We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Golf Stay and Play in the Palm Springs Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Golf Stay and Play in the Palm Springs Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We came for the unlimited golf package in the off season (August). The hotel was great but what we really loved was the golf. The quality of the course was unbelievable for the price of the unlimited package. They had recently filmed the Golf Channel's series "Big Break Indian Wells" at the golf facility. (Indian Wells Golf Resort) The two courses were both open during our stay. We preferred the Players course to the Celebrity course. Both are rated in the top 20 courses you can play in California. We played two rounds each day. Make sure that if you are on this package that you plan ahead by scheduling your first tee time of each day in advance.

The room was very clean and pleasant. The shades over the windows allowed for a lot of sunlight if desired, which made the room a nice place to be during the daytime. The shower water pressure and heat settings were not the greatest, but I have had the pressure problem in other Palm Springs area hotels. The bathroom was spotless.

Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant treated us nicely. On the weekend they had buffets, seafood on Friday night and prime rib on Saturday night. We tried the prime rib Saturday and enjoyed everything. The front desk provided late checkout which helped us have time to pack up after golf.

We plan to come back again next year. It was really beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    293
    94
    50
    33
See reviews for
230
208
25
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The good: Location, Indian Wells. Stunning mountain views out the balcony. Impeckable grounds, pools, and landscaping; Lobby fit to host a wedding for the queen of England; sushi bar food. Service is good also.

The bad: THE ROOM WHERE YOU SPEND YOUR NIGHTS - yes, the most important part. What a contrast. At first room looks nice and cozy, and the view makes you think its a 5 star room. Upon closer examination you'll discover that room quality is no Marriott I'm familiar with - more like a road-side Comfort Inn. Carpets are cheap, ugly industrial-brown and hard, looking circa 1983. Bathrooms look good untill you see there is no fan or fan switches for either toilet or shower. Water takes a good while to get up to whatever temperature you set. Incredibly there are no ample wall power outlets for your computer and phone chargers, so you have to contort yourseft to share one by the floor with other appliances. BUT BY FAR the worst part is the beds. Its pretty much the worst mattress I've slept on, feels like a waterbed, soft clumsy, not supportive, and - seriously - caused me back pain I haven't had in a long while. Pillows are a joke, enough to cause neck problems for those who don't even have neck pain. Enough is enough - should've done a better research, staying at a Hyatt next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel seemed virtually empty when we were there, only one or two staff around, Clean comfortable, strange that they allow smoking in some areas but no ash trays , so lots of cigarette ends on the floor, in the areas you were allowed to smoke.
The receptionist was like one of the stepford wives, very nice , but very dim.
Food choice was poor with one restaurant out of use, service seemed very relaxed and laid back, until we tipped some one, suddenly everyone wanted to help us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have stayed in this property at least 10 times before over the past 20 years. Well I went there this last weekend and oh what a miserable experience. The place used to be a 4 star resort, but it seems like now they are selling off their rooms to people with limited budgets. Based upon the crowd at the pool on Saturday afternoon, it looked like we were in Tijuana!!! I counted at least 5 babies in the pool with diapers on ... Yuck, and many patrons with tatoos Yuck.
Then onto the tired rooms. When we got in our room the toilet overflowed. Then the TV did not work nor were we able to switch it off after watching it. The furniture was old and the sheets on the bed looked like they had seen better days. On top of all that they were painting the hallways... what a stink! But the worst thing was the inconsiderate crowd who did not understand that people sleep at 2 am in the morning. We called security 2 x before they quieted down, only to resume the partying at 4am . The hotel was to afraid to do anything like throw these people out.

Never again. This property should be ashamed to be associated with a Marriott brand.

Room Tip: Don't stay there, go next door to the Hyatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The staff at this hotel were genuinely friendly, accomodating and really seemed to enjoy working there. The property has free bikes to use...and the bike paths along the highway are great! The pool is big enough for everyone with pools of various depths which segregates the kids a bit. Same complaint of others....the noise can be pretty loud from the pool and also travels up from the bar area. Hotel has like a center courtyard/bar with rooms around it. Even with the ac fan, you can still hear laughing and voices.

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room unless you're a night owl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Staff was very friendly. Everyone went out of their way to say hello and offer help if needed. They even washed our windshield when we were checking out! Pool was wonderful, plenty of towels and pool side service. My only complaint was the noise level in our room. We were on the 7th floor and you could hear laughing all night long from the lobby bar. The upside, it seemed everyone was having a great time, the downside harder to get to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are convenient, but noisy. The rooms further away offer bettter sound qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Esmeralda in Sept 2011. The hotel staff was more than helpful and polite. Everyone from the maintenance people to the wait staff to the front desk were friendly and accomodating as best they could. There was a large amount of maintenance going on while I was there. Scraping and repainting the exterior, shampooing room carpets...etc, all giving the resort clean feeling. The pool area is beautiful and exactly as you would expect of a desert resort. The fitness room is large with a large assortment of cardio and weight machines. A couple of the TV's on two of the treadmills did not work, but there were other machines available. The 4th floor room I had was very large and comfortable. The bed is wonderful! A small balcony allows for some fresh air. The bath room was large and had great Aveda amenities. Plenty of closet space with doors on the bedroom side and the bathroom side. There was a small amount of mildew in the tub grout but not a big deal. The carpet in my room was a bit warn but I am sure it has had plenty of use.
The area is a bit remote and about 2 miles to the nearest store.
I would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Request a pool side for a nice view of the resort pools, waterfalls and mountains on the south side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.