We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location - Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is very comfortable. The lobby and guest rooms are decorated nicely and the pool area is large. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I always like to give both pros and cons so here we go... Pros- Good location in Indian Wells - adjacent to Hyatt Grand Champions which is also a great place to stay - with a golf club in the middle so if you like to golf it's all right there. They also have tennis courts and underground free self parking which is a huge plus in the summer. The beds are very comfortable and our room overlooking the golf course was very quiet. The area between the pool and lobby has different levels with seating areas perfect to sit around in the evening with friends and a drink! The fitness center is well equipped and towels and water are provided. Just down the street is a Starbucks and a little further is a great place called The River with many really good restaurants, a huge movie theatre and some shops. There is also a Ralphs nearby to stock up on snacks and drinks for your mini fridge provided in the room. They also provide flavored water throughout the lobby and fitness areas which is a nice touch. The cons - everything seemed a bit smeary - door handles, elevator doors, windows. That extra clean touch of a 4 or 5 star hotel was lacking a little in the common areas. The pool is only 3 FEET DEEP everywhere - even though it's sectioned off, there is no "deep " end anywhere. Hard to stay submerged - more like a wading pool- my son scraped his back severely on the bottom just by pushing off the rim backwards. Now if you have a small child - this could count as a pro for you. There is also a sand beach front entry on one side and a 1 ft. deep rectangular pool area for the really wee ones. There is only 1 place for breakfast on site and it's very pricey and just not very good. Even the pancakes were kind of chewy - that's why I mentioned the nearby Starbucks - a much better and cheaper option. There is also a bagel place a little farther down than Starbucks and on the opposite side of the street.
Overall this is a really good place to stay for a couple of days in the desert.

Room Tip: If you go in the off season (summer) and they have availability, they will often sell you a second r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    349
    108
    56
    38
See reviews for
286
249
30
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were here from Monday through Friday for a school conference. Overall, this place was spectacular. I gave it a four instead of a five, because I felt the lobby dinner prices could have been a bit more reasonable. However, this place was awesome. The rooms are very spacious and we were lucky to be on the fourth floor with a balcony room overlooking the pool - be sure to ask for this. My kids loved playing cards on the balcony at night. Also, we loved asking for turn down service at night when we left for dinner. Housekeeping would come, at no charge, and take out garbage and pool towels, and get beds ready for the night. Loved this place. We ate at the lounge one night. Sushi was awesome, prices for the other food was a bit high and no happy hour deals, but that was the only one bad thing. Everything else was absolutely superb!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony looking over pool (Room 4070 for us)
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
427 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

No strangers to the Marriott family of products, we believed this to be one of the best properties in the Marriott chain. Okay, so maybe the Marriott Ocean Club on Maui and the Arc de Triomphe in Paris were just a bit higher in our ranking but this was certainly up there with the best Marriott has to offer.

Coming in here on a www.TravelZoo.com offer, we snapped this deal up in a heart beat. We are Marriott faithful fans (through-and-through) so, this fit in perfectly with our grand travel (family oriented) plans. What a treat!!

The property grounds will knock your socks off. The pool (with its own beach) is the biggest we've ever seen. The property interior has all the bells and whistles to be expected from a 5 star resort. This is a paradise.

Favorite places we found to grab a quick meal or a great dessert were Café Biscotti and Glo. Café Biscotti offers great grab 'n go breakfasts and their healthy brown bread turkey sandwiches ($7) are over-the-top great. After dinner tonight, we enjoyed a $22 "fondue for 2" dark and milk chocolate died-and-gone-to-heaven dips for 9 different treats (fresh fruits to sinful other non-fruits). Paired with chocolate martinis, we did, in fact, make it to the threshold of heaven.

Wait staff is courteous, attentive, and friendly. We loved that the assistant at Café Biscotti ordered down to the prep kitchen for sandwiches we wanted (but were sold out). What service!

