We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great for Golf, Walks, Pool and Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Location great for Golf, Walks, Pool and Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you want to be walking distance to a great golf course, this is a perfect spot to stay. The grounds surrounding the hotel are very well maintained with beautiful flowers, and landscaping. The resort borders the updated Indian Wells golf course, which has a great new clubhouse and wonderful facilities. We played the Celebrity course and many of the holes had wonderful views. The hotel pool was pretty crowded though as it was spring break for some schools, so you had to "reserve" your poolside spots early as people started leaving items on chairs by 9am to hold them for later. The hotel "resort fee" includes tennis (racquets and balls are free upon request), bikes, etc., which was nice. However, there are only 2 courts and both need to be resurfaced but are fine for non-serious tennis and they were getting lots of use. Food at the poolside is expensive and just so-so for what you spend. The lobby area had lots of activity in the evening and the fire pits outside at night created a nice ambience with the couch-type furniture, etc. The rooms are nicely appointed with a good sized bathroom, and Aveda personal care products.

Room Tip: Views of the golf course are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    291
    94
    50
    33
See reviews for
228
206
25
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our room had a big roach and i asked for our room to be changed. A service person came and didn't even bother to ask where the roach was and gave us keys to another room. we went to the other room and the bedsheets had real bad stains. it was 9:30pm and we didn't want to change our room a 2nd time. so we ended up spending the night there. All the rooms had a pretty beat up refrigerator.. which surprised me since this is a category 6 hotel.

We get back home and i see that i was charged twice for the stay.. so instead of $500, i was charged $1051. I called accounting twice to get this resolved and the accounting lady was the rudest person i have ever come across. i tried to resolve this issue with her in a polite manner but she had no customer service skills. I am basically just going to dispute the charge with my credit card company now.

I am so dissapointed in marriott overall. being a Gold Elite member i had better expectations for customer service.. Never ever will i stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate your comments very much and apologize for the challenges with your guest room. We will address the issue with your room charge at once and make sure it is corrected, in addition to the customer service reference with our accounting department. We are deeply sorry as your satisfaction is our number one goal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thank you for a $350 a night corner room with a view of the valet and parking lot, thank you for a $12.00 watered down Mai Tai at the pool. Most of all thank you for taking the curtains out of your rooms putting in really cool hurricane sliders that don't block the sun, wake you at sunrise and allow you to look out over the parking lot really early and head to the pool before everyone else for a watered down $12.00 Mai Tai. Just, thank you. Won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The majority of our guest rooms provide panoramic views of the golf course, pool and mountain vistas and we are sorry that the view you had did not meet your expectations. Additionally, we want to assure you that we do not water down any of our drinks and are very sad to hear that it did not taste as you had expected. Our goal is to provide a great experience for our guests and we sincerely hope that you will consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights during BNP tennis tournament. We had a room on the 5th floor with a beautiful view of golf course and mountains. The hotel is very convenient for the tournament because of the shuttle which runs frequently. The breakfast buffet was great and the lunch we had by the pool was also very good. The pool area is large and very pretty. We practiced and played golf and the golf facilities were a walk away which made it very convenient for us. The service was excellent throughout. The only reasons I would not rate it 5 stars is that I think it is pricey especially with the extra resort fee and for that money I think the rooms could be more luxurious, more drawer space for clothes, bathrobe provided and better towels.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights during a business conference hosted at the hotel. I had a wonderful time, due in large part to the upgraded room they assigned to me as a gold member. I had room 4057 which is a corner room on the 4th floor facing south over a pond and a golf green. The room was larger than standard and had a balcony with sliding door. The evening weather allowed me to keep the door open all night. It was quiet, no bugs, very safe (4th floor above a water pond) and perfect temperature for sleeping.

The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel facilities were mostly good. I used the fitness center one day and it was fairly typical of a renaissance although could have used a few more weight machines. I didn't use the restaurants but the catered food at the business events was good.

One morning I jogged the golf course before sunrise and it was outstanding. Perfect temperature, beautiful scenery. I think this would not be allowed during the day as the trail is used by golf carts. I did not golf but the course appeared above average in scenery and maintenance.

Judging by the exterior of the hotel and the positions of the other rooms I would guess that 50% of all rooms have great views (mountains, golf course, etc.), 30% are decent, and 20% may be just ok (buildings, parking lot). If I had a standard room looking out to the front parking lot I would not give this a 5-star rating. I recommend the upgraded rooms which have additional corner views and 50% more room space. I believe all rooms have balconies.

Note about location... this hotel is located at the opposite end of Palm Springs from the airport, and neither the hotel or the airport are directly on a freeway entrance. There are stoplights all through Palm Springs. Although it is only about 10 miles from the airport to this hotel, it took 30 minutes each way with many (20+) stops.

In addition, the Palm Springs airport is overstuffed during the peak spring travel season. At my departure in March it took 40 minutes to get through airport security. It was the worst airport departure I've encountered in years.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the pool, especially with kids, you may want to request a room near the "poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at the Esmeralda during the BNP tennis tourney, was very busy but it never seemed to crowded. First room they gave us had a annoying humming noise and made it hard to sleep or relax. They came and changed our room despite the hotel being full, after that room was comfortable and quiet. Nice coffee shop and restaurants. Good location. Golf is nice but there is better in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that we are not frequent travelers to Palm Springs so I don't have a sense of the overall lodging situation. As noted in my other reviews, we are very discerning about our hotels and typically will stay at Four Seasons/Mandarin Oriental level properties. Given that we paid comparable rates for the Renaissance Esmeralda, I was expecting a comparable experience to the aforementioned properties. Unfortunately this property absolutely cannot compete in that category, either from a facilities or service perspective. A disclaimer that it could be we paid higher rates than typical given we were going during the BNP Open, a peak time.

Positives: Expansive grounds with a HUGE pool facility including a very cute beach area for children. My kids loved this. Surprisingly, the food was also fantastic. We did the seafood buffet for dinner on Friday night and it was actually quite good. The breakfast buffet is also very well done, including fantastic self-serve juicing machines that let you turn an array of veggies and fruit in to fresh juice. We were there for the BNP Open, and the location cannot be beat if that's what you're there for. They have a free shuttle that goes back and forth, and it was very punctual and well-run.

Negatives: The rooms themselves and the hallways are old and not well-maintained. The room appeared to have been relatively recently updated, but in a very cheap and not detail-oriented way. You could see that they pretty much kept the old room but threw new wallpaper up and put in newish furniture. But there was nothing remarkable or even memorable about this room. For $500 I expected much more. The bathroom floors were an inexpensive tile, and there was only a tiny tub with a showerhead. No fans in the bathroom. We could hear the people above us running their shower. The bathroom faucets did not work properly. Bottled water was not refreshed for the second day. There was an extra charge for internet.

If you like the big hotel experience, and given the probable lack of better options, you're going to be just fine at this place, particularly if you don't plan to spend much time in your room. The common areas such as the ground floor bar, pool bar, and pool terrace are all quite lovely and you feel like you're in a bigger town like Vegas the way it's all set-up. So if that's the feel you're looking for, you won't be disappointed. However, if you're looking for outstanding service, beautiful rooms, and a 5-star experience, this is not the property for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our dining outlets, grounds and other public areas and we love to hear that your children had a great time at the pool! We really appreciate your feedback on the guest rooms and are sorry that they did not exceed your expectations. We are so fortunate to have the BNP Paribas Open in our backyard and are delighted that you were able to attend this world-class event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.