We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great golf trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Indian Wells Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   76-661 Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Dana Point, ca
1 review
“great golf trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

I stayed at the Indian Wells Resort the first week of December for a golf trip. This worked fantastic because the hotel had tee times available at the Indian Wells Golf course. This was right after they hosted the Skins Game. I think these are 2 of the best golf courses in the desert and the prettiest.
The hotel itself was great, right across the street from the golf courses. They supplied transportation to the golf course and to the shopping areas for my wife.
I had a large suite with flat screen TV's. Huge modern bathrooms. It was a great value and breakfast was included.

  • Liked — convenience and cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    106
    76
    59
    69
See reviews for
78
126
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Wow, what a surprise to find this hollywood hotel. On our way to Arizona for a Christmas holiday we decided to make a last minute stop in Palm Desert. Our original plan was to stay at one of the local casino hotels. Unfortunately being extremely last minute we found that not only were our choises limited, but many of the available hotels were far outside our budget. It was by accident that through an internet site we discovered this hotel. Our initial fears were that the price was too low and that would translate to a sub standard motel. What we found was a hotel, rich in history (founded by Desi Arnez), located on a beautiful private golf course, and options that not only suited the budget minded, but also had beautiful suites available for a small price more. We decided to upgrade our room to a two room suite. The suite included 1 1/2 bathroom and both a large sunken tub as well as a large glass shower. The bed was comfortable and there were televisions available in both the living room and the bedroom. If that was not enough, the hotel provided us with a complimentary light breakfast. For a nominal fee (that did not appear to exceed $6) we could order a more hearty breakfast.

We were extremely happy with our stay and even inquired about gift certificates for our friends to visit.

Our only complaint was that the ceiling (being within an older hotel) was a little thin and the guest above us seemed to get up a little earlier than us.

All in all a very good value. If you are a golfer we would definately recommend and if you are looking to lounge by the pool, it was very nice as well

  • Liked — the 2 room suite and the extra large tub
  • Disliked — noise from the upstairs guest
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

I recommend this hotel. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The view of the golf course and pool were breathtaking. We will definitely stay at this resort again!

  • Liked — The King View room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I stayed at the Indian Wells Resort hotel in October 2008.

It's not really a resort hotel, more like an motel with a swimming pool. The rooms have a really bad smell to them, I rejected the first one, was moved to a second which was better but very hot. When switching on the air conditioning I could tell where the smell comes from, clearly old air conditioning units.

The restaurant was closed for dinner and only offers a limited choice each evening, more like a holiday camp offering set meals each evening. The bar offered similarly limited choices of burgers or pizza. You have to drive to any other restaurant choices, nothing is within walking distance.

The free wireless internet access provided was painfully slow making it almost unusable.

All in all this wasn't a great experience for me. I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Liked — My car to get me elsewhere
  • Disliked — Food choices, poor wireless internet access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula,ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Well I am sure glad we decided to go there ourselves and not be swayed by other reviews regarding their resort status. It was worth the $18.00 resort fee to not stand in any lines or be crowded in in a fitness room or cramped in a swamped pool or what for a tee time or wait for a tennis court........................this place is great if you enjoy a resort with a scaled down complex - it offers more opportunity for great conversation and luxury accommodations with all of the amenities your heart desires. The window treatments are really cool - the decor was unexpected and exceeded our expectations. That ranks up high in book of resorts. We had a 2 room suite on the second floor that over looked the spacious pool. My husband - myself and our son enjoyed our weekend stay so much I am positive we will do it again soon. Wonder what December looks like there?..........Sauls Family

  • Liked — The atmosphere was the best I have felt in a Palm Desert Resort of any size
  • Disliked — that we had to leave to go home. 8)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

I agree with the reviews that say it's not a resort: it's not. It's a nice motel/ bargain hotel.

The valet and desk staff were friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, the pool was the perfect place to relax once the scorching sun went down. We were disappointed with the continental breakfast: as diabetics we were unable to eat much from the assortment of muffins, breads, cereals, fruits and juices. We thought it was a fabulous deal at $70/ night, until we got hit with the $18 resort fee. Still, it's a good value for the area and we'd go again.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Resort fee, continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

It really is puffing to refer to this property as a resort. It's a three story motel style building with a pool. They add on $18 per day "resort fee" and charge you room tax on the fee. The fee supposedly includes a Continential Breakfast (muffins, ceral, juice), a newspaper which they put in the lobby and unless you are the first ones there forget it, WiFi (weak signal during day, ok late evening, and happy hour appitizers (bean dip/salsa and chips). Its insulting to the patrons. The staff was mixed. Some very good and service oriented, others reflected the sour mood of the patrons. The new decort is OK. My room had a foul smell upon arrival but disappeared after awhile. The safe was non-operable. The older style building is very non ADA friendly with one elevator per wing. The Priceline rating of 3 stars is far too generous and does a dis-service to those depending on their ratings for hotel choices.

  • Liked — The pool area is acceptable
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff, $18 resort fee is a ripoff, 'resort" in the name gives a false impression
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Wells Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Address: 76-661 Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Wells Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Indian Wells Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Wells Hotel Indian Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Wells Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.