We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Indio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WorldMark Indio to your Saves list
WorldMark Indio
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   42151 WorldMark Way, Indio, CA 92203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Indio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I spent a few nights at the WorldMark (also Wyndham) Indio resort. It was our first stay in Indio and the resort is beautiful. Beautiful grounds, two pools with spas and a lazy river. Other water features with ducks and assorted fowl. Beautiful.

The unit was actually nicer than other WorldMark resorts that we have stayed at (but not as nice as most of the Wyndham resorts). Full kitchen and large rooms. Nice balcony. Building choice is critical if you want to minimize noise from the pool - we were in building 7 which was perfect for us. Also important during the summer is which way the balcony faces. We got the morning sun, but shade in the much hotter afternoon. If you get the afternoon sun, watch out.

Check in took a long time (almost a half hour), but based more on the fact that each of the desk clerks seemed to be having extensive discussion with their guests - I guess one of those nights. Once we got up to the desk, our check in was very smooth.

The "parking pass" people, who are standard at every timeshare, were friendly but as pushy as ever. We told our guy we weren't eligible (had just had another sale tour recently), but he insisted that we were good and that he would give us really nice gifts. We reluctantly agreed to go the next afternoon and re-arranged our schedule to accommodate the tour. He called us the next morning and un-invited us. It's too bad that the marketing management people hammer their staff to not take "no" for an answer, even when it is a valid "no". Now I'll get off my soapbox...

The one negative here is the noise. There is no soundproofing in the units - we could hear TV's from two rooms. And at night, the parties (at least on the weekend) tend to be loud - everyone wants to party on the balcony. We finally called security about 2:00 AM and the party two floors below us stopped after about 15 minutes, so I assume they took care of it (the same party started up on the balcony the next morning about 6:00 AM - I guess sleep is for old people LOL).

My thoughts are that we shouldn't have to call security - all they have to do is walk around the resort and listen for the loud music and yelling from the balconies. Maybe a walk at midnight and then another at 2:00 AM to get the real hearty partiers. Count up and over to figure out the room number and then go knock on the door and tell them to be quiet. I realize they don't want to offend paying guest who just want to party, but if you are going to have quiet time, enforce it.

This resort is pretty far from anything, so plan accordingly. There is a small store and snack bar at the pool, but you will need to drive to get to real food.

Beautiful resort, and with just a little more attention to details, a very good resort.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main (lazy river) pool and one that gets the afternoon shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at WorldMark Indio, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.
We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the marketing staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. I will share your feedback with the appropriate managers so that they may follow up.
Our apologies for the discourteous behavior of some of the other guests. We have recently increased our over night security coverage so that they may monitor noise just as you have suggested.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Eric Hill
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    99
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
121
74
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My mother, sis and I get together around 3-4 times a year as we live out of state from one another and they are Wyndham owners. Decided to do something non touristy as we generally stay in San Diego or Vegas and boy did we do good. Between the lounging on the patio drinking coffee and watching the ducks in the morning, strolling the lazy river which never truly felt crowded though it was and just sun bathing on the deck of the huge pool area, this place is beautiful. Only 15 min or so from Palm springs and minutes from Fantasy Springs casino location not too bad , not too bad at all ;)

Room Tip: Do Building 6 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at WorldMark Indio, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the desert and were able to take full advantage of the relaxing ambiance and our amenities. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Joanne Hallert
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is one of the larger WorldMark Resorts. The grounds are very attractive including a lazy river with ducks (with their babies) flowers and even some rabbits running around. There are two pools including hot tubs with the one at the back of the property larger and quieter. The weekends are popular and so the pool is more noisy but the rest of the week is quiet. There is a small store selling most items you would need including a cafe serving Starbucks coffee, barbecued items, ice cream etc Their salads are excellent. Joshua Tree Park is close by as well as all that the Palm Springs area has to offer.
The resort is next to a golf course and close to all amenities.
The condos are spacious but could do with some updating which I believe is in the planning stages.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at WorldMark Indio, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We appreciate your choosing our Resort for your recent trip to the Palm Springs area and for sharing your review. We are happy to read how you enjoyed all the amenities of the Resort as well as some of our "residents". You are correct that we are in the planning stage of updating our Resort, actually as I write this, member of our RR&D team are on-site.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Eric Hill
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were surprised by the size of this resort in Indio; much larger than some of the other Worldmark resorts we have stayed at. The internal grounds, including flower gardens, pools and even a "river" to swim in are rather impressive. There also is a shop for snacks and clothing, which we took advantage of for some late night snacks. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating and welcoming, providing lots of information to us. Our unit was comfortable and of the usual high standard for Worldmark. We were not prepared for the high winds that whipped through the resort and that led us to stay inside rather than walk the grounds. We chose to check out a movie and get comfortable in our unit, which was just fine after a long drive from Tucson across the desert.

