We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay - We'll Be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomales Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tomales Bay Resort
Save
You added Tomales Bay Resort to your Saves list
12938 Sir Francis Drake, P.O. Box 38, Inverness, CA 94937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,683 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay - We'll Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Tomales Bay Resort. We booked the Tomales Bay Suite room - there was a very comforable king size bed in the bedroom; large bathroom (with big shower) and also a very comfortable front room that faced the bay with glorious bay views. The front room had comfortable couches, chairs, desk, tables, and more. It would make a great place for a larger group for a get away or meeting.

There was a TV in both rooms which was great as we were there when the Indianapolis 500 was on TV (we always watch). There are lots of TV channels. While Tomales Bay is great just to relax at, its nice to have a resort where they also have TV (some places in the area do not have TV).

There is also a microwave and refrigerator in the room - This would out great for lunch as we dined at local restaurants (and their portion size was large). This made for a great way to warm up the food for lunch.

The place is great if you kayak. there is a kayak rental company right next door - and we enjoyed watching groups of people get ready to go on kayak trips.

The location is very good - it is close to Point Reyes as well as Inverness and Pt Reyes Station.

We paid less than $200 a night for the room - which is a good rate for a bay front 2 room suite on Memorial Day Weekend.

Also, although it is on the main road to Point Reyes Seashore, our room was very quiet both at day and at night. I expected more noise, but was happily surprised how quiet it was.

There is also a nice swimming pool on site. There is a restaurant space on site - and it looks like they are trying to find someone to run the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
31
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, ca
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms that sits overlooking the water. At high tide, the water is almost right under you. Which was enjoyable. The bed is comfortable. The room is clean. I will say for this room, we paid with taxes over $200. It seems really overpriced for what you get. The wood on the deck and handrails on steps going up to this second floor were rotted. I had to get a breakfast bag in the morning which was a bit of a distance to walk to get muffin a small canned juice and apple. I have read here that some people said that it was left the food in the Refrigerator which would have been nicer. The staff is very nice and helpful. They do give you a coupon for 10% off dinner at their sister place. I do have some mixed feelings about my stay here. With some more work this can be a nice place, but not for the price we paid. My husband and I both agree that will will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We absolutely LOVED IT. Room 6 puts you at the water-end of the main building, you get a bedroom and a living room, with a sofabed in the living room. The view outside the living room window is maybe 30 feet from the water--turn left and you're right in the middle of the kayaks, with a popular local beach just beyond. To the right is the small marina. And right smack in front of you is a pier that's just perfect for walking out under the stars and the moon.

Even though the weather nearby is a bit on the warm side, Pt Reyes is downright chilly ... so the stove/fireplace was a welcome relief.

The bathroom appears to be recently renovated, a terrific shower, nice linens, the bed was comfortable, even the sofabed was comfortable (well, we had difficulty getting my son out of bed in the morning, so I *guess* it was comfy :-).

Other reviewers complained about the TV ... I'll admit I never even thought of turning it on. We DEFINITELY used the mini fridge and microwave. A nice plus.

But make no mistake, this is not a Hilton. This is a charming little hotel with character and personality.

The location was perfect for us. It's on the ocean side of Tomales Bay, close enough to Pt Reyes Station that you can go there for lunch or dinner, but also far enough into the park side that driving out to explore Pt Reyes National Seashore is RIGHT. THERE. We saw whales at the lighthouse, we loved the crashing surf at the two ocean-side beaches, the bay side beaches were amazing as well, plus we did the morning trip over to Muir Woods and Mount Tam. After all the hiking and kayaking, we needed a place with a warm homey atmosphere to come back to--warm and inviting, and a BIG bathroom and a BIG shower to clean up in.

Sweet.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Room 6 sleeps three or four, and is right on the water. One more hint: At low tide, all the boats i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed there with 2 little kids and a dog. The surrounding area was good as there was a kayak rental right next door. The daily breakfast was appreciated but measly and could have been better for the price we paid. A so-so hotel. Main plus point is that it is close to hiking trails. No room service. Average cleanliness. The lady in the office did not give us correct advice about the nearest gas station, which she said was cash only and closes at 7 pm but when we went to check it out anyway, was open till 8pm and did (lucky for us) have one pump that accepts credit card!
This community itself (any restaurant or store) does not accept credit cards!!! so please carry enough cash or find out where the nearest ATM is!

Room Tip: Has a few pet-friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had an awful experience at a hotel in Bodega Bay, so we were able to find this place with the help of a restaurant manager in Bodega Bay at Lucas Wharf at the last minute. It was a long drive from Bodega Bay, but Chrisandra, the reservationist at Tomales Bay Resort was so nice, helpful, and was guiding us over the phone with directions. She took our card over the phone and was prepared to stay a bit late if needed, but we got there in time before she left for the evening. The room was right on the water, had a little kitchenette, fireplace and clean room and bath. It was just what we needed and so much more welcoming than the place we almost stayed in at Bodega Bay. We will come back to this resort.

Room Tip: We liked room #15, right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

These motel rooms are basic, and less expensive than other lodging in the area.They have updated the furniture from when I stayed here 3 or 4 years ago. The chairs were comfortable for reading, and it was nice to have a mini-frig and microwave. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom is basic. I believe they are the only lodging near Point Reyes which does not require a 2-night stay on weekends. The pool looked clean, but since it is not heated, I can't imagine when anyone would swim in it. The location, near the Point Reyes Visitor Center and Point Reyes Station, is excellent for visitng the national seashore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Oh my, we landed here on a stormy night in March when other places were full. It was adequate but it seems to trade on its prime location and is a throwback to when travellers were less sophisticated and didn't mind a tired room with flimsy blinds for $145/night. I broke the plastic plantation shutters trying to close them as our room was along the road. The complimentary breakfast was an apple and a muffin. The front desk lady was very nice and she tried to put my husband, son and I in a room right on the water that was quite large for the same price, but smelled funky, so we took the other option of one along the road that was cozier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
17.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
18.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
24.2 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#2 of 6 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
17.7 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomales Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomales Bay Resort

Address: 12938 Sir Francis Drake, P.O. Box 38, Inverness, CA 94937
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Tomales Bay Hotel Inverness
Golden Hinde Inverness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomales Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.