We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramonte Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Miramonte Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miramonte Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   45000 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Receive 20% Off!
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, AB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We had a lovely room with 2 queen beds that opened onto the garden - very nice. The resort fee is steep when added to the price of the room. As we didn't make use of the spa, fitness room etc, probably was more than we needed but it was close to family that we were visiting. Everything was very clean and well-kept. Can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there - sorry.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    195
    91
    47
    41
See reviews for
118
269
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We went to the Miramonte to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were looking for a nice, quite, romantic weekend away and had heard good things about the Miramonte.

The weekend started with them giving us a King Bed Room but it was in a room at the very back of the property and it looked out at the parking lot! No romantic and not acceptable. When we asked to change they told us to wait at that room for a bell boy to show us another room closer to the main pool and gardens. (They warned that all they had were two queen beds and that there were no other kings!) We waited for 20 minutes and no one showed. We called the front desk again from the room and they put us on hold for 10 minutes to check into why no bell boy had arrived. After waiting another 10 minutes on hold, I told my wife to hang up and we took all our luggage back to the car and we drove to the front desk at the hotel. Enough was enough!

They escorted us to a much more acceptable room with two queen beds. It had a nice view of the gardens etc. The room was on the first floor, as they said that there were no second floor rooms available.

At 11pm someone started walking above our room and pacing back and forth. It literally sounded like a horse. It continued until 12:30pm. The floors are paper thin and you can hear everything happening above you! At 6:20am the pacing started again and at 7:30am I called the office to ask them to give a call to ask him to stop the noise. It continued until 8:30am at which point I walked up to the main desk.

I spoke to the manager this time and he apologized and offered to move me to a second floor jr. suite right away. He also offered me a free breakfast for two. I thought that this was fair compromise and my wife and I moved into the new room which again was very nice and had a balcony.

At 6:00am the next morning we heard the phone ring next door. It was loud and clear and we could hear the whole conversation. The walls are paper thin it turns out. That didn't last too long and we were thankful but at 7:00am we started to hear pigeons cooing outside on our balcony. Two pigeons lived under the rafters and there was plenty of cooing (even with the windows tightly closed) and poop on the deck! Since this was our last day I didn't bother mentioning anything to the manager. What's the point there isn't much he could do at that point.

If you want quiet relaxation then this isn't the place for you!!!

The main pools (they even have an adult's only pool) are advertised as heated. Let me assure you, they were NOT! Unless you consider about 78-80 degrees heated. On a cold winter day in Indian Wells 78-80 degrees doesn't qualify for a heated pool. Not one guest used the pools although they did sit out by the pools and did use the jacuzzi's. When they have the audacity to add on a daily resort fee of $25 per day/per room they had better have heated pools! That's just silly that they didn't!

There are some positives to the property. The spa is very nice and they have nicely heated pools. The only problem is that you have to pay $30 additional dollars per person to access these nicely heated pools and amenities or you have to have a massage etc.

The grounds are beautiful and the gardens are equally beautiful.

Its just a shame that such a beautiful place really isn't so wonderful or polished behind the scenes. This could have been a wonderful spot. But I refuse to pay top dollar for a romantic hideaway that doesn't let me relax, sleep and swim in comfort.

Just one persons opinion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This hotel was nice but it has much more potential. It is far from Palm Springs and kind of in the middle of nowhere. But it could be a destination on its own if there was more attention to detail. The noise at night made it difficult to sleep. The walls seem paper thin between the rooms and I could hear the next door guests talking until late. The pool area is nice and the hotel is overall clean. I thought it was expensive for what it was though.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Our room adjoined another room occupied by strangers. The door between the two rooms was so thin, we could hear everything. This included the guy next door vomiting all morning as we tried to read the Sunday papers. The pool, the spa, the restaurant--what's any of that matter if you can't get a good night's sleep?

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I really wanted to like the hotel a better rating because I really loved the Italian villa grounds and the smaller two story buildings. They also have a separate pool/hot tub for adults that is very nice especially after reading so many reviews on "kids running everywhere" at neighboring hotels. But.....the interiors are medioocre like a Comfort Inn. The bathrooms are outdated showing their age with patches on the tub, wallpaper peeling and door paint peeling. When the neigbors turned on shower it sounded as if someone was pounding on the wall. And the shower itself put out so much water the drain could not drain properly and you ended up standing in inches of water and the shower curtain would not stay in place to keep the water from going all over the bathroom. A regular fridge would be nice instead of a locked fridge. My recommendation is to spend more money on the interiors...the resort fee should be for that! I think there are other 4 star Indian Wells hotels that would offer better both inside/outside features for the money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Beautiful gardens and pool areas.. imagine an Italian pavilion at Epcot Centre.. but the rooms are a disappointment. Old motor lodge type construction with parking encircling the property (no interior corridors) you can literally park in front of your door. Small bathroom with florescent lighting that buzzed along with a loud exhaust fan on the same switch. Outdated fixtures etc. 42" flat panel TV with no HD programming.. what's the point? Certainly not on par with the other resorts in Indian Wells. No disclosure of the $25.00 resort fee until I asked. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We've stayed in Palm Springs half a dozen times before discovering Miramonte. The resort reminds us of an Italian countryside, the gardens are luxurious, the pool is clean and quiet, the food is impeccable, fresh from the hotel's own gardens, the room is big with it's own balcony, the beds are comfortable, the atmosphere is elegant and at the same time relaxing. There is not a hint of snobishness that some 4 star hotels can't help to exude. The staff is unobtrusive, yet caring, the management is always present to give help or advise. The shopping is the best in Palm Springs area and any time you feel like going, the shuttle service takes you there. Most importantly, the staff makes you feel like you're their only guest. We'll be back with our adult kids and I'm sure they'll bring their kids some day. We've stayed in many expensive and prestigious hotels around the world and found Miramonte among the best of the best.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miramonte Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramonte Resort & Spa

Address: 45000 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramonte Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Indian Wells, 15 miles from Palm Springs, the AAA Four Diamond 215 room Miramonte Resort & Spa features a world-class day spa with nearby championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Miramonte Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramonte Resort And Spa
Miramonte Hotel Indian Wells
Miramonte Resort Indian Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramonte Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.