We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soneva Fushi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Soneva Fushi Resort to your Saves list
Soneva Fushi Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi by Six Senses)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place is heaven. So heavenly, in fact, that we just had to write and tell anyone thinking of going just how special it is. Soneva Fushi isn't any old super-luxury resort in the Maldives, it is the owners' unique vision brought to life, a quintessential desert-island hideaway with an intensely personal touch and a strong ethos. From the moment we touched down in our seaplane on the ridiculously clear blue water and stepped out onto a small wooden raft with a sign reading “Soneva Fushi International Airport”, we knew it was going to be right up our street. Our very own Man Friday was waiting to welcome us and relieve us of our shoes, which we didn't wear again till we left a week later. No News, No Shoes is part of the island's philosophy, which pretty much sums the place up. So, if you are looking for a flashy stay somewhere with all the gadgets under the sun, you are barking up the wrong palm tree. But if you really want to log off for a few weeks and get back to nature in all its unspoilt beauty, then we really can't recommend it enough. Don't be mistaken, though, Soneva is still super-luxurious, just in a different way. They call it Intelligent Luxury. There is everything you need presented in the most charming and eco-friendly of ways – and nothing you don't (although I suspect most requests, however off-message, can be accommodated). We stayed in a Robinson Crusoe villa, which is the ultimate hut on the beach. We loved the fact the (gigantic) bathroom was al fresco and it was lovely to go upstairs to bed, especially when you wake up to an uninterrupted view of the implausibly turquoise Indian Ocean.

The whole set-up is so incredibly private, it often felt like we were the only two people there. With our children back at home, it was a bit like a second honeymoon – and we were treated as well as if it had been our actual one. It seems that everyone who works there can't believe their luck and there is a fabulously relaxed vibe around the place. Every member of staff we came into contact with, from the owners themselves, to our charming Man Friday, our villa attendants, waiters, diving instructors, even the in-house astronomer (!), was friendly and attentive without ever being over the top.

We were rather lazy and spent the majority of our days lounging in the sun and tootling around on our bicycles from villa to restaurant to bar to beach through the lush, sun-dappled jungle. There was also a visit to the dreamy spa, some wonderful sunset yoga with Pawan and a lot of world-class snorkelling. Sharks, turtles and an array of tropical fish unlike anywhere else we have been were literally 20 yards from our villa! There is bags more to do if you've got ants in your pants, from diving to tennis, to wine tasting and so on. We loved our movie night at Cinema Paradiso, where we feasted on homemade ice cream and popcorn and drank nightcaps under the starry night sky. If you've got kids with you, don't worry, it's a perfect playground for children of all ages.

You'll never get bored of the food, most of which is grown in the island's sensational vegetable gardens. We ate and drank like kings wherever we went. Watching the sun go down at one of the cocktail parties on the islands's private sandbank is about as good as it gets. And whatever you do, do not leave without a trip to the observatory to see the moon, stars and other planets in all their glory. Stunning!

Soneva Fushi is a one-off. It's a very special place and we urge anyone to go at least once. A huge thank you to everyone there for making our holiday such a memorable one. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted by your wonderful review from your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. Your holiday photos certainly speak for themselves and it is a pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay with us.

Feedback like yours help us reach people everywhere and we are so glad that you enjoyed the entire Soneva experience of “Intelligent Luxury”. We truly appreciate your recommendation of our resort to others.

My team and I look forward to your return and to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    13
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
109
149
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have just returned from having spent the most wonderful week of my life at Soneva Fushi.
If you are looking for the ultimate in Maldivian experiences look no further, the food was just fantastic the service was slick and supper efficient and yet unobtrusive and the location is unbeatable.Soneva Fushi has a real soul,the attention to detail is exceptional.
We feel so privileged to have been able to experience this paradise Island. .
Soneva Fushi is what dreams are made of.
"The ultimate chill out"
We can only thank and praise Laurie, Abbas, Asmin and all his team for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the food, the service and the location.

My Team and I are glad that we were able to provide you with that ‘ultimate Maldivian experience’ and to know that you spent the most wonderful week of your life here at Soneva Fushi – the place where dreams are made of!

