We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macario's Restaurant

Macario's Restaurant
80-783 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201
(760) 342-5649
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 117 Restaurants in Indio
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Indio, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We went ot Macario's Mexican Restaurant on 04/13/2012. The restaurant was very busy but we still got excellent service. I ordered a dozen fresh oysters as an appetizer and they were fresh, plumb and cold. Very good. My wife had carnitas and they were also very good. I opted for their rib-eye steak and it came to the table sizzling with sauteed green onions on the top of it. The Margarita was very good. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone that likes good food. They also had a man strumming the guitar and singing. Nice touch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best traditional Mexican in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We love this restaurant, not to mention their catering service.
Every time we have been there has been live entertainment.
The margaritas are better and cheaper than downtown.
Monday night is buffet night, so you can try everything.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Have thoroughly enjoyed every visit we have made with no complaints at all. We have always ordered off of the menu and do not go there for a "deal" on either the food or drinks as we think the prices are very good and the service is always very pleasant. Can not believe that no one talks about the mole there, just brilliant and one of the best I have ever had. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just the best margaritas and lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We went for dinner quite late - we walked (we're European...) and it's a detour to get there by foot! Anyway, staff were really great, the guitarist / singer was fantastic and when I asked for a LARGE margarita, honestly, it must have been over a pint. Food was fine and best of all when I asked for a cab to take us back to the hotel they gave us a ride, no charge. Nice people, good food, large portions, no pretence. Simple decor. When the table shakes it's not an earthquake, it's the railway line next door.....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

It started with the slow service, mixed up orders and the the food, other than the simple, grilled fish fillet, was smothered I retried beans and lettuce. Much better Mexican food exists.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macario's Restaurant also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Macario's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macario's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.