We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Another Day in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44-600 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just Another Day in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Hyatt and in Indian Wells. The hotel is beautiful (but yes, it is in need of some updating). Our rooms (connecting) were spacious and the beds so very comfortable. The bathrooms were also large however, the design could be tweaked to allow for a shower large enough to bathe without banging elbows. The bathrooms could also be equipped with magnifying mirrors and better lighting. The bedroom would benefit from a full length mirror that is not mounted on the closet doors with only 36 inches between them and the wall. We really enjoyed being on the ground floor facing the pools. It made for wonderful mornings sitting out there before getting ready for our day. And we did not experience any issues with noise, whether from other guests or bands. One complaint: we were in the second to last room of the wing (near the spa). We could go out via the door at the end of the hall but had to walk half-way down the wing to get back in. I see no reason why that door can't be equipped with a card reader. And the walk to the lobby was LONG, until we figured out that we could go out the first door to the front of the hotel and cut across....a lovely walk. The adults only pool was delightful with good beverage/food service. The Roadrunner Cafe, not so much. The food in the Lantana had good food and it was great when we could get a seat outside. Don't fall for the buffet breakfast unless you eat a lot. Otherwise, it is more expensive than ordering off the menu. The Agave Sunset lounge had a very good DJ Wednesday night and a good band on Thursday. We got back too late on Friday and Saturday for those bands. The spa is very nice. Only complaint is, you have to time it just right to use any of the exercise equipment. We golfed twice at the IW Golf Resort. BEAUTIFUL course in wonderful condition and the staff is the best I have encountered in ages. I would rank it for staff and appearance right up there with Mauna Kea. Biggest complaint: having to pay for internet service. At $300+/night plus a $23/day resort fee, I find it annoying to then have to pay $10/day to use the internet....especially when I get it for free at so many lower-end motels and inns. Biggest compliment: the staff, especially the guys out front. Lenny is a doll and always took good care of us.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool or the golf course, not the "garden." The "garden" vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    321
    125
    66
    30
See reviews for
285
268
36
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

From the time you drive into this wonderful hotel you know you have hit another piece of Palm Springs paradise, the entrance is very grand and the staff from the front door valet to the front desk were very nice and warm welcoming us with fresh squeezed orange Juice and pleasant smiles.

Room Tip: any room is nice, you want to be on the ground floor viewing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I reserved the Hyatt through the American Express Platinum Fine Hotels & Resorts Program.

AmEx Platinum cardholders BEWARE! This is NOT on par with any Fine Hotel & Resort I've stayed at.

I did not receive an upgrade due to their being "over capacity." Fine. I had a Respire by Hyatt allergy-free room. All of the previous reviews about the A/C are CORRECT. Never once did my room feel cool crisp or fresh. Weird.

The towels in the bathroom are what you might expect from your local YMCA. Thin, greyish and reeking of fabric softener. WHY in the world would you put towels with fabric softener in an allergy-free room??? The towels literally made me not want to shower. Not to mention the toilet seat with one hinge broken off.

The rooms are large and have a sunken-in living area which is not. The cottage cheese walls and ceiling are reminiscent of Motel 6. The tiny patio has 2 battered chairs and peeling paint.

The restaurant, Lantana had okay food. However it was HORRIBLY run. The woman at the front was one of those bizarre people who cherish their tiny power position. At breakfast, even when there were tons of empty tables, she wrote down your name and told you it would be 5 minutes. I've never seen so many workers buzzing around a restaurant with such poor service and chaos. Runners, waiters, manager-types with earpieces in. It was so unrelaxing and stressful. There was no sense at all that as a guest, you were valued or being taken care of. I've felt more relaxed waiting in line for a ride at Disneyland.

That service goes for most of the staff at the hotel. The pool restaurant waiters looked and acted like 18-year-old summer camp counselors.

Finally, upon checking out, I received an email allowing me to check out online. Great. Except that I had been charged $254.00 for parking, $10.00 for internet which was included with their outrageous $23/night resort fee, and my Platinum benefit of free dinner was not taken off of the bill. Really Hyatt? You make your guests point all those things out instead of catching them?

