We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort -Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Central CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Resort -Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Esmeralda in Sept 2011. The hotel staff was more than helpful and polite. Everyone from the maintenance people to the wait staff to the front desk were friendly and accomodating as best they could. There was a large amount of maintenance going on while I was there. Scraping and repainting the exterior, shampooing room carpets...etc, all giving the resort clean feeling. The pool area is beautiful and exactly as you would expect of a desert resort. The fitness room is large with a large assortment of cardio and weight machines. A couple of the TV's on two of the treadmills did not work, but there were other machines available. The 4th floor room I had was very large and comfortable. The bed is wonderful! A small balcony allows for some fresh air. The bath room was large and had great Aveda amenities. Plenty of closet space with doors on the bedroom side and the bathroom side. There was a small amount of mildew in the tub grout but not a big deal. The carpet in my room was a bit warn but I am sure it has had plenty of use.
The area is a bit remote and about 2 miles to the nearest store.
I would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Request a pool side for a nice view of the resort pools, waterfalls and mountains on the south side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    294
    94
    50
    33
See reviews for
231
208
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Last week my husband and I had a wonderful few days at the Esmeralda Resort. Excellent service would be an understatement, as we have been treated like royalty. Nice breakfast buffet, great Sushi bar and just silence. I can highly recommend that place and I just felt really sorry, that we did not bring the golf clubs, as the course was in great condition... we'll spend Christmas here..

Room Tip: select a corner room with two beds- that's about as much space as you can get for a bargain pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in two separate, but adjoining rooms. We are a family of 5. The rooms were clean and a decent size. The hotel is in a quiet area, with a huge cavernous atrium containing the main staircase and bar area. The pool area was a very large focal feature and is divided into sections, there was even a tiny beach complete with bucket and spade. There is a central bar in the pool complex with pleasant service and free refills for carbonated drinks. A spilled beer was replaced free of charge.

Restaurant had a good selection of food and a childrens' menu. Our children chose dessert from the adult menu and we were surprised but pleased that additional orange juices and the main menu items were not charged. Breakfast buffet allows one child to eat free with a full-price adult buffet.

Although generally life is too short to re-visit hotels far from home, I would have no hesitation staying here again.

One small grumble - there is a large colony of wisened black birds willing to pounce on unattended food left unattended outside.

Room Tip: There are adjoining rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Had a very nice experience at the hotel even during a busy holiday weekend. My husband I were there for our anniversary and the person at the front desk, (Sergio?) upgraded us to a corner suite so we could have some peace and quiet. Thank goodness! There were lots of families with kids there and the rooms overlooking the center lobby or the pool wouldn't have been great for us. A few additional thoughts:
- Pool was great fun, get there early to get chairs in the shade, it was a crazy busy weekend
- Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful
- Dinner at Scirocco at the hotel was impressive, the chef recommended a special dish not yet on the menu - fabulous food and attentive service
- only downside: breakfast at the poolside Cava - dirty napkin and glass with no apologies. Slow service, though food was pretty good when it got there.
- The activities they have for kids seemed really impressive, kids club, movie at night by the pool. Wish I had known about this when our teenagers were younger

I would definitely recommend this hotel and return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place is a mess!!!!

The rooms need updating, the carpets in the hall are FULL of stains and/or are falling apart!

The place was so gross that I left the hotel and didn't even spend the night there.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I'll make this brief...from the start of our visit, I was leery of the customer service. Mostly because they are very rigid and unyielding, especially if you come with a group of friends (we had 5). The check in person made it very clear about the pool rules with wrist bands which was fine, but she refused to give us the amount of bands needed for all of us, saying only 4 per room. Unbeknownst to her, she gave me a handout of the rules that indicated there was a 5 maximum...fine, I let that go. Next, we had to go through 3 rooms before we settled due to the hotel not reserving the right room. Our bellhop was helpful though, in finding us a room...we were appreciative of that. What followed was just one unfriendly or cold staff member after another,...just really disappointing on a supposed relaxing weekend getaway. The topper came when we got kicked out of our room for playing music and laughing...now granted the music was initially kind of loud but not blasting unbelievably loud. We lowered it but I guess not to the hotels standards, because 4 BIG masculine women came up with the manager to tell us they were moving or kicking us out depending on our cooperation. REALLY NOT NECESSARY to have been done, we were never threatening or even loud for that matter. Bottom line, this hotel is best for families, because they very much cater to this population. HOWEVER, they still greatly lack the hospitable and friendly staff that is vital to any resort.

The Pros: the restaurant breakfast buffet, night time movie near the pool for kids/families, and rooms are decent.

CONS: all of the above and most of all I stress...Customer Service is very COLD, RIGID, & NOT FLEXIBLE OR ACCOMMODATING...at least to non-family guests...not sure how they treat families...guessing not too much more different

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in August. It was a dream vacation. There was so many things at the resort we did not even need to leave. The fitness center was the best I have ever seen at a hotel. It was beautiful, state of the art equipment and beautiful locker rooms. One of my favorite things was the wonderful fruit water throughout the fitness center and the entire hotel. The beds were very comfortable. We asked for an upgrade and was moved to a room twice the size. We asked for late check out and was granted late check out. The coffee shop has wonderful pastries and yogurt, very affordable. The Glo Restaurant int he hotel had fabulous food, very affordable. The pool area was beautiful and we loved that you could swim until 11:00 pm. There was not one negative thing about the experience. We plan to return in April. Fabulous getaway!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa

Address: 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.