We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky in a Good Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Motel

Save Saved
You added City Center Motel to your Saves list
City Center Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Center Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   83597 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Funky in a Good Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise. Looks like a seedy SRO from the street. Inside, big comfy (very firm) bed, lovely little renovated bathroom, nice paint job, working fridge, and robust wifi. Clean!! And attentive staff. We walked an hour into town and had a really good repast and beer at La Tapatio restaurant. A real gem.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Acres, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for our Daughter's Wedding. It was close to Fantasy Springs Casino and the Wedding Venue. Saturday very early I got up and went to find coffee and came back around 7 am? the car was directly in front of our room. I left the car unlocked with my Garmin GPS on the seat. I went in to shower and was gone about 45 minutes, when I returned the GPS was gone. The office was very kind to look on security video and indeed see that someone apparently a street person? took it. I believe street thieves or issues may abound here, as we were told folks from the street come in to get ice from machine by office???
I am writing this review to let you know that you cannot leave your car unlocked for any length of time, we had tons of valuables with us for the wedding and had any of them been in my car and we had we looked the other way we could have been at a huge loss. I know this is my fault and not the property owners fault, however, I do believe you need to be warned. It is a hassel to beep beep the unlock tons of times coming and going only 5 feet from your car as you load and unload but please do so if you have anything of value in your car.
As far as the room itself, I feel it was overpriced at $82.50 per nite total. We arrived early and checked in around noon, however, we did not notify office so our a/c was not on. It was 105 outside and hot inside for the rest of the afternoon, impossible to bring down the room temp and the bathroom temp. We finally closed the door to the bathroom and let it be hot in there. The room finally cooled down late late evening and was cool all nite. In all fairness the manager said she would have turned the a/c on if she knew we were arriving early. I am not sure how it works if you arrive later in afternoon, but I would like a room to be cool when I arrive.
I did enjoy the pool very much, very cool and refreshing, you do have to ask the manager to open it as I cannot reach over gate to unlock, kinda irritating, but the manager was nice about it. I was in and out of pool tons of times to keep cool. I noticed that coming back into the room with wet feet created mud, the floor was dirty, I hate that aspect. So I used the towels to kinda mop up but is does occur to me that someone should wet mop the floors and or keep the sidewalk swept up better so this is not an issue.
The beds are extra extra firm, that's ok with me but you may want to consider that. Also we ran out of toilet paper before our room was cleaned but they promptly provided another roll.
The second nite we were able to sleep without A/C because the weather just turned out cool. I noticed the lack of a/c noise was great, however, someone had thrown a large empty can outside our door and the wind was rattling rattling it all around for hours until I finally went out to see what it was and threw can in trash. I think they need signs to not leave anything of value in car locked or not. I know it was my fault that my car was unlocked, however, I am not sure if goodies had been in plain site that if would not have been broken into, so you need to lug everything in with you. In our case we had hundreds of dollars in formal wear and jewelery alone for wedding and as we were unpacking those could have been taken, after all this was broad day lite although early morning. Just felt you should know. The lack of our GPS made for great difficulties in commuting all around for wedding plans. But it could have been far far worse.

Room Tip: I just would not stay here again, too risky
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Its a small motel that is extremely clean, the rooms are the size that you will need. Please don't expect a huge room that you would get at the sheraton. If you want that go there, but you will be missing out on the friendly service and amazing owners.

I did go to this hotel for Coachella and the owners drove us to and from the venue for an extra charge. Basically it was a lot safer and easier to toss a couple of dollars knowing who we were going with.

They had fresh coffee and fruits in the morning (remember you don't get this with your big box chains)

Everybody that works there is amazing and sweet.

Would and will be back most defiantly. :)

See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly staff, nice comfortable room. Asked for no smoking room but there were 2 ashtrays and ashes in the nightstand drawer. Beware if you have children - there was no TV channel list and when we turned on TV the screen was full of naked men and women in an orgy on lots of beds with closeups of their private parts. The motel is in an industrial area with few restaurants and shopping nearby but you can drive to those. We stayed on a 3 day weekend [Martin Luther King] but at over $90.00/night we didn't think it was a bargain. There is no breakfast but coffee's available in the lobby and fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked for 2 nights into this hotel in January. We were given a dinky room. It was clean and the bathroom was very nice but it was extremely small for the price. My husband complained and we were given a bigger room automatically. The heater had to be turned on to cold for 20 minutes before the heat could be turned on so we sat outside to wait because it was warmer out there. The free internet didn't work until the office fixed it. The grounds especially around the unheated pool need to be upgraded The office was cooperative but we had to ask for everything.

Room Tip: There seems to be 2 kinds of room fr the same price. Ask for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The rooms are much better than one would expect given the location and type of motel. Nothing fancy, just not dinged up, dirty, and dilapidated. Niceties include a microwave, flat screen TV, and free WiFi. The woman one duty was quite friendly.

Two things; the beds are hard and the heating / cooling unit is noisy. To be fair, the heat and cooling units looked pretty new, having probably been refreshed at the same time as the rest of the room. But they are still noisy. For quiet heating and cooling you really do have to go to a fancier hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I loved my stay here. The whole place is ground floor, which makes it look older - like something out of a road movie. The sign has some letters falling off. The chairs at the pool (cool, deep) are kinda piled in a corner. But wow, the rooms are great. Plenty of hot water, new bathrooms, firm mattresses, comfortable sheets, aircon, free wifi, all the conveniences, a big fridge, space. The owner is friendly and will wake up at 4.30am to make you coffee. Stayed there with my actors before a film shoot that began at before dawn the next morning. Worth every cent and then some.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Motel

Address: 83597 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Center Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your City Center Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.