Do come back and visit us again should your travels bring you back to the Maldives, we hope to see you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This would seem to be the perfect opportunity to write pages and pages about what one expects upon arriving in Paradise. But somehow words just don´t quite seem to do it when it comes to Soneva Fushi. This small little slice of island paradise is just too exquisite and inspiring.

It is simply barefoot luxury from the moment you step off the seaplane to the moment your feet once again leave the jetty when going home. With complete attention to the smallest of details, for us, this was the ultimate hideaway where time slows down and brings you back to Earth.

Our sincerest thank you´s to Sonu, Laurie, Lynn, Tim, Xain, Lisa, Vippin, Pawan, Jacqueline, Katja, and Federica for a glorious week and last but not least to the rest of the lovely staff who´s smiles and consideration lit up and inspired our days!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

My Team and I loved your review – thank you for writing about your holiday experiences on TripAdvisor. We are glad to have played a significant role in your vacation at Soneva Fushi and it means so much to know that we were able to light up and inspire your days spent with us.

We hope you can come visit us again, sometime soon, and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our first introduction to Soneva Fushi was a quick week's 'break from the kids' and a wonderful break it was. The location is superb, discreet and elegantly laid back. Exactly what we were looking for. While the husband read, I was inspired during a one on one Maldivian cooking lesson by the superb chef, Sobah, which has been reproduced to great applause!
The restaurants are all very different from each other, all incredibly delicious, with the right amount of choice but not too much, which is a luxury in itself. The Chocolate 'Bar' is worth the trip alone!!!
We had an afternoon snorkelling with the marine biologist and she took us to 3 reefs, all very different from the other. She showed us many things that the untrained eye would have missed. Beautiful.
The spa offers many wonderful treatments and the idea of a visiting practitioner who excels in their field a treat to experience. Normally a long waiting list for this kind of thing in London, not just a day's notice! Before we had left, we already decided that we would be returning, with the children in tow next time as the 'den' and the activity list would keep our little pirates entertained and educated!
Needless to say the staff is incredibly helpful but not at all in your face. They are pleasant and chatty but are quick to recognise when you would like to be left alone which is what one would expect from such a high standard Resort.
Resort almost seems like the wrong word though. It actually feels like home.
Thank you to Laurie and all the staff and we shall be seeing you again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Heavenly Holiday” does indeed sum up all that we are proud of; like you said, superb, discreet and elegantly laid back location, the Soneva service, and most of all the feeling of being at home. Thank you for your fantastic feedback and wonderful comments.

Sobah is so glad that you were inspired by his cooking lessons - he puts his heart and soul into his Maldivian cooking and he hopes that you will turn out some great Maldivian dishes back home.

Yes, you are right, the Chocolate bar is a favourite amongst all our guests especially the children. The building of a “Children’s Den” this year for our younger Soneva guests, will add to our family experiences and we are glad that you plan to bring your children along next year as it will be super fun where children will learn more about themselves, the country and the planet which is a part of our SLOWLIFE Philosophy of Learning Inspiring Fun Experiences.

We look forward to your return with the children next year and to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Western Area, Sierra Leone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

On my return journey back I wrote this poem. It is some thing I don’t normally do but was compelled to express my experience in some way. It describes my state of mind and my thoughts before, during and after my visit.

SONEVA FUSHI

Oh what a welcome
With much to overcome
And would you succumb
Or hail His kingdom come

An Instant love affair
She strips you bare
And if you don't care,
Everyone's aware.

Struck by nature
Natural decor
Void of plenty
Rich in empty

Blue skies above thee
Oh what beauty
Blue seas below thee
She amazed me

Humbled you will kneel
Troubled souls are healed
And leaving you'll believe
You've been Soneva Fushi filled

It was not just the attention to detail in its interiors, its Architecture or sustainable design ethos.

It is not just the choice, the presentation and quality of food.

Not just the choice facilities and activities that encouraged quality time alone or with friends on both land and sea.

