We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-600 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Hyatt Grand Champions. Indian Wells is a beautiful and quiet area. The public area's of the resort are very nice and well maintained.
When booking your room, if you care about the view and a quiet room- book the pool or golf view. Garden view at this property means parking lot or conference center. The front desk was very unaccomidating, we just paid the higher rate to avoid the noise and concrete.
Also would not suggest room service. They do not serve what is described on the menu and the food is less than mediocre.

  • Liked — Mountain views
  • Disliked — older guest room accomidations
  • Tips/Secrets — book the pool or garden view
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    423
    145
    78
    32
See reviews for
386
378
43
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Bay Area
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
75 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

Basically, this hotel is far away from 'civilization', there is nothing to doo unless you are on a conference. Basically, a desert retreat for the middle class family kind of place. The hotel is a decent one, with a good pool and spa; dipping into the pool is about all activity you can engage in, if you are i-like-to-float-in-the-pool kind of person. There are no hiking trails, just suburbia and the desert, and a small golf course.

I stayed in this hotel in July; needless to say, outside was superhot. The food was conventional, perhaps slightly mediocre. I liked the bar, we spent a lot of time on its veranda. The hotel staff was universally helpful.

A nice touch was an iPod clock in every room, and free bicycles - I'd definitely recommend giving it a try in 120F weather; puts you in an altered state.

At night, lots of little bunnies emerge onto the hotel property. I liked that, it made the place more alive and natural.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Hyatt service and staff are a cut above the rest. The rooms are nicely appointed, and the beds are comfortable. We stayed in a basic room that faced the street rather than the pool, but it was still pleasant., very quiet, and fairly convenient to everything. The pools at this resort are outstanding. We went without the kids, and we probably would have spent the entire time at the pool if they were along. The hotel restaurant has an excellent menu and good service when crowds are low. The last day business picked up and service went downhill. Also, a bad experience with the Agua Serena spa left us with a negative impression, but the Hyatt management cares whether you are satisfied so they worked with us to make it right. Still, I would not recommend the Agua Serena spa. Very pricey and not very good service. We went next door to check out the Esmerelda Renaissance hotel and found it had a less casual, more business travel feel to it. I'm glad we stayed where we did. All told, I would definitely stay at the Hyatt Grand Champions again. This was overall a memorable and very relaxing trip. No regrets at all.

  • Liked — Incredible pools, good food, excellent staff
  • Disliked — Parking wasn't very convenient, but it was OK
  • Tips/Secrets — Go on the verge of peak season
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

We stayed at this resort during a tour around California last September. The entrance area and reception were up to the mark as was the bar and restaurant. Service and standards of food were also high. The grounds were immaculate and the rooms of a fair size although the one we had was a fair walk from the reception/bar area but at least it kept us fit.

The weather in September was hot, in the mid 90’s so I can’t imagine what it would be like in the summer!!! I can only guess, as there are cold-water mist sprays around the outside bar patio area – phew!!!

All in all a good quality 4 star hotel.

  • Liked — Bar Area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

We expected a lot from the hotel given our recent Hyatt experience at Huntington Beach but were disappointed from the moment we entered the lobby - bland, tired decorations more suited to a motel. The reception was not warm and we were shown to a room that although clean was in desperate need of modernisation, as we discovered was the case for the rest of the hotel. Poor maintenance was added to by a noisy old fashioned air conditioning system which appeared common throughout the building. The Club Lounge was adequate but the general tired appearance of the hotel could not be overcome. We left after one night due to a poor night's sleep thanks to the airconditioning, glad to get away and to seek sanctuary in the truly luxurious Four Seasons at Aviara.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Air conditioning
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

For our quarterly vacation, we decided to take a road trip to a destination within a few hours. Having stayed at the Renaissance Esmeralda earlier this year, my family decided we liked the Palm Springs area as a quick getaway from the OC. This time, we found an AAA special at the Hyatt Grand Champions that included daily breakfast. We arrived on Thursday before the weekend rush and were greeted by very nice doorman who arranged to have our bags delivered to our room. The nice part about the layout of the hotel is that self-parking is very close to many of the rooms and is not a hike; however, the lot is small and can fill up quickly (when it did one day, the doorman directed us to the top level of the valet garage). We were greeted by very courteous front desk staff who recommended a fourth floor room and made arrangements for a crib (pack-and-play) for our toddler.

