We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service anywhere, beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
fort McMurray
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best service anywhere, beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Out of our annual tropical vacations, the Renaissance shined above all the rest. From the minute we arrived in Indian wells, and found our hotel (which was very easy) and the friendly staff and celebrity guests who were both at valet entrance upon arrival, it was really a great experience right from the start. This upscale hotel has the best service we have ever experienced, every single person from the valets, front desk, the restaurants, lounge and housekeeping were all over the top with friendliness and personality. Our room was also modern, unqiuely designed and had a wonderful view of the pool. It was also quite large and comfortable and you couldnt even hear the nearby highway.

Tony in the lounge went above and beyond to make my husband's birthday and our overall experience truly special and memorable. We dined at all of the restaurants on site and really enjoyed our fine dining experience, the healthy breakfast menu and our nightly visits to the comfortable, open lounge area.

The hotel caters to golfers and vacationers but it has a lively environment and a great pool for families as well. The hotel was filled with a wide range of celebrities, pro golfers, snowbird travellers, couples and families over the 5 day stay, and it had such a postitive great energy, everyone staying there seemed to be in good spirits the whole time. We have stayed at many upscale hotels in the caribbean and across canada and the US , but this hotel is one of the best.

Our Golf experience was also second to none. Indian Wells golf course was beautiful, picturesque and a welcoming fun challenge on the trip. Even being a barely average golfer, the course was just the right amount of challenging and was still a lot of fun.

We had never been to palm springs before, it truly is a warm, inviting oasis in the desert and such a peaceful, laid back city. We absolutely loved it. The shopping is second to none (even compared to vegas) and designer consignment was also a welcome and wonderful shopping experience. The only real surprise we had was taking the aerial tram and finding cold air and snow up at the top, we weren't quite prepared for that, but the view and the ride up were great.

We highly recommend a weekend getaway from the winter to palm springs at the Renaissance Esmeralda

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor pool view room. The view is great! These rooms are a bit of a walk from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so pleased to hear that your visit to our resort was a highlight and delighted that you had a chance to explore our awesome desert community and discover some of our very favorite things to see and do. We will pass on your kind words to Tony and a belated Happy Birthday to your husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    267
    91
    49
    32
See reviews for
216
196
25
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What's not to love about this hotel? Spacious rooms, an array of restaurants (that are not ridiculously expensive) great pool and gym, on site day spa... All you could need and more!

My only advice is to check if the resort fee is included in your room fee. Resort fee will cover pool, wifi, etc. We stayed in winter and as part of a group booking, so had no idea that this resort fee existed. There is a note in the hotel guide in the room that wifi is included free, even though the Internet will ask you to click to accept $12.95 fee. It also says that the charge is included in your resort fee, and you won't see this on your account. I called reception before accepting, and was given the same information, so you can imagine my surprise when seven days later, I have nearly $100 of Internet charges. The receptionist solution? "if you don't want to pay $12.95 Internet fee, I could just charge you $28 per day resort fee". Now, why would I want her to do that? I must say I was taken aback at her attitude and what she thought was an appropriate solution. After five minutes, and me explaining multiple times what had happened, she huffed and said she would remove four of six Internet charges. So it still cost me almost $30 that I hadn't expected and I believe is misleading information and false advertising (in all print material in room, and on line, no where does it say that the resort fee is optional and you might not have it included in your room rate). Disappointing, as otherwise, it was a great stay.

