We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Joshua Tree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Indio
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Close to Joshua Tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here when we visited Joshua Tree National Park. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the south entrance and about an hour from the west entrance. First up, got a great welcome and a free upgrade to a suite in exchange for being automatically signed up for a Rewards membership. Breakfast was included in the room price and there was a variety of options. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Our room overlooked the pool, which we never got a chance to try, and it was a little noisy in the evening due to all the roadies there for the upcoming Coachella weekend, but turning on the fan in the room took care of that. The hotel was also within driving distance of lots grocery stores (we went to Trader Joe's) and restaurants (grabbed dinner from In-N-Out Burger).

The only downside was that the bed was too soft and I didn't wake up feeling very rested. I stayed at a Double Tree and a Crowne Plaza that same week and the beds were way more comfy. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel when visiting Joshua Tree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Adam S,

I want to take a minute and thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We love hearing about how our staff took care of you--and that you were able to get the upgrade.

And yes: we do have lots of guests that use our hotel as their home base when exploringh Joshua Tree. It is absolutely gorgeous this time of year.

As for the beds: sorry that you experienced this issue. We have replaced two entire buidlings(over 80 rooms)with brand new Serta Pillow Top mattresses--and the response has been amazing. Our guests are loving them. That said...we still have one building left to do(and are waiting for the Stagecoach concert to end)and they will be put in in early May. And then the entire 118 rooms will have brand new beds.

We certainly hope to have you back out here on your next trip to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    117
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
146
36
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Of 15 or so Best Westerns I have stayed at this one had the best breakfast. Hot eggs, bacon, and biscuits and gravy...yum! Nice large pool, clean and well maintained grounds, friendly and alert staff. A surprise awaits you in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Shane A,

Yes: we do take a great deal of pride in our hotel--and in our breakfast selections. We have have had many, many compliments on our homemade waffles, pancake making machine, and our hot items like the scrambled eggs and bacon and sausage and biscuits. And we feel very confident that our breakfast gives a plethora of choices to our Best Western guests.

So again: thanks for the shout at on this--and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip out to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a group of 20 and had a fabulous time and awesome service at the Best Western Date Tree Hotel in Indio, CA. It exceeded our expectations in every area. We look forward to coming again! The rooms were great, breakfast buffet excellent and they have an olympic size pool. What more can I say, super trip and outstanding staff support. Gene

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the positive reviews on tripadvisor and a great online coupon. It is conveniently located for our day trips to Salton Lake State Park and Joshua Tree National Park.

Check in by Jessica was quick and easy. You should sample the Shields dates provided in the lobby. Indio is the date capital of the world. The dates are grown just a few miles from the hotel. While you are in the lobby check out the DVD selection. We viewed the complimentary DVD on the flat screen TV in our room. Jacob at the front desk was helpful and friendly.

Room 264 is a corner room with a large picture window that opens and ceiling fan which came in handy because upon check in there was an odd smell in the room. There was a Frig. microwave and coffee maker in the room. Free parking and Wi-Fi is always appreciated. Beds had new very comfortable mattresses. This room faces the rail road. I found the sound soothing but others may not.

The outdoor pool and hot tub were the perfect temperature and clean. An ample breakfast was served 5:30-9:30AM. Hot and cold items: Cereals, make your own waffles, breads, biscuits, bagels, scrambled eggs (too dry for my taste), hard boiled eggs, sausage, potatoes, bacon, yogurts, fruit, juices, and 24 hour delicious coffee, tea and fresh fruit. Don’t miss the pancake making machine. Fresh pancakes with a press of the button!

I would stay at this hotel again and would refer others when traveling in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Gershwin12,

I have passed along your very edifying comments regarding Jessica and Jacob--and I will let you know they have both been with the Best Western Date Tree for over 10 years! Their loyalty to the hotel and their passion for providing superior customer service on a daily basis is what makes this hotel so great.

And allows for us to get such good reviews.

Also: so nice to hear you appreciated the other touches we have at the hotel--and that you took the time to expand on them in your review. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Joshua Tree and the Salton Sea and we will look forward to having you as our guest on your return trip to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hello, we periodically travel to meet our college daughter half way in between Phoenix and San Diego. Since we bring Fido along we always look for pet friendly hotels. Recently when planning a trip to Palm Springs; we decided to try The Date Tree Inn due to the good reviews.

Upon arrival until departure, we had an overall excellent experience. I feel this hotel has many more offerings then others and goes beyond expectation. The small items they GIVE freely make one feel welcome and appreciated. For example - they have free movie library, and offer local grown dates for their guests. They had coffee, tea, and juice available when we arrived in the evening. They have a business center, the rooms are updated, clean and beds are comfortable.

The staff, Jacob and Torrey were so helpful and nice, I hope they continue this genuine caring service and plan to go be back again in the near future.

Grateful Sandyagoin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a very welcoming hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. They have a good DVD selection which can be used free of charge. They have laundry rooms if you are planning a long stay. The heated pool is huge and have a hot jacuzzi spa as well, which is open 24 hours a day. You do need a vehicle to get into the town, and the railway line is across the road, but that is the only downside. We are planning our next trip to the desert for next year and I will be staying here again. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Shields2108,

What can we say: we love hearing the word "brilliant" brandied about in a review of our hotel. Maybe a tad hyperbole--but hey, we will take it.

Know this: our entire ethos of being is to get a review like this. From Desk Staff, to Housekeeping, to Maintenance: we know our number one concern is taking care of each and every guest. And we really do feel our hotel is something very special in Indio--and we are always--ALWAYS--striving to make it an even better place.

So again: thank you for your review and we will look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My sister and I weren't expecting very much with a Best Western, just a convenient place to stay for a concert at the Fantasy Spring Casino since their resort was booked. All of the staff there couldn't have been friendlier and the extra touches were appreciated. Ice water with fruit at the front desk - Wow, more like a Hyatt touch. The breakfast had the best selection of any hotel with breakfast included I've ever stayed at. Far beyond the typical sweet rolls, coffee and fruit. Not only did they have a pancake maker (in addition to the standard waffle maker) but biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon, eggs, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, four types of juice and more. The ladies in the breakfast area kept everything stocked and clean. Would definitely recommend a stay here if in Indio.

Room Tip: Building one is part of the lobby and where breakfast is - so a quick walk out to get coffee in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
BLL97,

Must say it: reading your review made me feel very proud of the staff we have at The Best Western Date Tree Hotel. We make it known to each and every person working for us that the number one priority of working here is having fun and treating each and every guest like family.

If they do that--and do it consistently--we feel the satisfaction of our guests will never be an issue. So yes: reading such a positive review really is motivating--and our ENTIRE staff will love seeing this.

We have lots of people stay here who go to Fantasy Springs for a concert--and who love the intimate and comfortable feel of our hotel. And yes: who appreciate the little touches that we try to bring to the Best Western Date Tree. Thanks for noticing this--and for sharing it!

We look forward to having you and your sister stay with us the next time you are in Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western
Address: 81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.