We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mexicali Cafe II

El Mexicali Cafe II
43430 Monroe St, Suite A, Indio, CA 92201-0100
760-342-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 114 restaurants in Indio
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Bernardino, California, United States
1 review
“One Word”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

YUM!!!!! Been here a couple of times and it is on my to visit list when or near indio. People are kind, Food is tasty and its a reasonable on the pricing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    10
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
laquinta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Happy,friendly service combined with great food. Chili rellenos are the best. Reasonably priced. Excellant chips and salsa. I will become a regular.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Almost As Good As Mom's Without the Train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The El Mexicali Restaurant at Indio and Oasis is owned by the parents. This is owned by the kids. Same great food and reasonable prices. Same Shrimp Gerrero. Located on Monroe.

Very good food and service. Some nights, there is a harpist playing Mexican and show tunes. Really nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Service was very bad and slow. I was told they didn't have the chile verde after waiting 20 minutes and received no apologizes for not having it available. I also asked for a lime with my Corona, but never got one. The servings were small and the food was not that great in my opinion. My wife is Mexican, and believe me, we have been to a lot better Mexican restaurants than this one.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very good food, higher prices than similar places.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Nice atmosphere, clean and friendly place. Generous seating and not overcrowded. Open kitchen.

The chips and salsa they bring are good. We found the salsa to be quite hot on its own with the chips, however when placed on the food it was fine. We had the chile gueritos (shrimp stuffed jalapenos) which we really enjoyed, weren't sure what to do with the soy sauce, lime and mayo but we made it work and they tasted good. We then had some shredded beef tacos and a chicken burrito. The tacos were ok, crunchy and fresh, but the meat was dry and they needed salsa to make them taste good.

The chicken burrito was so simple, but so delicious. The tortillas they use are the best we have had, soft, slightly chewy, light but strong enough not to fall apart and perfectly tasting. The fresh chicken, peppers and onion mix in the burrito was beautifully spiced, piping hot and delicious. We used salsa and a little sour cream to top it and it was probably the best we've ever had - nothing fancy, very simple but extremely delicious.

We shared deep fried ice cream for dessert and it was good (pre made from a factory we think), but it was decent and we'd probably have it again.

One of us had a margarita which was average at best, and one had a chevalas which was decent. (If you really want a great chevalas check out Taqueria Tlaquepaque in Palm Springs).

Overall it was quite good, and if in the area we would go back but we wouldn't go out of our way to go here in the future.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicali Cafe II also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs

Been to El Mexicali Cafe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mexicali Cafe II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.