We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The lobby of this luxury resort was breathtaking. It had an enormous seven story atrium with a dramatic circular wood staircase that descended toward a wall of glass overlooking the terrace and outdoor pools. It was visually stunning but the monumental scale of the space and the lack of ornamentation made the atmosphere feel somber and somewhat sterile. The exterior was much more inviting with lush landscaping, two meticulously maintained 18 hole golf courses, a terrace with cozy sitting areas and fire pits. The pool complex had two small jetted hot pools and three swimming pools: a shallow children's pool, one with a sandy beach entrance, and one with a cascading wall of water.

Rooms were located off of a maze like system of hallways with floor to ceiling windows framing gorgeous views at each turn. We had a south facing room with a private balcony and a spectacular view of the Santa Rosa Mountains. The room was clean and spacious with several nice touches like plantation shutters over the sliding glass doors, a closet with two sided access, and striking bathroom wallpaper covered with photographs of mid century modern buildings. Two minor annoyances with the room: the fitted sheet slipped off the bed during the night which caused the pad to wrinkle up and expose the mattress which was not only uncomfortable but unsanitary. There was a minibar in the room but no refrigerator. There was a sign on the minibar warning guests not to place personal items in it. The sign indicated that the resort had a few refrigerators available and to call the front desk to have one delivered. We were only there for two nights so we didn't think it was worth the trouble.

All in all, our stay was a mixed bag. It was a pleasant place to spend a few days, but once was enough.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, avoid rooms overlooking the atrium or the pool complex. Also, avoid rooms near el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    317
    100
    51
    35
See reviews for
248
227
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel wants to be an attractive resort hotel but falls short. The housekeeping is more in line a lower level hotel. The amount of towels, soaps, etc., was poor and specific requests only fixed it. The towels looked older and were turning gray.Their website stated they had an executive level with lounge. At check in, when asked, they said they had removed it. The layout and access to elevators isn't good. The staff seemed quite nice and the service in the restaurant was very good. I'd hope so for a $50 breakfast for two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and your experience in Cava. We apologize that you were not initially provided with extra towels and amenities but are glad that our housekeeping department rectified that. We will inspect our towels and make sure they are up to the standard they should be. With regards to our website listing an executive level with lounge, we will review and make sure the information is corrected. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were asked to go back by rooms director after a lacklustre performance by hotel last Christmas,New year.So we went back with a promise of getting it right,couldnt be further from the truth,we booked for 17 nights,room make up was always late despite complaining,always something missing like coffee or water or towels,asked for extra armchair and got a chaise longe,when told they bought a hard backed chair,this continued right through our stay.So we told management this is our last visit,will find another hotel that trys harder next year.
Agreat pity relly as swe have made friends with a lot of the very nice staff there.Marriott neewd to get up to seed at this resort it is very lacklustre for supposedly a four star resort.

Room Tip: Dont bother try Hyatt next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive remarks about our team’s friendliness. We apologize that your room was not refreshed early each day and with the correct amenities. Additionally, we are very sorry that we did not deliver the correct style of chair to your room. Please know that we have shared your comments with our staff as our goal is to provide a true home- away-from-home sanctuary and we realize that we came up short for you in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here in mid-December. This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff, nice large room with a great view, and a comfy bed. The surrounding area is gorgeous and peaceful. Enjoyed several nice breakfasts at their causal restaurant, Cava. Their lemon risotto pancakes are particularly yummy. There was however one big negative which may preclude me from staying at this hotel again and from giving it an excellent rating, and that is that many of the rooms, including mine, face out to a beautiful atrium area where the bar is located. This meant that I could hear loud music, loud talking, singing and bar games that lasted each night til 1 a.m. IF I stayed here again I would know to ask for a room away from the atrium area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy atrium area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind words about our resort and team. The lemon risotto pancakes are indeed yummy! We make every effort to ensure that all elements of your stay are excellent and we very sorry to hear about the noise disturbance. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights after Christmas. The lobby was beautiful and nicely decorated for the holidays, the rooms were large and comfortable (although did experience noisy AC issue as stated by previous traveler). Staff is very friendly, Cava served a nice breakfast. We especially enjoyed the outdoor seating by the pool, and drinks by the fire pits at night. My only complaints are that the tennis courts are poorly maintained (only 2 courts) and clearly not a priority for this property, and the hallways are very institutional feeling. Not a deal breaker, just odd. I would stay again, as overall, it was pleasant, close to El Paseo drive for boutique as well as nice chain store shopping. A recommendation for honest to goodness New York deli food is relatively nearby "Shermans Deli". An unexpected treat in the desert. We also went to Old La Quinta. It is close by, pretty scenery, with a small shopping/restaurant area. Not a must do, but a pleasant area to stroll, have a snack,

Room Tip: North facing rooms had a nice view of the golf course, distant mountains, and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed here before, but this visit stood out as a great experience for New Year's Eve. The whole staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the reception desk, restaurant and employees passing you in the hall. We were even greeted by the maintenance people as we walked to the parking lot. It was a nice touch getting an email after our visit, thanking us for coming. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and thought the food was very fresh, plus a nice selection. We'll be back.

Room Tip: They do have rooms away from the noise in the main area, you just need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We so appreciated hearing your positive comments about our friendly and helpful team during your stay over the holidays and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here with my sister for the New Years holiday and had a fabulous time. Because of rewards standing, we got all sorts of complimentary upgrades, which doesn't hurt, but I'm sure we would have had just as good a time in a basic room with no frills. Check in was seamless, we worked with Jackie at the front desk who combined our two one-night reservations before we even showed up so we wouldn't have any snags with needing to change rooms halfway through our stay. Our room was ginormous, corner-view, enough room to do gymnastics, two closets, and a spacious bath. I especially loved the mid-century desert architecture wallpaper in the toilet room. The breakfast buffet was understandably expensive, but delicious and with lots of options including a juice bar (though we were looking for greek yogurt at the buffet... hinthint). And our time at the spa was great, my hot stone massage from Patricia was just perfect and she was lovely. The only negative to the whole stay, honestly, was overhearing less-than-gracious fellow guests complaining to staff (who handled everything well) or being unnecessarily loud in the spa area... but that's too bad for them because we were having a great time.

I would return to the property in a heartbeat, and probably will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.