We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South of I-10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mexicali Cafe II

El Mexicali Cafe II
43430 Monroe St, Suite A, Indio, CA 92201-0100
760-342-2333
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 112 restaurants in Indio
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Indio, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“South of I-10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Why go south of the border when you can have great Mexican food in Indio, just south of Interstate 10? This lively restaurant has an extensive menu that is reasonably priced for the quality of food that is served. I recommend the tableside guacamole, prepared with only the ingredients you want. Service, drinks and atmosphere make for a fun lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    10
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California, United States
1 review
“One Word”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

YUM!!!!! Been here a couple of times and it is on my to visit list when or near indio. People are kind, Food is tasty and its a reasonable on the pricing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Happy,friendly service combined with great food. Chili rellenos are the best. Reasonably priced. Excellant chips and salsa. I will become a regular.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Almost As Good As Mom's Without the Train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The El Mexicali Restaurant at Indio and Oasis is owned by the parents. This is owned by the kids. Same great food and reasonable prices. Same Shrimp Gerrero. Located on Monroe.

Very good food and service. Some nights, there is a harpist playing Mexican and show tunes. Really nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Service was very bad and slow. I was told they didn't have the chile verde after waiting 20 minutes and received no apologizes for not having it available. I also asked for a lime with my Corona, but never got one. The servings were small and the food was not that great in my opinion. My wife is Mexican, and believe me, we have been to a lot better Mexican restaurants than this one.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicali Cafe II also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to El Mexicali Cafe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mexicali Cafe II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.