We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a Three and a Half” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
LA, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really a Three and a Half”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent four days over Thanksgiving Weekend at this resort. We did not use the spa. The Renaissance has the bones (and a bit more) of a luxury hotel. We paid a little extra for a corner room which was spacious and comfortable for three people. The bathroom was big enough although not very luxurious (normal bathtub). We would have liked some chairs out on our patio overlooking the golf course. We did not like the beds; they are worn, too soft, and tired. The amenities offered by the hotel were fine. We liked the pool area and the fire pits in the evening. We appreciated the fruit water and jars of good candy at the registration desk area. The staff was very welcoming and pleasant. Even the restaurant was surprisingly good (but very expensive for lunch). The resort was very quiet and if there were any daily activities we were not made aware of such. The main floor seemed to have several unused storefronts. There did not seem to be much activity or reason to stay around the hotel except for the pool.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious but they will be pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    267
    91
    49
    32
See reviews for
215
196
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What an oasis only a couple hours away from LA!! The Renaissance Esmeralda Is such a beautiful, relaxing resort hotel and all the employees are friendly and want to make your experience a memorable one. We had a nice room overlooking the golf course and enjoyed sitting out by the fire pit in the evening. They had a nice pool and fitness room but we were too busy relaxing and unfortunately didn't use either during our two day stay. The restaurant onsite had a very nice breakfast buffet and prime rib buffet. I highly recommend it and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: The resort is large with something like 550 rooms so let them know when you check in if you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This property is located adjacent to the Hyatt Indian Wells, which we have stayed at before. It pales in comparison to the Hyatt. First, the pool area is in need of a serious redesign in the common area and pool spaces. The tiles and pavers look worn and I found some craggy edges while walking. Overall, the outisde looked rundown. Further, the roof looked old and is in need of updating. The resort is patrolled by security who utilizes an arbitrary protocol when ensuring that people accessing the pool are guests. In other words, if you look like you could be a local, they will use gestapoesque questioning to ascertain that you belong at the hotel. I was stopped and despite providing my key to the individual inquring, he proceded to ask various other clarfiying questions. This was not asked of any other guests that went ahead of me.

The rooms at this facility are adequate and clean. The saving grace to this hotel is the service staff at the restaurants and the downstairs lounges. We ate at all the locations on site and were particularly impressed with the buffett breakfast and bar areas. Unlike the front desk and management personnel, the waiting staff and housekeeping staff are top notch. We did tour the spa facility but found that it was not what we were looking for and instead went and had our massage and facials at the Hyatt.

One nice touch to the hotel were the various water stations featuring fruit flavored waters. I won't be back to this resort, though it is not the worst I have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We so appreciate your feedback and will pass on your lovely comments about our housekeeping and dining teams. They will appreciate it very much. Our engineering department will also check our pool deck. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry to hear the design of the pool area and our spa facilities did not hit the mark. Whether you do change your mind and decide to visit us again or select another great property, we hope you will come back to Indian Wells and enjoy our glorious California desert climate. Happy Holidays to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed one night in two adjoining rooms - one for our kids - one for us!
I was impressed by how big the rooms were and how clean! Very functional with a nice little balcony!
The bathroom is spaceous and very modern! Great layout of the room!
Bed very comfortable and a couple of different pillows to choose from.
We went to the lounge bar and even though they had a huge crowd at the bar we did not have to wait for more than 5 min to get our drinks!
Nice little bar-menu - Dinner at Scirocco - man - what a place! Brian their Sommelier loves his job - you can tell! He is so knowledgeable and very professional!
Great atmosphere overlooking the lake with little fountains!

Breakfast buffet is an absolute MUST - they even have a juice bar where the kids could make their own juices (plenty of vegetables and fruit to choose from), warm pastries, omlette station - pancakes, waffles, nice yoghurt selection, cereal - and very prompt service!

Overall a wonderful resort - pool is heated in the winter - so the kids can play on the sandy "beach".

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the resort - away from highway 111!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Yes that's right, I said beach fun. This resort has a small beach with sand that kids can play with and make sand castles which is connected to the main pool. My kids had a ball. In the summer they offer movie nights where you can lounge in the pool and soak In the hot summer nights. Rooms are clean, adequate size and if you can get a corner unit then even better, as they are more spacious. The Gym is complete with up to date cardio and weight lifting equipment and they offer a group class a day complimentary (ie Pilates, yoga or swim aerobics.). We all had a great time and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed one night in a standard room adjacent to another with my brother and his wife on a whim by searching Priceline and getting a great room rate. The room was beautiful and spotless and huge. We had courtyard views which were fine with us, as they offered us rooms with golf or pool views for an upcharge. This is an enormous hotel and we like to walk, so getting to and from the pool area was good exercise. The property is very beautiful and the area is well-landscaped. The service at the bar and and at Cava and Sirocco were excellent. The food was good, too. It was a bit expensive, but that was to be expected at such a beautiful destination. Not having to drive after dinner and drinks was a big plus for us.
The beds and lines were top-notch and the Wifi worked well. It seemed a lot of the furnishings had been recently upgraded in the public areas, as they were comfortable and beautiful. I loved seeing the pool lounges being so clean and the area was all spotless. The Marriott Shadow Ridge seems a bit run down by comparison, with dirty lounge chairs and old appliances in the time-share rooms. I like to see that a 25 year-old luxury property is still being well cared-for, as I admired the hotel back when it was a Stouffer hotel.

Room Tip: Get help with luggage if you cannot walk for 10 minutes to some of the rooms with your bags comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an oasis in the desert area of Palm Springs. A wonderful property with a beautiful pool and lounging area protected from the wind. Helpful and pleasant staff. If you don't get a room overlooking the pool area, you will get a room that looks out onto the fabulous golf course that surrounds the facility. For golf, shopping or simply relaxation, this is a place to go. I've been there for both business meetings and personal time. I'll be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance
Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.