Above all, what stood out was the quality of personal service which was second to none. All of the hosts were so genuinely friendly, they injected a happy feeling into you that brightened up the whole resort.

Believe me when I say there is no place on earth like Soneva Fushi.

Gwyn Jay Allen

Room Tip: The layout of the villas is such that every location is far enough from the next using the natural v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow such a lovely review! We are absolutely thrilled that your holiday experience at Soneva Fushi inspired you, so much so that it brought out the poet in you.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best resort - you have certainly rewarded my team with your generous commendations and it means a lot to us that you took the time to share it with the world.

We will be delighted to welcome you back, and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in a Crusoe villa at Soneva Fushi during Easter 2013. The experience was amazing from the moment we were taken care of by the lounge personnel, when we arrived at the seaplane airport, until the very last contact with the staff when we left the domestic airport on our return home. The atmosphere at the island is unique in the sense that you really feel that it is a home away from home. The staff adresses you by your given name (as opposed to the impersonal sir and mam) and everybody seems to know who you are from the moment you arrive. They seem to know your beverage preferences instantly and treat you as if you've been there forever. The food is incredible, especially the breakfast buffet which seems to display every single type of fruit available in the world, as well as freshly cooked egg dishes, hand made chocolate, fresh juices, musli, etc etc. The best thing with the island is that you feel as if you're there all alone. You can walk around the island in appr 45 minutes and during that time you might not see a single person on the beach. I have no idea where the other guests were, but I sometimes felt we were all alone. It's very private and yet there is an array of activities to choose from such as tennis (great court), gym, diving/snorkling, excursions, biking, kids club, outdoor cinema, star hunting in the observatory etc. The snorkling right off the beach is fantastic! We saw baby sharks, turtles and thousands of fish in the clearest water I've ever seen (and we've done quite a bit of diving and snorkling).

The only negative thing about the resort is the view over the closest island at the back of Soneva Fushi. When booking I would make sure I wouldn't end up overlooking the pretty ugly houses on the neighbouring island. It brings down the feeling of unspoilt nature.

We cannot wait until we can return to this piece of heaven again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page. We are glad that you enjoyed the entire Soneva Fushi experience and as you say, the atmosphere of the island is what makes you feel that it is a ‘home away from home’.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, and we will make sure that on your next visit you enjoy a beautiful view of the ocean.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I basically found heaven on earth...Soneva Fushi...is truly out of this world. Their attention to detail is un rivaled. You are assigned a personal assistant, that is basically at your beck and call....and always with a smile and such grace. We were assigned a very beautiful, mild spirited lady (Anthu), she was truly selfless in every way. The resort of itself is a preservation of the environment in every form...from the greens in the forest that are untouched to perfect bikeways, to the most tasteful, fresh and crisp vegetables and fruits, all served with great style and courtesy...i could go on. This is a must experience, if you are heading to the Maldives, Soneva Fushi is where you want to go. Oh and did i mention how attentive the staff are and how wholesome the experience was. They offer everything you can think of ... wholistic yoga and spa to a walk through nature at the observatory...there is something for everyone and there is a lot of every thing you would ever wish for. You can commune with nature in the very best ways and its all so effortless. Beleive me they thought of every thing...from the way the showers are...to the sheets on the bed....to the towels and the sounds of nature.....waves in the near distant, birds chirpping and leaves crumbling and the ever present whisper of the winds....Above all the service is the best i have had and trust me i have travelled extensively.....

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are the best.....although all present their own special ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. We are committed to creating unique and memorable experiences for our guests, so having provided you with “breath taking …….service off the chain” is definitely very rewarding for us to hear. Your review will most certainly be useful to other travelers looking for an idyllic, relaxing and revitalizing holiday, where you walk barefoot in the sunshine, just enjoying nature, whilst we take care of all your needs – so thank you once again.

We look forward to your return soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soneva Fushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi Resort

Address: Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi by Six Senses)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soneva Fushi Resort in the Maldives, is the original desert island hideaway. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island – large by Maldives standards – with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory.Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles.The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soneva Fushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Resort Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soneva Fushi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.