We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, for what we needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Wells Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   76-661 Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay, for what we needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here as we had baseball tournaments, found a deal on "groupon" otherwise I might have stayed somewhere else without a resort fee. Which I didn't see what it is for. The staff at the front desk was very polite and helpful. Check in & out was quick, the room we were given was nice & clean, roomy for me, my husband & 14yr old. The beds were comfortable but they are a little small if you get the standard room w/ two beds for adults to sleep in together. But overall soft. Breakfast buffet is lacking attention..not much to choose from. Eggo-like waffles, some muffins hard boiled eggs, a bowl of yogurt..(not individual packaged ones)..A bowl. Different. Cereals, breads for toast. The breakfast you can order is better, smaller portions still, but if you do get the deal I did, you can have both ( buffet & menu items). I just think if a hotel is going to claim to be a resort the breakfast would be a bit better. I get it's free..but still. At least have a fresh waffle maker or pancake machine as I have seen at other hotels. The pool is nice. Just very dark at night. Not much lighting, just what light is shining on trees & pool lights. So tread carefully. Overall our stay here was pleasant..it is an older place but that didn't bother us much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your thorough review. I will definitely pass this on to all our management here. I believe a lot of travelers can benefit from reading reviews such as yours. p.s. we have updated the pool lighting so its not as dark at night now. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    121
    83
    62
    72
See reviews for
87
138
35
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm not real picky when it comes to a place to stay as long as it's clean, comfortable, and has a few amenities. This place is lacking in all three areas. Check-in wasn't very fast nor was the desk clerk friendly or accommodating. I can forgive that. Headed to our room and when we opened the door, it stunk. I mean really stunk. We later purchased two Airwick pop-ups and it ended up smelling like someone took a dump in a rain forest. Looked around and it was not clean, the carpets had some stains and there was dust in the corners and under the bed, the bedspread had stains and smelled old, the bathroom was pretty clean but one of the towels had a very visible blood stain on it. The towels and bedding were cheap. The decor was old and looked it plus bedspreads are a thing of the past. On the positives, everything worked in the room and the bed was comfortable.

We like to spend a lot of time at the pool in a resort. This is not a resort. It's an old motel type place where they call it a resort which is no more than putting lipstick on a pig. The pool was dirty at 4 in the afternoon. The pool bar was closed. Is that a resort? No. Made the best of it and then headed to their sorry happy hour which didn't make us very happy until after a couple of expensive drinks kicked in. Here is where it gets really good....we decided to eat at the restaurant which looks nice. The menu was a real shocker. $27 is about the average for a simple meal of a pasta dish. Meatloaf dinner was $28. You get the idea. This wasn't fine dining by any means. We ended up splurging on a steak dinner for $36 each plus a side salad was an additional $7 for a total of $43 each without a drink. Outrageous for what we received and the food was just adequate. I've actually had a better meal at a diner for about 1/3 of what this cost. The free breakfast was sparse and what you would get at the likes of an Econolodge so we passed. We did not eat or drink at the motel the second or third day.

This really wasn't a very pleasurable experience. Fortunately, Palm Springs has a lot to offer in the way of dining and bars plus nightlife. My suggestion for anyone that is looking for a nice relaxing and comfortable place to stay in Palm Springs, the Courtyard by Marriott is a much nicer hotel, closer to downtown, and less expensive. When you consider that the Indian Wells Resort has the audacity to charge a resort fee of $32 PER NIGHT including tax which is a plain and simple ripoff. A $10 resort fee would be stretching it. As I stated before, this is not a real resort. It's a motel with a restaurant and weird bar hours. Clean the pool! We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here a few times and enjoyed it each time! It is not a hotel to go to if you want a cold and bland atmosphere with that "built yesterday" feel. This place has great nostalgia and history with entertainment that brings back memories of better performers than we have today. Chill out and enjoy the surroundings and the great pictures on the walls.
Again, if you want a hotel with that cold, built yesterday feel (with crazy prices for a nights stay), this may not be the place for you, but if you're looking for a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, with reasonable rate, give them a try. I'm glad I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. Value to the traveler is what we try to provide. We are happy that you enjoyed the nightlife and the nostalgia of the hotel. Thank you again for the review and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent the night here to break up a drive to central California. We got a great deal and were very happy with our stay. The room was large and comfortable. There was in-room coffee service.
Our deal included a complimentary drink upon arrival. The bartender was friendly and helpful with directions to restaurants. The breakfast, which was included, was cooked to order and you could also have items off of the buffet table. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel staff was terribly rude and incredibly slow. The room was decent, but certainly not as clean as I would prefer. The Lounge bar was depressing, to say the least. The happy hour food was the same food you would get from a 7 - 11 food counter. The pool was FILTHY when we arrived. It was green, filled with bigs and leaves and just the most disgusting thing I have ever seen! The pictures depict the property as backing up to a golf course - BUT, there is an old school chain link fence separating the property from the golf course. You have to jump the ugly fence. The food was even worse than I could have imagined. I would never recommend this property - and I only paid $29 for the night. Oh, they also tack on the resort fee - There is NO RESORT or ammenities! The outside pool bar is only open some Saturdays in the summer for short hours. No towels to be found....I could go on, but this place makes me angry!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

What a amazing place! Thanks to Theresa we were able to get a amazing pool side room! She was so friendly and accommodating. We look forward to our stay here and many others! Thanks again theresa for being so accommodating and such a wonderful friendly front desk staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There were things we liked about this hotel and things we didn't, so I'll settle on 3 stars.

The good:
Large rooms
Fluffy towels
While the continental breakfast was just okay, they did have inexpensive cook-to-order heartier options
Clean
Comfy bed
Nice toiletries
We very convenient to the event we were attending.

The bad:
Very slow, unreliable internet
$28 resort fee
Water in shower went from hot to cold to hot
Poor water pressure in the bathroom sink
Very outdated

We would stay again, but not if we could get a nicer room at a comparable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the thorough review you gave us and believe it will help other travelers. We continually try to upgrade rooms and have yearly projects to improve the over all guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Wells Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Address: 76-661 Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Wells Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Indian Wells Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Wells Hotel Indian Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Wells Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.