We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
13275 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, PO Box 429, Inverness, CA 94937 (Formerly Inverness Valley Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stuck in time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked a family suite last minute. It did not look like the brochure or website. While the owner was very friendly, the room looked like it wasn't throughly cleaned. There was used soap in the shower and hairs on the walls.

I hate writing bad reviews but in this remote area, there are few choices for families.

Olema cottages is a far better choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Michaels, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. Very reasonably priced. Sheep and goats and alpaca to visit on the
property. The owners are very personable yet not intrusive. We stayed in a family size suite even though it was just two of us. We liked having the extra space to keep our gear out of site.
Small, but serviceable kitchen if you want to stay in to cook. The owners even provide you fresh eggs if you ask! This property is conveniently located (5-10 miles) near Point Reyes Station, Inverness and the Bear Valley Visitors station. Shell Beach is located basically across the street. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay at this delightful property. Our suite had ample room for 3 adults and 2 children and the kitchenette enabled us to conveniently eat breakfast in. While doing her morning chores, the innkeeper took the time to introduce us to the animals on the property and talk to us about their care and role in the management of the property. Convenient to terrific state park sites, beaches, and hikes. A relaxed, laid back, beautiful place to enjoy Point Reyes beauty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Inverness Valley Inn provided was a perfect getaway from our busy City Life near San Francisco. The setting is gorgeous. A frame kitchenettes provide the comfort of a cozy hotel room, in a setting that rivals that of a gorgeous campsite. We were able to take a great hike from the property without getting into our car and come back to all of the comforts of home.
For breakfast, our hosts, Alden and Leslie offered us eggs that had been laid that morning by the resident free range chickens, delivered to our doorstep. What a treat! After breakfast it was only a few steps to the hot tub where i was able to watch an Osprey while I soaked in the tub. In addition to the free range chickens, there is an assortment of goats, and sheep as well as a llama, all of whom help to keep the undergrowth in check. It's a great experience for city kids (big and little) to see the flock.
The Inn is a stones throw to Inverness, with a small assortment of restaurants,Not too much further is Point Reyes Station, which has both more shops,restaurants, etc. Beyond Point Reyes Station, is Point Reyes National Seashore, which is one of the natural Jewels of the San Francisco Bay Area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our entire stay at Inverness Valley Inn. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed as the property is quiet, clean and set in beautiful surroundings. Our two young boys loved the 'farm' feel and enjoyed feeding the many animals and exploring the grounds. The staff were all delightful and made us feel very welcome, especially when they left fresh home-grown eggs for our breakfast on our final day.
As for the accommodation itself, it worked well for us as we had two separate rooms, both of which were clean and comfortable. With a slightly better appointed kitchen these places would get an excellent rating.
Thanks Inverness Valley Inn! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have stayed here twice - once with a group of girlfriends for my bachelorette weekend, and once this past weekend with a group of 11 scholarships recipients and their chaperones, and it was fabulously memorable both times. The small kitchenettes are a big help, whether it's just for chilling some wine and snacks with the girlfriends or for cooking a full-scale breakfast for hungry college students (which we did in addition to BBQing on the grill outside for dinner). We also took full advantage of the wide variety of teas, coffee, and hot chocolate provided in the rooms. The rooms are fabulously maintained; we had the Seal room, so we also enjoyed lots of photos of elephant seals and some of whales. This place is especially good for groups and families, not just because of the kitchens, but also because it's the only place I know of in the Pt. Reyes area where you can get so many different room configurations, including a main room with queen bed (and optional additional single bed) and a whole separate bedroom with a pair of single beds. Great location right next to Blue Waters Kayaking and close to hiking, lighthouse, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved this place from the moment we drove in the entrance. Tranquil, peaceful, quiet, wooded, hated to go and can't wait to come back again in the fall. Seems a great place to bring kids since they have a llama, alpaca, chickens and goats, tennis and basketball court, pool and jacuzzi (jacuzzi is pretty warm, not hot and pool is not heated). Dogs are welcome but due to roaming chickens, dogs must be leashed.

Nice library with wide range (philosophy, new age, fiction, science, nature) of books, as well as a computer. Rooms are large but kitchen (two burner stove, small fridge, microwave) is very small but dishes, knives, cups, plates, wine glasses, frying pan and large pot are provided. There is even a spice rack with several commonly used spices available. We were given several fresh eggs free of charge (more available to buy I believe). Now for some the following might be a downside but the positives of this place for us far outweighed any slight negatives. The rooms don't have black out curtains, a few rooms can get hot in the daytime but quickly cool off at night but fans are provided, no air conditioning but seldom gets hot here. Hot water is plentiful but can take a while to get hot. There are rooms under a redwood tree and near the pool that are the coolest during the day. You kind of check yourself in but not a problem. The owners, Leslie and Alden, are wonderful, friendly and helpful. Loved the whole scene. But if you're fussy and expect Hilton-type accomodations you don't belong in the country.

Within a five minute drive is Inverness with a newly opened restaurant with a few good selections and next door a coffee and ice cream shop (coffee was overpriced and below par) and across the street is a small grocery store. Within maybe a ten minute drive is Point Reyes Station with ore shopping choices. A geat lighthouse is a truly beautiful 30 minute drive and heading out to Bodega is a good way to spend half a day. I'm a photographer and got some great sunrise and sunset shots driving out to the lighthouse as well as of a beached fishing boat in Inverness.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore

Address: 13275 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, PO Box 429, Inverness, CA 94937 (Formerly Inverness Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Also Known As:
Inverness Valley Hotel Inverness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore to your Saves list