Green Features: The Worldmark resorts have committed themselves to being environmentally sound, which we found to be true at Indio and we commend them for it. We also look for use of styrofoam, which I believe was not used for our breakfast sandwiches, much to our relief.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at WorldMark Indio, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent trip to the Palm Springs area and for sharing your review. We were delighted to read how you enjoyed our resort, amenities and the friendliness of our staff. Clearly our Count on Me culture shined during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Eric Hill
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked a full week, but left after 3 nights because there were units around us having parties each night. The front desk did notify security, but it wasn't until 2am that the noise stopped from the units. Once we decided to leave we called to see if we could get the remaining points back and that was also a horrible experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at WorldMark Indio, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Resort for your recent trip to the Coachella Valley and for sharing your review. Our apologies that the conduct of other guests at the resorts put a damper on your vacation experience. We do have 24 hour security on-site, so if at any time you feel someone is not conducting themselves within the guidelines please contact our Guest Services team.

It is our sincere hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from visiting us again.

Eric Hill
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas & New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We chose this resort as a timeshare exchange through RCI. I was disappointed that it turned out to be further from Palm Springs than I expected. But when we saw the magnificent grounds, with its beautiful foliage, waterway complete with teal ducks and a resident goose, bridges, hummingbirds, and individual patios each with a gas grill, we were so glad we decided to stay here. And it was close to shopping, restaurants, I-10 and a casino. As Las Vegas residents, it was comforting to have a casino nearby :)

Our unit was a 1BR 1BA. It was very spacious, in a somewhat strange way, until we found that the extra space in the living room was because behind what looked like closet doors lurked a large Murphy bed. The unit had a complete well-equipped kitchen, with high-end Cuisinart small appliances and ample counter space. For the first time ever at a timeshare, I actually cooked a dinner. There was also a washer and dryer.

The bathroom was huge, but a different design could have afforded a larger vanity and it definitely needs a higher toilet. The bedroom had a king bed, two night tables, bureau, and a closet. There were flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room. At first I thought the bed was going to be too hard for me to sleep on, but it turned out to be very comfortable.

The apartment was nice and comfortable enough, but is showing its age. It's definitely ready for an update, but it's not critical. Most people would find it just fine, but it's missing the wow factor that the outdoor areas and building exteriors would have one expect.

Having peeked into a few unoccupied 2BR units, we believe that these were carved out of the same square footage as our 1BR, and therefore would seem much less spacious than ours. We didn't actually go inside, so this observation is a tad speculative, based on the distance between doors, seeing the small 2nd bedroom, and looking at a posted floor plan.

But none of my quibbles with the interiors mean much when contrasted with the great things about this resort. Big, beautiful pool, lazy river, nice big gym and spa, cafe, game room, tennis courts, golf course adjacent, and superb management. The staff was constantly cleaning, maintaining, and fixing. I'm a bit of a germophobe and was a little squeamish about using the grill, until I saw that each time a unit is vacated they power wash the grill and hose down the patio. The unit was spotlessly clean, and a housekeeper came midweek to change the towels and sheets. But towels can be changed anytime by taking them by yourself.

You can't go wrong by choosing this resort for your week away from home.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds and exceptional maintenance
  • Disliked — The sandstorms in the area, requiring an acid wash for the car upon returning home.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenino, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Indio, CA Worldmark is really great. Feels like a resort. The grounds are lovely featuring a large pond with waterfalls, bridges and islands. We saw several resident ducks, green heron, egret,grackles, hammers etc. There are several pools and a lazy river. The little store started serving light meals ( breakfast sandwiches, burgers etc.) and coffee. The staff are very nice and accommodating. Rooms are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: We liked to get rooms with a good view of the pond area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at WorldMark Indio, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you, Terry, for the kind words and I will definitely share these with our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to have the opportunity to experience many of our amenities, including our latest addition, the Lazy River Cafe.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Joanne Hallert
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to WorldMark Indio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Indio

Address: 42151 WorldMark Way, Indio, CA 92203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Indio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Indio 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your WorldMark Indio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Indio Hotel Indio
Worldmark Hotel Indio
Worldmark Resort Indio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Indio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.