We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Soul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soul of Mexico

Soul of Mexico
44100 Jefferson St, Ste E502, Indio, CA 92201
760-200-8787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 117 Restaurants in Indio
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Local Soul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a nice restaurant in the ubiquitous Coachella Valley shopping mall. Cool, quiet and relaxing inside. Great for visitors and locals alike. Close to SCSH.

The food is very good, with reasonable prices, so bring the whole family, casual, but nice enough to bring your pickiest friends and relatives. Unusual table salsa is especially good, but save room for the entrees.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“soul of mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had dinner at Soul of Mexico on Saturday evening. The Margaritas are very good. $5 during happy hour and $6.50 otherwise. Food was very good. Prices are a bit lower than Armando's on El Paseo and at Agave on Hwy 111. Service was very good. Friendly. Appears to be a family owned business. They have a separate room for parties that will accommodated up to 60 or so people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had lunch in this family owned restaurant and very much enjoyed it. It is in a strip mall and they did a nice job of decorating and it is very clean. We prefer more of a "hole in the wall", but that is just personal preference. The chile verde was excellent and the Dos Equis Amber on tap was cold and tasty. Overall, it was very good and we will return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went here for dinner with adults, teens, and kids. The service was fantastic. The salsa and guacamole were wonderful. I had carnitas street tacos and I think they were the best carnitas I have ever tasted. The kids had a salad with the house grilled chicken and said it was the best chicken ever. They cleaned their plates!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever had in my life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

No exaggeration. I literally want to move there so I can eat it daily. I can't stop thinking about how amazing it was.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul of Mexico also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Soul of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soul of Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.