I am racking my brain trying to think of something to criticize and all I could come up with is that the parking garage has no gate so anyone can come and park and enjoy the amenities here. The pool gates are likewise open to the public. Hotel security says this is a work in progress.

The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. We observed a maintenance man going down the halls today with a cart containing several cans of paint and a paint roller in his hand. That explains why this beautiful property always looks so fresh and clean and free of blemishes.

The fitness room is huge and actually has enough treadmills so no one needs to wait. There's so much of everything that the visitor feels they are actually at a health club rather than a hotel facility.

The gift shop is located just a door or two down from Cafe Biscotti and has everything from snacks and ice cream to darling designer clothing and jewelry (some items on sale for 75% off).

This is a Cadillac property in every respect. This will be high on our list of repeat performances. Good job, Marriott!

Room Tip: Pool view, upper floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks; you made our day! Please do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort and Spa and were very happy with our stay. Corner rooms (7122) are large, clean and beautiful. The pools are huge and have enough room so that you don't feel crowded! There is even a sandy beach leading into one of them. We had a problem with our first stay and contacted the management, who immediately responded and invited us back to stay at their expense. Everything was wonderful! Friendly staff, many dining options, and blissful poolside days!

Room Tip: the corner rooms are larger than all the others (except for the suites). Corner rooms are Junior Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I spent the 4th of July holiday at this wonderful resort. Beautifully landscaped grounds and amenities. Terrific poolside area for any guest- this resort embraces children and provides their own small pool! They have a very comfortable and inviting cabana area which offers grilled hamburgers and street tacos very reasonably priced- and delicious.
The inside public areas are spacious and provide many sitting areas and a large bar area with large screen televisions.
Upon entering the hotel, an attendant offers you a wonderful strawberry/basil iced tea and a little brownie snack. Very nice touch.
Reception area is right off the front entry and the attendants are very personable and assist you quickly.
The rooms are a nice size and we had a larger balcony. We enjoyed it in the coolness of the morning and evening. The bath area is large and offers Aveda products.
Resort well placed in community- many fine restaurants and shopping ( Ell Paseo) nearby.
This is our second stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room- they have the larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for the Fourth of July weekend. It is a beautiful resort, but unfortunately the pool area was overly crowded. You have to get up at 6:00 a.m. to reserve your lounge chair or they will all be taken. There's an inadequate number of umbrellas to provide shade and guests would have to fight for them.

The service at the pool was spotty. You have to bus your own tables because they do not pick up your dirty plates. The pool wait staff was inexperienced and did not know the prices of the drinks or who was covering which area. Paying $9.50 for a well drink of rum and Coke is very expensive! The lunch special of 4 tacos for $10 was very good! They were not skimpy with the meat portions.

I must say that the pool boys worked very hard and would drag the umbrellas to various areas as requested. They were sweating in the scorching desert sun and work hard for their tips with a smile.

The guestrooms are very nice. They have installed new mattresses throughout the hotel which are very comfortable. I like the fact that the TVs are equipped with a media panel that allows for various connections such as attaching your laptop DVD player to the TV. They provide the necessary cables in the desk drawer so you do not need to request them.

The spa was very nice. I received an excellent massage from Carlos. It was one of the best massages I have had and I highly recommend him.

Within walking distance is the Vue restaurant located at the country club next door. They have a great happy hour. The view from there is excellent and the waitstaff is very good. I would recommend you go there for happy hour or dinner.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon, easy check in. Upon arrival to our room it smelled like smoke, called and poof new corner room smoke free! Great pool and Tony at the pool bar was awesome! It was crazy busy and he kept his calm and a smile all while remembering faces and orders. Don't lose him. Had a fun time

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your great comments and we appreciate your special mention of Tony and his excellent service! We're sorry for the issue with your original room but delighted to know it was handled quickly. Incidentally, we are a non-smoking resort. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
Westin Desert Willow Villas
Westin Desert Willow Villas
#2 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Miramonte Resort & Spa
Miramonte Resort & Spa
#3 of 4 in Indian Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
#4 of 4 in Indian Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.