ROOM
Our room was very clean and orderly and our bags arrived promptly with the crib arriving shortly thereafter. The A/C was set at a comfortable temperature (it was in the 110’s that weekend) and had no problem cooling our east-facing room; however, it was very noisy and not of the quieter type found in nicer Las Vegas Hotels. We stayed in a mountain view king room that included a sofa sleeper in a step-down area. Don’t panic when you don’t see a refrigerator on first glance, it’s hidden inside the dresser. The bathroom was nice with a separate tub and shower; however, the toilet was oddly not in a separate water closet. The room had a small balcony with two chairs that we sat on and watched the mid-day thunder and lightening storm that passed through the Coachella Valley. The bed was very comfortable and there was a clock radio with an iPod dock.

POOLS
Once we were settled in, we checked out the hotel grounds in the dry heat. There are a number of pools varying in size and depth. A short water slide is at one of the pools and there is a water feature area that the kids can play in. There were plenty of poolside chairs with umbrellas and small tables (we managed to find space in the afternoon when the pool area was packed). An ice maker with cups was next to the towel service and small cabanas can be rented. We played in the pools that had shade from the surrounding palm trees and ordered lunch one day from the poolside restaurant (no walk up service). We noted that as the day progressed the amount of unpicked up litter grew to a noticeable level.

DINING
We dined off the hotel grounds every evening (PF Changs at the River, Cliffhouse in La Quinta, and Pat & Oscars at the Palm Desert Mall) but ate breakfast at the hotel’s Santa Rosa Café. The staff at the in-hotel restaurant was very attentive, Jose was our server two of the mornings and he provided outstanding table service. The food itself was what we would expect including the weekend buffet that had omelets made to order.

SPA
One of the reasons we took this trip was to visit the spa. The Aqua Serena spa is in its own standalone building on the hotel grounds. The mandatory $14/day resort fee includes admission to the spa and workout facilities (under renovation at the time of our visit). My wife and I had a couples massage one morning that we agreed was very nice; however, there was a rushed sense about it (I had trouble keeping up with my therapist in my robe and flip flops as she escorted me from the men’s lounge). There was also construction going on across the lake at the time, so the nice background music was broken by occasional pounding and sawing. After our massage, we relaxed side-by-side on some lounge chairs by the center fountain that you see in all of the spa pictures. There was no male attendant that day and while there was one on the women’s side, my wife remarked she did not do a whole lot. While our massages were very relaxing, we both agreed the Esmeralda across the way was a more relaxing spa visit.

SUMMARY
We enjoyed our three night stay at the Grand Champions and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Convenient parking, pools, Santa Rosa breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy room AC, marginal spa
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose upper level room, dinner in town
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

I stayed here with a friend during one of our getaway weekends to the desert. I've stayed at just about every property in the Palm Desert/Indian Wells area and this one rates pretty well. The grounds don't compare to the beauty of the JW Marriott, but the rooms at the Hyatt are much nicer. As noted in another review, the beds are really small which might be an issue if you're sharing!
There are several pools and though they were crowded when we went, there were plenty of lounge chairs and the poolside drink service was prompt. Best poolside drinks by far!
The $18 PER DAY valet fee is pretty ridiculous, but there isn't a lot of self- parking so it's kind of a necessary evil.
I would defnintely stay here again. It's on par with the Renaissance Esmeralda and leagues above the Rancho Las Palmas.

  • Liked — nice rooms, nice pool
  • Disliked — $18 valet fee
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44-600 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa is a renowned Indian Wells resort situated on a 45-acre desert oasis. We offer delightful Indian Wells, California resort activities to occupy your days of leisure in whatever way pleases you the most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Champions Resort, Villas Hotel Indian Wells
Hyatt Indian Wells
Indian Wells Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.