We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great peppers stuffed with shrimp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mexicali Cafe II

El Mexicali Cafe II
43430 Monroe St, Suite A, Indio, CA 92201-0100
760-342-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 114 restaurants in Indio
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Great peppers stuffed with shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Service is attentive and friendly. The food is fresh and delicious. Try the pepper stuffed with shrimp. It is served over a bed of salad. The margaritas are strong and delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iHeartDates, Public Relations Manager at El Mexicali Cafe II, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for joining us and taking the time to write about your experience! We're really glad to hear that you were well taken care of and that you enjoyed our peppers stuffed with shrimp and our margaritas. Try our Happy Hour, every Monday to Thursday, 3 to 6pm - appetizers are buy one & get one 1/2 off. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    10
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Local go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

GREAT Mexican food where the locals eat. Good prices and spicy food. Great salsa. Good service. Close to freeway entrance/exit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went the first time and it was great. Went a second time and brought our son telling him how great this restaurant was. He asked for a spicy shrimp dish and it was not even slightly spicy. The waitress brought him some extra sauce which was gloppy and it wasn't spicy either. Overall the sauce was like canned tomato sauce with added, weak tabasco. I had the carne asada special which I had had previously and the meat was dried out and touch. My dish overall was highly over salted. The waitress forgot to bring the tortillas and they did not arrive until our meal was almost over. Had to struggle to get water. It was embarrassing to bring someone new there for a special dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Baja traditional with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I went to the newest El Mexicali Cafe in La Quinta, on Washington St. across from the big Catholic church. I'd heard we had to try the stuffed peppers and they were so good! This time of year, they are kind of spicy but they are really interesting and GOOD! Stuffed with shrimp - lots of them! They are certainly different with the soy sauce and mayo! ;-) I also had ceviche and felt I'd actually eaten rather healthy food. My husband had carne adada tacos and they looked really yummy! The beans aren't what most of us are used to (very light in color and no lard) but my husband ate every morsel! NO bar, but they have beer and wine but some people had drinks that looked like margaritas so I suspect they make a wine version. I should have asked. It isn't fancy but it's cute - tricky to spot from the road but it's worth the hunt! Don't go on Sunday because they are closed - hey it's a family operation and they need one day of rest! The waitress was one of the daughters (great laugh!) and chatted with us quite a bit since it was after the normal lunch rush. We will definitely go back when we're here again and will tell our local friends! The family is from Mexicali so this is the real deal! I should probably give the "value" excellent but we both thought the prices were a wee bit high for lunch (it's the same menu for dinner). GO! Try it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Like its sister location, El Mexicali II is just great. Some of the best Mexican food in the area. The peppers stuffed with shrimp are THE BEST. Also, I highly recommend the fish (broiled) tacos! Very nice staff and great location!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicali Cafe II also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs

Been to El Mexicali Cafe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mexicali Cafe II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.