We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the hotel just prior to Labor Day weekend, which was an excellent time to take advantage of low rates. Our room was attractive with a balcony overlooking the golf course and mountains, making for lovely evening views. The atrium center of the hotel can get a little loud due to the bar at the base, but overall, it's a dramatic space. We ate at the restaurant several times, including one dinner and three breakfasts. Dinner menu wasn't extensive but did have some diverse options at a range of prices. Breakfast was excellent--both the buffet option (though a bit expensive) or the a la cart breakfasts (eggs benedict, french toast, etc.)

We both visited the spa, enjoying excellent massages. The spa facilities were extensive, including steam room, relaxation area and outdoor pools. We didn't visit the hotel's large pool area but it seemed quite busy with families. The famed Indian Wells clubhouse is right next door, making the golf easily accessible. The clubhouse has a large and popular restaurant also.

The Indian Wells location is less convenient for day trips and activities in Palm Springs, although nothing is mroe than 30 min. away. It is, however, very close to La Quinta, which offers some wonderful restaurant options. Desk and valet staff were very helpful throughout our visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    335
    105
    55
    38
See reviews for
267
240
29
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance to celebrate my husband's birthday for 2 nights. Although mentioned at check in, dissappointed they did not acknowledge the special day. More significant however, we were surprised to find hairs on the pillows that were dirty from a previous guest !!! We put those dirty pillows aside on a chair wrongly assuming that the pillow covers would be changed the next night. Those same dirty pillows were back on the bed the next day ! I was really disgusted to realize that they most likely did not change the pillow covers at all between guests ! This is not to be tolerated at an upper level resort! Otherwise, the breakfast buffet is good. Pools are shallow, 3-5 ft, So my daughter had scraped her knees on the pool floor :(

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for bringing the housekeeping issue to our attention and please know that it is our standard to change all elements of the bedding each time there is a change in guest room occupants. We are very sorry this was not the case for you and have addressed this with our housekeeping team at once. We love when guests celebrate special occasions with us and feel bad that we did not recognize your husband’s special day. We were also sad to hear about your daughter scraping her knees on the pool floor and hope they are all better now. The breakfast buffet is indeed delicious … we appreciate you sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Decided to take a last minute trip with the family and stayed at the Renaissance Esmeralda. The hotel was great, pool vibe was fun, and everyone was welcoming and helpful especially at the front desk. I would definitely stay again. Thank you front desk team and staff for a fun stay! You've earned a repeat client.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for a fun getaway and overall it was nice- we got a good deal- but it was also early September. The hotel was not too crowded so I am surprised that they didn't put us in a nicer room. There was also a lot of hair on the bathroom floor that was not from us, so that was kinda gross. The doors are paper thin so if you are a light sleeper- be aware!!!! You can hear every conversation going on in the halls when people walk by. The pool is very neat and a fun layout- it definitely beats the other large square pools that I have seen at the other local hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I went last year sometime in the summer, it was AMAZING!!!! the year prior i went to the JW Marriott and loved it as well. i was thinking about staying at the JW again, UNTIL i read all of the reviews! Too many drunk party people. ac went out, roaches.... that's horrible. anyways, The Esmeralda is awesome! beautiful rooms, beautiful views, great hospitality, and NOT a loud obnoxious environment at all!!! anyways, im going back next week and after my stay ill be reviewing it again! im really looking forward to it ! the prices are not bad at all. I booked it today, it was $189 for thursday and $229 for friday. HOWEVER, after resort fees, taxes and everything it came to $541 ! Anyways, i never got a chance to eat at the restaurants my last stay but ill be doing sirrocco cava and glo sushi this time! what i can say is i LOVE their "beach" style pool with sand on one side of it, and i loved that they have a bar poolside! (We dont drink but water and soda ice cold poolside appeals to me) lol

I will be staying in what they descibe as Discovery Views, Larger Guest room, 1 King, Golf view, Corner room, Balcony . its 640sq ft which is a pretty damn good sized room! i stayed in the same room type last trip and the bed was awesome! if it wasnt for the pool i may have never left my room! lol the bathroom was very nice with marble and a great shower nozzle. sorry im being random and vague but this was a last year trip. anyways, THIS trip coming up i am going with the love of my life! i read all the tripadvisor reviews and it looks like "MOST" of you agree with me. this place is great ! ill let you know how next weeks trip goes :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you are coming back with “your special someone” and look forward to your visit. We so appreciate your patronage and feel very honored that you are staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeaDuchess
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked one night's stay to celebrate our second wedding anniversary over Labor Day weekend. We were hoping for a relaxing and romantic atmosphere. What we found couldn't be more the opposite! I acknowledge that staying any where over Labor Day weekend is bound to be busy but what I wasn't prepared for were the amount of small children and babies everywhere! The hotel was very kid friendly-which is absolutely fine- if that's what you're looking for. We just weren't prepared for that. We thought we were going somewhere with more of an adult atmosphere. The pool was full of babies in diapers and it was crowded and cloudy. There were very few available lounge chairs available due to the crowds and strollers (again, I know that it was a busy weekend there due to the holiday. ) It was so crowded in fact, that at check-in we were given color coded wrist bracelets to act as our pass into the pool area.
I think what surprised me most was that I alerted the front desk that we were celebrating a special occasion and it wasn't even acknowledged by the hotel or the staff. Other places we have stayed have sent a special dessert at dinner or strawberries up to our room to help celebrate but that didn't happen at the Renaissance.
The room itself was comfy and and spacious with a nice modern decor. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked very well to combat the 110 degree temperatures outside. I really don't have any complaints about amenities.
Our one night's stay was advertised for 225$ but our total bill for the room alone was closer to $300 after resort fees, parking, taxes, etc. Our total bill came to over 420$ mostly because we ordered room service for breakfast. Had I known that our breakfast would be nearly 100$ I would have gone out in town. The surcharge for room service was astronomical! It was quite an expensive night for us. We aren't wealthy but wanted to do something nice for our anniversary. I was disappointed that we spent so much money and it wasn't a great experience.
All in all we won't likely stay at the Renaissance again. It was just too costly for what we experienced. Next time we will look for somewhere that's a little more relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we would firstly like to wish you a belated happy anniversary. We are always very honored when guests select our resort to celebrate special occasions and we apologize that we did not recognize your very special day as we normally do. Labor Day weekend is indeed a very busy time at the resort and the pool is very popular with families over holidays. We are very happy that you enjoyed your guest room experience and have tried to offer value with our resort fee which includes high speed Internet access, local and 800 calls, bottled waters daily, 24-hour fitness center access, daily fitness classes, self-parking, resort bicycles and golf bag storage. We hope you will consider another visit one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've stayed here a few times, and there are many great things about the property. First, they keep it well maintained, and the building feels solid - you don't hear much from other rooms or hallways. Also, because there aren't other tall buildings nearby, most rooms should have a pretty clear view of the hills and mountains, the golf course, or the pool. All are fine. a few would look over the parking lot, which wouldn't be ideal, but even then you'll still see mountains.

The pool is pretty big, with a sandy shore on one end that kids love, and there's a bar right at the pool, almost in the center (but not in the water). There are plenty of options for shade or sun, and couple of hot tubs, as well. A fitness center off the pool is pretty complete, and there's a sauna in the locker rooms.

The poolside restaurant is nothing great, but not bad, and the lobby has a surprisingly lively sushi restaurant scene.

You're next door to the Hyatt and an easy 2 minute drive from stores and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.