We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Desert Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We love it! Every year for 7 years we have celebrated my husband's birthday with lots of friends and family. Great pool, with poolside tables, and barbecues. Rooms are large and comfortable, flat screen televisions with DVD players, refrigerator, and microwave. The staff is always helpful, especially Esmerelda, Jacob, Martha, and Peter.

Room Tip: We like the main building because that is where the front desk is and we can get our pool towels, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Carrie D,

Let me take a minute to thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and observations on our hotel. And wow: staying with us for the last 7 years! We really appreciate that sort of loyalty to the Best Western Date Tree--and it is something that I will be sharing with our Owners and the entire staff of the hotel.

Our goal is a saliently simple one: to provide superior customer service, with clean and iviting rooms, each and every day. Period. No exceptions. And make no mistake: this is our ethos from the top down. And when we fail--and yes, it does happen--then we take it personally. And when we succeed...well, then we just want to keep on doing it.

So glad to hear that you choose tthe Best Western Date Tree for your family reunion--and that you have been doing so for the past 7 years. And we want to continue to earn your business and your trust.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    143
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
151
168
44
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is our second time staying here. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious, they allow pets and the breakfast is fabulous! We have family in Indio and have referred other members of our family to stay here as well. We love this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
DebbieR,

What a salubrious feeling to come into work and read your very kind comments. Make no mistake: we take a great deal of comfort and pride in getting our guests to feel appreciated and well taken care of.

And rest assured your comments will be passed along to our entire staff here at the Best Western Date Tree.

We look forward to having you here on your next trip to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the level of service straight off the bat the staff at reception made you feel at home straight away, the first hotel I went to in town just wasn't interested in making an impression and cost 20% more. The standard Rooms are clean and spacious very neat and tidy for the money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Snapperg,

Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. And you succinctly put into words what we are all about: providing superior customer service, clean rooms, and at a fair value.

That is, in a nutshell, the ethos of the Best Western Date Tree Hotel.

And it is remarks such as yours that help us to realize that we are achieving our goals.

And while we understand we can never be 100% perfect all the time(and who can)...we really do approach each day as if we will be. So again: thanks for the kind words.

Even more: we hope to see you next time you are out in Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with a great price from priceline (bidding). I was there for a racing event at Chuckwalla Valley Raceway. It's about an hour to the racetrack, but one of the closest hotels. The exterior of the hotel is a little dated, but the landscaping is really nice and well taken care of. The Room was very nice and spacious. It had a nice LCD TV with DVD player. Fridge and microwave in the room. The bathroom had everything I needed but the shower is hard to turn off. Front desk staff was mostly helpful, but did have one problem after the 1st night when the key card didn't work (most budget hotel/motels do this on purpose I think). They kept asking why we need to get back in the room, well because we want to stay our second night (that was already paid for!). Took a while, but they finally re-scanned the keys and we were able to get in. Free breakfast is AWESOME! Best I've had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
C_reber1,

First and foremost: thanks for choosing to stay with us while you were out at the Chuckawalla raceway. We have lots of repeat guests who come to Best Western Date Tree for events that take place out at the raceway--and even have a special rate code for the raceway events.

Loved to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our breakfast. And I do want to aplogize for any key issues you experienced during your stay. They can, unfortunately, get demagnetized if placed close to a cell phone--and that could have been the cause of the issue.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are out in Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARSON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at BW Datetree for the Stagecoach weekend. They had great customer service and good breakfast. I would stay there again.We stayed in the King suite which was very big and had a full kitchen which was nice. I also liked that the pool/spa was opened 24/7

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Kimberly L,

So happy that you choose our hotel for the Stagecoach weekend--and hope that you enjoyed all of the great music and country festivities that takes place that weekend. Having gone to Stagecoach the last few years, I can say this: it's a truly great way to spend the weekend.

As for our hotel: nothing makes me happier then to read a review extolling our customer service virtues. We have some great amenities. We have large and comfortable rooms. We have a great olympic size pool. But still: all of that takes a back seat to the one salient and overriding goal we strive for day in and day out. And that is this: delivering superior customer service every day.

And even more: delivering customer service that is MEMORABLE--and makes people want to come back.

So yes: reading your review was especially gratifying this morning. We certainly will look forward to having you back for the 2014 Stagecoach concert(and book early--as we sell out well in advance for the concert)and we hope to also see any other time you might be in Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Date Tree hotel on 3 separate occasions, the most recent during the 2013 "Stagecoach" music festival. I know from previous stays that the hotel is wonderful. The staff are amazing, the rooms are clean, and the amenities are impressive for a smaller hotel.

The amenities my family appreciated most were the (much better than a) "continental breakfast buffet" Eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, etc. etc. and the free Dvd "rental" library, and the pool (which is very big and has bbq grills around it for cookouts)

The highlight of our trip though was (once again) the staff. Between a very helpful breakfast attendant that actually helped me get the food for 5 to our room and the always a rockstar Jeff (Shuttle driver, Front desk, and all around awesome) who actually drove out on his own time and dime to replace a broken cup. They say good people are hard to find, somehow this hotel has managed not only to find a lot of them but put them in the right places to really make a vacation amazing and memorable.

Thanks "Date Tree", and I'll see you again soon.

Room Tip: If you are staying for any length of time, or celebrating something the suites are totally worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Scarychip,

Just got back from a Best Western GM meeting...and wow was reading your review an apotheosis of my day. Heck, my whole week!

What the Best Western Date Tree is trying to achieve--and on a daily basis--can be full encapsulated in your review. And it is truly simple: our staff providing truly memorable and exceptional service.

If we can do that...then we will, without question, keep getti reviews like these.

We are very grateful that you chose our property to attend the last two years of Stagecoach--and most certainly will look forward to seeing your for the concert in 2014. And know this: we really do take so much pride and satisfaction in reading a review like this. And it truly does make us feel like we are on the right track.

Thanks again-- and we hope to see you back in Indio way before the next Stagecoach concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staff went over and beyond to help in any way possible! They are amazing! Special thanks to Jeff! You're the best! He helped me find my son when I thought all hope was lost. My son was lost and extremely disoriented at the Coachella music festival, but Jeff, part of the staff from this hotel, literally went in and found him in the midst of the drug crazed, smoke filled chaos of the night, and pulled him from the evil clutches of the enemy! Hallelujah!! Jeff you're an angel! My son thanks you from the bottom of his heart, you gave him more than you could imagine. We know we will certainly see you again soon, thanks again and God bless!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Tina_m_33,

Tina,

Thanks for your wonderful praise of our hotel and of Jeff. So very glad to hear about him helping your son out during the hectic weekend of the Coachella concerts. It can be crazy in this town during those concerts--and Jeff was on all the weekends to assist our guests with any needs that arose.

So yes: it does not surprise me to hear the praise on Jeff as he is one of our most valuable of employees. And he has been with the Best Western Date Tree for over 15 years!

We look forward to having you and your son here on your next visit to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Address: 81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.