We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable luxury in the desert!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable luxury in the desert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel offers comfortable luxury that is both couple and family friendly. The rooms have moden furnishings and decor. We stayed in a standard king and had ample space to do work or relax, the bathroom was a great size with double vanities. The staff were friendly. Special cudo's to the valet's who made sure to have our car ready, cooled and windows cleaned. Amenities were great. Everything you need to have a comfortable, relaxing stay in sunny Indian wells.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    299
    95
    51
    34
See reviews for
236
212
26
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hills, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

As a loyal Marriott Rewards Gold member, we try to stay committed to the Marriott properties. We booked an Anniversary trip to this location as we have done in the past. Unfortunately, it did not stand up to its past history. During our stay in August, they were experiencing Air Conditioning issues, the entire hotel was hot and humid. Our room faced the pool with the morning sunrise that baked our room. Our room temp was never below 81 degrees. I made a few calls to the front deks to only be told that there was nothing that could be done and the engineers were working on it. Not pleased with the Customer Service agent who acted irritated that I even had a complaint. Needeless to say, we had to cut our Anniversary short by checking out early because it was just too hot. (108 that weekend). Pretty sad when you find more comfort in your vehicle A/C than your Hotel. Disappointing Anniversary trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We apologize for the temperature discomfort that you experienced during your stay and assure you that this was rectified. We take great pride in providing outstanding customer service and it disappoints us that we did not exceed your expectations when you reported the issue to us. As a valued customer, we hope you will consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Way better than my spouse & I had expected. The hotel had 5 star amenities & with priceline we paid a 4 star price. Our room was clean, pretty good size & a big bathroom area. We got a full size patio with our room. The view was of the entrance of the hotel, but it was still a pretty nice view of the mountains. Service was good in the hotel, though the service at the pool was on the slow side. We ordered most of our drinks at the bar & enjoyed the bartenders & their quick service.

Only complaint was that we left our iPad in our hotel room when we checked out. Once we got home, we realized the iPad was missing & called the hotel. After a few hour run-a-around & strange stories about the housekeeper for our room being on break, then we were told she may have gone home for the day, then housekeeping wasn't sure which housekeeper cleaned our room, our iPad finally surfaced. Not sure exactly what happened, but we were glad to drive an hour back to the hotel to retrieve our iPad. Lesson for this trip......don't leave anything of value in your room!!!!

We did enjoy the hotel & we will go back. Hopefully the protocol for housekeeping gets straightened out. If the hotel has a dishonest employee, then I hope they get reprimanded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We appreciate your comments very much and are so glad that your missing item was retrieved. We are however, disappointed that you received confusing information regarding the location of your IPad. The safety and security of our guests and their belongings is paramount and we will review this with our staff to ensure speedy accountability for items left behind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We loved the pool and the spa services were outstanding. The rooms were very nice. Bathrooms updated. Given the size of the pool, they might consider a seperate "kids" section, since its difficult to wade without running into pool toys and diving children.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view to avoid pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was not sure was to expect before arriving to the Hotel on Friday night. It was the long weekend and I was prepared for the worse. WOW....since the moment we arrived to the moment we left the Hotel, the service was spectacular, the rooms were made on time. The room had a new fresh look to it, with new furniture and bathrooms. The service at the pool was exceptional, with plenty of personnel. They gave the kids inflated beach balls. We ordered several items from the pool area menu and I was surprise of the presentation,taste and reasonable prices of all the dishes ordered.
Love the place and what management did to it. You find small details all over the property, creating very relaxing surrondings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband, myself, and my nine year old daughter stayed here on Labor Day weekend. We were pleasantly greeted and promptly checked in to our room early even though check in wasnt until 4PM (It was 12:40). This was our first time here and were happily suprised by the cleanliness and modern decor. The room was spcious and we had a view of the golf course. The linens and towels were of very nice quality. The pool was busy but not uncomfortable even though it was a holiday weekend. At night my daughter and I swam after dinner and the pool was nearly empty.
Our reservation included a delicious breakfast at Cava restaurant which was excellent and the poolside service was impeccable as well. This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever been to even surpassing the Westin's service. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent location with a large pool. The family had a wonderful time. The heat is expected but the pool and amenities are outstanding. The location is also traffic free and full of excellent choices for dining. If you want a break from the Los Angeles traffic and business, this is the getaway for you. The drive is not very far and is very scenic. Also, the golf is amazing, but only in the early morning and late evening hours as the temperatures are very high during the summer.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the golf course. I love photography and the night view of the mountain range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.