even the in-house astronomer (!), was friendly and attentive without ever being over the top.

We were rather lazy and spent the majority of our days lounging in the sun and tootling around on our bicycles from villa to restaurant to bar to beach through the lush, sun-dappled jungle. There was also a visit to the dreamy spa, some wonderful sunset yoga with Pawan and a lot of world-class snorkelling. Sharks, turtles and an array of tropical fish unlike anywhere else we have been were literally 20 yards from our villa! There is bags more to do if you've got ants in your pants, from diving to tennis, to wine tasting and so on. We loved our movie night at Cinema Paradiso, where we feasted on homemade ice cream and popcorn and drank nightcaps under the starry night sky. If you've got kids with you, don't worry, it's a perfect playground for children of all ages.

You'll never get bored of the food, most of which is grown in the island's sensational vegetable gardens. We ate and drank like kings wherever we went. Watching the sun go down at one of the cocktail parties on the islands's private sandbank is about as good as it gets. And whatever you do, do not leave without a trip to the observatory to see the moon, stars and other planets in all their glory. Stunning!

Soneva Fushi is a one-off. It's a very special place and we urge anyone to go at least once. A huge thank you to everyone there for making our holiday such a memorable one. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted by your wonderful review from your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. Your holiday photos certainly speak for themselves and it is a pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay with us.

Feedback like yours help us reach people everywhere and we are so glad that you enjoyed the entire Soneva experience of “Intelligent Luxury”. We truly appreciate your recommendation of our resort to others.

My team and I look forward to your return and to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soneva Fushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi Resort

Address: Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi by Six Senses)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soneva Fushi Resort in the Maldives, is the original desert island hideaway. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Soneva Fushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Resort Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soneva Fushi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.