We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, overcrowded and noisy pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“great service, overcrowded and noisy pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

The service here is so impeccable that I hate writing anything negative about the hotel. Everyone bent over backwards to see that we wanted for nothing, the service was so phenomenal it was like a 5 star hotel from that perspective. The room and bathroom were lovely and the food better than most hotels at this level. So what is the negative?: The pool.....it was so packed (and this was the middle of summer when it is almost 110 degrees) it was hard to find a chair and the chairs are so close together it was hard to walk. I felt bad for the servers who wove their way in and out. The pool was mediocre (and it's not 5 pools as the website says-its one big pool area broken up with concrete walkways) and not very clean. Clearly a family hotel, it was wall to wall kids with all sorts of things in the pool which made it even more crowded. If you have kids, this would be a great place. If you want to relax, it's a big no....

  • Liked — Service, room
  • Disliked — pool, noisiness, crowded
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    317
    100
    51
    35
See reviews for
248
226
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

We recently returned from a weekend stay at another hotel that was pricier than this one and realized what a wonderful stay we had at the Esmeralda.

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of March. We found this hotel to be extremely kid-friendly from the beginning when our daughter was given a goody bag at check-in.

The room was very comfortable and clean. Since it faced the central open courtyard we thought it would be noisy but it wasn't.

The pool was perfect. Not too deep and quite big. We could always find chairs and there were numerous floating mats to be had. The small beach area was a big hit and they even provided sand toys. We were very impressed with the poolside food service. It was efficient, courteous, and the food was hot on arrival. They also had a number of healthier options!

While we were there, they had a "dive-in" movie which was a big hit with our daughter. She got to watch a movie from the pool and lounge in a pool chair. What a treat!

We were also very impressed by the on-site restaurant. They had a kids eat free policy so we never paid for our daughter's food and they brought her a special dessert for her birthday.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a quick LA getaway. I think it would be fabulous in the heat of the summer because the rates go down and the pool is great.

  • Liked — Great service and pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

This is the best Resort I have stayed at. The Italian Sirocco Rest. was the best I have ever eaten at! The rooms were elegent and the staff very accomodating a friendly.
The pool had a great feel, not the kids that the other review showed? A great stay....

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

The Renaissance Esmeralda Resort and Spa is located at the edge of Palm Springs, on extensive grounds and with all of the glitter that you would expect of a five-star Marriott property. The hotel, located half an hour from the airport, is built around a large and airy interior atrium, which opens onto a vast pool area. There is an attached golf course, and the hotel looks geared towards the convention and meeting trade with entry-level shops and starbucks, large lower-level meeting rooms, and spacious executive rooms. The staff is friendly, attentive, and visible: you seldom go anywhere without being greeted with a smile. The restaurants are quick and efficient, and the food is good. ***

Check-in is handled attentively in a separate lobby to the far right of the main entrance: clerks are calling out to help as you enter the lobby. There are large public and promonade spaces leading to the guest elevators, and rooms are arranged around the large atrium and on wings extending around the pool area. The rooms are large and comfortable, outfitted in warm desert tones with firm beds, large working desk, TV, minibar, and a small porch. The bathroom is large, with the toilet in a separate alcove from the main washbasins and shower-tub. The water is slow to warm up and of moderate pressure, they have a large array of toiletries included on the counter. ***

All in all, this should be a 4-star property: however, there are innumerable little things that they just don't get. Coffee in the room was only replaced every couple of days; towels were taken away without being replaced (I had to chase down the maid), At meals, the fish was somewhat dry and there never seemed to be a sauce: we couldn't get the waiter to bring wine for dinner. The pool bar closed at 9 pm one day, 4 pm the next (there is a small and grumpy bar just inside from the pool and a large adult's-only lounge with music and dancing further inside the hotel). Public telephones had been removed from the meeting area; there was a 9.95 per day charge for in-room internet access. The golf course is dug up for rennovation. ***

Unusually, the weekdays and weekend that we were there, the hotel was absolutely filled with small children (<10 y.o.). I love kids, but in this case they completely overwhelmed the pool (they show cartoon movies for an in-pool party each evening), the public areas, and the elevators. Coupled with several large weddings also on the property, the hotel can feel very busy and crowded despite the extensive spaces. ***

It was surprising to find so many small lapses in a property with the infrastructure and staff in place to be so much better: avoid rooms overlooking the pool and plan on having cocktails early...

  • Liked — Facilities, staff
  • Disliked — Internet fees, spotty room service, strange restaurant service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

I stayed here with my girlfriend over memorial day weekend and I needed a vacation after this vacation. if you are not bringing your children here for a family experience, this is not the place to stay. We had an idea we were in trouble when we checked in and the front desk clerk looked extremely surprised when we informed her that we only needed two wristbands for the pool and had no children with us. When we arrived at the pool, there were no chairs available - not a single one. The hotel workers eventually began bringing additional chairs to the grassy area just outside of the pool gates. However, there were still more people looking for a place to sit than available chairs. When we finally were able to have extra chairs brought out and put ourstuff down, we wanted to go in the pool to avoid the heat since there was no umbrella's for shade. Sitting in the pool was more stressful than a day at work. Kids were everywhere: screaming, throwing toys, crying, yelling, laughing, splashing, jumping, playing, etc. While the parents and their children seemed to be having a good time, there was not a relaxing moment to be found. Additionally, as a previous review stated, they was an very mixed crowd of people and english was definitely the second language being used. This did not bother me at all, it just seemed like we were in another country. Finally, in regards to the guests, the crowded and hot environment led to there being some horrible acting people, I am not sure if they act this way under normal circumstances, but many of the the guests seemed ready to explode at any moment. The pool experience was the same for the 2 days we were there.

The rooms are fine, nothing special, but clean and the beds were comfortable. Parking was easy. The hotel itself is a very nice property. However, if you want a calm and relaxing experience, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Checked in recently on Saturday in the afternoon. After settling in the room, we went down to the pool area to relax, what a mistake! The pool area was covered with trash and food floating in the pool. We were unable to get service for refreshment, because of lack of staff. They were working extremely hard but simply not able to keep up with the volume of people, trash pick up was for the same reason.It was quite obvious that for relaxation you should not pick this property on the weekend, just too many kids, its fine for the family with kids. Since renovation, the room was nicely done and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The property claims to have adult pool area, but separation was not clearly defined and it was free for all. Sunday was wonderful, it was like a different hotel.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Dirty pool area and noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

As I live in northern San Diego, I often visit the Palm Springs/Palm Desert/La Quinta area, but only when I can get a bargain deal on a room. I've stayed in most of the nicer hotels in the area, and to me, this one is one of the very best - especially if you can pick it up for a nice rate on Priceline or Hotwire.

The rooms are not large, but very nicely appointed, and the service is excellent. The common areas are beautiful, and the pool, with an artificial beach on one end, and an attractive bar/grill on the other end, is quite nice. It's in the midst of the well regarded Indian Wells Golf resort, but I don't golf, so I can't speak to that. As for the on-site restaurants, I don't have an opinion, because the surrounding area is loaded with great restaurants that offer excellent, varied choices.

  • Liked — Rooms, Pool, Service
  • Disliked — no issues, really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.