We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 years now for the BNP Paribas Tennis Tournament, and every time we have been very pleased. All employees were friendly and helpful immediately when something needed attention, like fixing the window to close for security. Each morning the desk staff had the tennis draw for the day, the local paper with a special tennis section, as well as a "tennis package" with snacks and fruit to eat while at the tourney. We liked the hotel's rather close proximity to the Tennis Center. The breakfast served at early hours till later in the morning had something for every taste, just like a regular family restaurant. The spacious room included a microwave and refrigerator which helped keep costs down on meals, and the bed was super comfortable! A great value! We definitely will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Karen W,

Wow: so nice to hear we have had you here for the past 3 years. We certainly take that as a sign that we are doing something right. And yes: we have a sold out hotel for the 2 weeks of the BNP Tennis tournament--and most of these are repeat guests who love our hotel and our customer service ethos.

We will take your comments and pass these along at our staff meeting this week. It really does help us to see what we are doing right--and to realize that we can NEVER be 100% perfect. There will always be opportunities to improve and refine our hotel...and we take the comments on Trip Advisor very seriously.

Once again, thanks for making this your 3rd year with the Best Western Date Tree--and we will look forward to having you in our hotel for all the upcoming years to come.

And happy tennis playing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    164
    35
    13
    9
See reviews for
175
200
45
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. 1st of all the staff were very welcoming, pleasant, and professional on check-in and every time I asked for their help. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. They have an awesome very large heated pool and a huge jacuzzi to soak in that's open 24 hrs. You can check out dvd's too (free of charge) at the front desk. They also were very helpful in recommending a unique and tasty nearby hole in-the-wall restaurant to eat at. The complimentary breakfast was okay but plain.
The hotel is a bit retro in style, but all in all a very nice place to stay. I found their rates to be very inexpensive for such a nice place. I was coming back thru Indio a few days later and stayed there again and will stay there any time I go thru that way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Tyler T,

What can we say: your review was a big hit at our Employee meeting today. We have one simple goal here at the Best Western Date Tree: providing superior customer service--and TRULY making the guests feel at home. And yes: reading a review like the one you posted makes us feel like we are on the right track.

Are we perfect? Not by a longshot. But we really do, and deep down, believe that we can make each and every guest a loyal and repeat customer to the Best Western Date Tree. And we take a great deal of pride in the "retro" vibe that you mentioned in the review. It really does set us apart...and take us away from the standard cookie-cutter hotels that are out there.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit out to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel every March for the past five years. I have always had a wonderful experience. I stay during the Indian Wells tennis tournament. The manager always has the tennis draw printed up for the guests first thing in the morning, and always supplies a local newspaper to go with it. Breakfast hours start early, which fits my plans, since I like to get to the tennis venue early. The rooms are always clean and the atmosphere is pleasant and quiet. I always have a great time when I am there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed during BNP Tennis Tournament and was very pleased. The front desk staff (Jacob and General Manager - Aaron) were so friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was incredible - a huge variety of choices - pancakes, waffles, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, bacon, juice, yogurt, fruit, and more! Free DVD movies available for the rooms. Absolutely great deal for the price. We're coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite. HUGE! Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Manhattan Beach,

Glad to hear we have another happy guest that stayed with us for the BNP Tennis Event. We absolutely love that event--and the thrill and excitement that the two weeks of world class tennis brings to our valley.

Even more: we love the guests that come and stay with us for that period. We had some perfect weather this year--and some truly great matches ensued this year. As for your comments: have passed these along to our entire staff. And Jacob was very, very pleased to be recognized in your post.

And make no mistake: it is comments such as yours that truly motivate us--and inspire us even further in our daily pursuit of superior customer service. Again...glad your enjoyed the BNP Tennis--and we will look forward to having you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here again for the Indian Wells Tennis Tournament and can not say enough good about this hotel..The front desk gentlemen were most helpful. Our room --very clean Maid service was very accommodating great breakfast . Will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
596tennislovers,

A realy joy to come in and read your review this morning--and especially after the hectic two weeks of the BNP Tennis Event. We are glad you found the Best Western Date Tree...and have been coming back the last few years.

As for the Tennis: we feel quite proud of how we take care of the guests that are here for the two week event and of the proximity of our hotel to the tournament. But being close to the tennis is just one factor...our biggest factor is--and always will be--our customer service. You can be close. You can be newer. You can have more amenities.

But the bottom line is the bottom line: nothing makes a statement like customer service. And to read your review promulgating these salient points on our service is something that we are striving to promulgate everyday to our guests.

We look forward to having you on your next staty--and to having you back for 2014 BNP Tennis Event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were looking for a halfway stop from Phoenix. This hotel was clean, up-to-date and very comfortable. I would choose an interior facing room because of regular train traffic, although the air conditioner is able to block most of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

As I get ready to depart after my 2 month stay for work I must let say again how wonderful ALL the staff from the Guest Relations, Maintenance, House Keeping and of course the manager Aaron have gone above and beyond to make sure ALL of my needs and requests are met.
I can't thank Esmerelda, Jacob, Jessica, Tori, Jasmine, Martha( head housekeeper) and Mariana, who takes care of my room, enough !
I love my home away from home in the winter here at the Date Tree ! Esmerelda does an incredible job with all the details of making sure I'm taken care of and comfortable.
I work long hours! and I leave early in the morning. Crystal and Katie are always cheerful and helpful early in the morning as I depart at 5:45am and Jeff and Peter tend to everything needed to make sure everything is set and working properly in the room.
I thank all of them and suggest this Desert Oasis for anyone wanting a happy stay at a well run hotel for any event here in the Coachella Valley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Katie F,

Wow: over 2 months at the Best Western Date Tree! What can we say: it was like we had family staying with us. (And the kind of family members we like.) Your kind comments and observations have been passed along to our entire staff.

And make no mistake: our whole ethos at the Best Western Date Tree is to provide the sort of service that makes you feel like family--and to truly strive to provide the best possible hotel experience. Are we 100% on this--and always perfect? Put succinctly: no. However, and most importantly, we truly do want to be. And if we in any way do miss the mark on any issue, we will make it right.

As for your stay: so very glad you choose the Best Western Date Tree on your 2 month working stay with us. And we certainly hope to see out here the next time you decide to visit Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Address: 81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Best Western, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.