This will be the last Hyatt I stay at for the foreseeable future. My relaxing weekend away to do some writing was anything but. My room charge of $319/night was so outrageously overpriced, I'm infuriated.

AmEx Platinum: This hotel should NOT be on your FHR program. Trust me on this. I've stayed at hotels around the world through the Platinum program--this is a 3.5 star hotel at best. Nothing exceptional, glamorous, or noteworthy here.

Although the golf course looked lovely. Too bad I don't golf.

Can't wait to hit the road back to LA...

Room Tip: Try the Parker Palm Springs instead. I hear it's nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent the Presidents Weekend and following few days at this resort and are returning home very satisfied with our week at the Hyatt. We chose this hotel as part of a West Jet Holiday flying out of Vancouver BC based on price and location.

Our hotel check-in was fast and very courteous a short overview of hotel amenities and genuine interest in our stay. We were provided with a room facing the pool on the 2nd floor and really appreciated the large, very clean and well appointed room. The bed was excellent!

We chose not to use the A/C and just enjoyed the breeze from the open sliding door off the balcony. It was not overly noisy and the one night there was a private function at the pool the music was over at 11:00 PM sharp.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful - and without exception were greeted by all with a hello or a smile. We ate one lunch at the restaurant/bar and had one room service meal - both excellent and above average fare for hotel food (in my opinion).

We used the Adult Pool 3 times and although busy we found plenty of pool towels provided and available lounge chairs. We also tried the free bikes and used them to cycle around the property - pity we could not go farther but understandable for reasons of hotel liability.

We loved the Indian Wells area and found it central to our driving to Palm Springs, Palm Desert and the Outlet Mall. It did not hurt that we had a week of amazing weather and were able to enjoy a whole week of great temperatures and sunshine.

We are easy travelers, however we know when we don't like something! Just prior to check out we noticed we had been doubled charged for parking and with one call to the front desk the charge was removed immediately and without long discussion.

The Hyatt provided us with a great week away and we would recommend this resort and would return as well.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view to the pool(s) or golf course....otherwise you may be looking at the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent the Presidents Weekend at this resort. Nice large clean rooms. The lounge had live music at night that was a bit loud. The sound spilling into the hotel lobby. The Lantana restaurant was great for lunch and dinner. We didn't try it for breakfast. The Indian Wells golf courses are some of the best in Palm Springs area. Highly recommended! I would go back to Hyatt Grand Champions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We decided to stay here because they allow dogs. We got a basic room with a king for $370 a night. When we checked in, we made it clear to them that our dog was a medical service animal. Otherwise they would have charged an additional $100. When we checked out, however, they did their best to deny his service animal status and charge us more. This went on for awhile, which was as distasteful as it was unprofessional.

The room itself was fine. Long hallway leading to the sleeping area. No special decor whatsoever. Very expensive bar and snacks. The toilet ran all the time. The TV was not hooked up properly, so we had to do that ourselves. Then pay $15.99 to watch a movie.

The parking lot was completely full when we came back from dinner, but they continued to let more cars in. After searching for quite some time to get a parking space, we found the next morning that we were blocked in by someone who parked in the fire lane. Turns out many people did the same thing.

We didn't access any of the spa or other amenities, but based on our far less than satisfactory experience we will not be back to do so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Hotel is very large (in number of rooms!), which is bad. Especially with a few outdoor areas!!!
Excluding the golf that was just ok. The spa area was also good, but of course, had to extra pay.

I wanted to run and I had to go for a run on the street!! because hadn´t place (space) in the hotel.
In fact the room was a little old, without decoration and ugly. The balcony is terrible - without privacy. The only good thing was the view of golf - which is more expensive of course.
The room service is bad too.

I forgot the pool - a nightmare with bars. Only children and fools must like it.

The parking was also very complicated.

But they had a good restaurant and very nice people, at least!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Champions Resort, Villas Hotel Indian Wells
Hyatt Grand Champions Resort, Villas Hotel
Hyatt Grand Champions Resort
Hyatt Indian Wells
Indian Wells Hyatt
Hyatt Grand Champions
Address: 44-600 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa is a renowned Indian Wells resort situated on a 45-acre desert oasis. We offer delightful Indian Wells, California resort activities to occupy your days of leisure in whatever way pleases you the most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.