If you have time, I recommend eating in Sirocco (food is fabulous, staff are very knowledgable and friendly), and treating yourself to a facial in the on site spa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel after being "walked" from another resort that we had booked with other couples. They all got rooms, we didn't. I was in a very foul mood when I arrived to check in. The young man at the front desk quickly changed my mood. He made me laugh, and said he hoped We would be wowed at this resort and not want to return to the other one. Our room was wonderful. We were off the atrium, so it was very quiet. The bar and fire pits were very fun and relaxing. Thanks for trying to turn our vacation around! You did a great job!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We’re so delighted our team put you at ease and that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities, although it sounds as though the start of your trip was challenging. We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The lobby of this luxury resort was breathtaking. It had an enormous seven story atrium with a dramatic circular wood staircase that descended toward a wall of glass overlooking the terrace and outdoor pools. It was visually stunning but the monumental scale of the space and the lack of ornamentation made the atmosphere feel somber and somewhat sterile. The exterior was much more inviting with lush landscaping, two meticulously maintained 18 hole golf courses, a terrace with cozy sitting areas and fire pits. The pool complex had two small jetted hot pools and three swimming pools: a shallow children's pool, one with a sandy beach entrance, and one with a cascading wall of water.

Rooms were located off of a maze like system of hallways with floor to ceiling windows framing gorgeous views at each turn. We had a south facing room with a private balcony and a spectacular view of the Santa Rosa Mountains. The room was clean and spacious with several nice touches like plantation shutters over the sliding glass doors, a closet with two sided access, and striking bathroom wallpaper covered with photographs of mid century modern buildings. Two minor annoyances with the room: the fitted sheet slipped off the bed during the night which caused the pad to wrinkle up and expose the mattress which was not only uncomfortable but unsanitary. There was a minibar in the room but no refrigerator. There was a sign on the minibar warning guests not to place personal items in it. The sign indicated that the resort had a few refrigerators available and to call the front desk to have one delivered. We were only there for two nights so we didn't think it was worth the trouble.

All in all, our stay was a mixed bag. It was a pleasant place to spend a few days, but once was enough.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, avoid rooms overlooking the atrium or the pool complex. Also, avoid rooms near el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel wants to be an attractive resort hotel but falls short. The housekeeping is more in line a lower level hotel. The amount of towels, soaps, etc., was poor and specific requests only fixed it. The towels looked older and were turning gray.Their website stated they had an executive level with lounge. At check in, when asked, they said they had removed it. The layout and access to elevators isn't good. The staff seemed quite nice and the service in the restaurant was very good. I'd hope so for a $50 breakfast for two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and your experience in Cava. We apologize that you were not initially provided with extra towels and amenities but are glad that our housekeeping department rectified that. We will inspect our towels and make sure they are up to the standard they should be. With regards to our website listing an executive level with lounge, we will review and make sure the information is corrected. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were asked to go back by rooms director after a lacklustre performance by hotel last Christmas,New year.So we went back with a promise of getting it right,couldnt be further from the truth,we booked for 17 nights,room make up was always late despite complaining,always something missing like coffee or water or towels,asked for extra armchair and got a chaise longe,when told they bought a hard backed chair,this continued right through our stay.So we told management this is our last visit,will find another hotel that trys harder next year.
Agreat pity relly as swe have made friends with a lot of the very nice staff there.Marriott neewd to get up to seed at this resort it is very lacklustre for supposedly a four star resort.

Room Tip: Dont bother try Hyatt next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive remarks about our team’s friendliness. We apologize that your room was not refreshed early each day and with the correct amenities. Additionally, we are very sorry that we did not deliver the correct style of chair to your room. Please know that we have shared your comments with our staff as our goal is to provide a true home- away-from-home sanctuary and we realize that we came up short for you in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here in mid-December. This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff, nice large room with a great view, and a comfy bed. The surrounding area is gorgeous and peaceful. Enjoyed several nice breakfasts at their causal restaurant, Cava. Their lemon risotto pancakes are particularly yummy. There was however one big negative which may preclude me from staying at this hotel again and from giving it an excellent rating, and that is that many of the rooms, including mine, face out to a beautiful atrium area where the bar is located. This meant that I could hear loud music, loud talking, singing and bar games that lasted each night til 1 a.m. IF I stayed here again I would know to ask for a room away from the atrium area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy atrium area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind words about our resort and team. The lemon risotto pancakes are indeed yummy! We make every effort to ensure that all elements of your stay are excellent and we very sorry to hear about the noise disturbance. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance
Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.