We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands of Indian Wells

Save Saved
You added Sands of Indian Wells to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sands of Indian Wells
75-188 Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Desert, CA USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked this with some trepidation as we read some reviews. Vincent at check in was great. Location is the BEST! Nice pool area with four clean grills. Lovely grounds. Staff very friendly. We enjoyed the small size of the resort. Easy to park, swim, cook, etc.

Room Tip: We like ground floor rooms, but like every multi-floor timeshare, there is some noise from above, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Over the holidays, I had the pleasure of staying at the Sands! I must say that the service there was amazing! The rooms were clean, the employees were welcoming and I got an all around "at home" feeling! I can cook and even entertain guests if need be! It's a short drive to the desert night life but tucked away in a quiet part of town that makes it easy to get much needed rest!

Room Tip: Love the corner rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the WORST hotel experience ever!!!!!!!! How this place has good reviews is beyond me. Checked in after hours, no receptionist, just a call box to an answering service and drop box. Got to the room and was utterly shocked. OLD OLD OLD WORN WORN WORN in every possible way from the furnishings to the appliances to the bathroom tile, tiny shower and toilet, I can rant on an on. The bed pulled out of the wall....the bed pulls out of the wall...but I was stuck and already paid over the phone from a terrible recommendation from HOTELS.COM (1st time I ever used their service). There is a restaurant in front that had loud music past midnight. I had an early morning tee time, check out was 10 AM, so I called their answering service and tried to get a late checkout of 1 PM. Second call to the service I asked if it would be an issue, they assured me it it would not and the front desk would return my call first thing in the morning when they arrive at 9 AM...NEVER GOT A CALL. 11 AM my wife got kicked out from the front desk person, YES KICKED OUT and very RUDE about it also. I got a call on the golf course from an IRATE wife, enough said. I am a seasoned business traveler, between 30-50 days a year on average, I know hotels and service; this place is unbelievable, I can't put this review on enough travel sites, DO NOT GIVE THIS PLACE YOUR BUSINESS. I will never use HOTELS.COM ever again and tell all my family, friends, co-workers and anyone else who will listen not to use their site or ever stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Difficult parking a truck (I have a F150 Super Crew), no receptionist or front desk after normal hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey E, General Manager at Sands of Indian Wells, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take a moment and apologize for the unpleasant experience you recently had at the Sands Hotel of Indian Wells. I appreciate your feedback about your stay. The room you booked on Hotels.com was a studio unit with a Murphy bed and queen size sleeper sofa. That description is clearly stated. There are many pictures of the guest rooms at the hotel on Tripadvisor and Hotels.com. They show images of the same furniture your room was furnished with. I am sorry they did not meet your standards.
I have spoken with the front desk clerk who was on duty during the time of your stay, and unfortunately he did not call you back when he got into the office the morning you were due to check out. He did call your wife and offered a late checkout of 11am that day. Due to the hotel being sold out and the incoming reservations we had for that day, 11:00 am was the latest checkout time he could grant. He offered your wife coffee and informed her that she could relax in the "Coachella" room and watch television until you returned to pick her up.
I also want to apologize for the false information that was given to you by our afterhours answering service. They are unable to give any kind of late checkout or early arrival and have been informed that any further requests must be handled by the front desk staff only.
We will be implementing new procedures to ensure that this does not happen again in the future to any guest that stays with us.
We wish you nothing but the best on all your future travels.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey Ewell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my 3rd trip the Sands of Indian Wells, and I just love coming here. It is like a little apartment the rooms have great space with a balcony/patio and a kitchenette with appliances so I can bring my own snacks/drinks. It is a short drive to Palm Springs, and a lot less money to stay in Indian Wells vs Palm Springs.

The staff are VERY friendly, the rooms are well kept, very clean, and have flat screen TVs.
Pool and jacuzzi are clean, the best part is that it is Salt Water pool makes my skin feel good after a refreshing swim.

You can tell that the GM Jeffery loves his job and loves what he does, he is always radiating joy and happyness he has great hospitality.

Hope to come back soon!!

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor along HWY 111 to sit out there in the morning with coffee has a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin Park, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have come here Many times allways had a great time the resort manager jeffrey, dose every thing possible see to it happens . this place is just the right size for me n my wife. Neat n tidy, the whole staff is wonderfull. Thanks SANDS for being there..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My first time at the Sands was exactly like the next four times I spent there, it was all fabulous. The layout of the rooms, the fact that they have kitchens with all the silverware and dishware and pots and pans. And the pool! The pool is nice and large, and the Jacuzzi is good and hot. I even took my mother there, and she is way picky, she loved it. Don't forget to check out The bar restaurant in front of the hotel, it gets real hoppin at night.I love the fact that it is not in central Palm Springs, but still a short enough drive away. The staff at the front desk as well as the maid service is exceptional, and I can't wait to go back. :)

Room Tip: rooms with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The resort is quaint and friendly. Jeffrey the manager did everything humanly possible to make our stay comfortable, memorable and perfect! He is a wealth of information and a joy. The hotel is located in the ideal situation - close to everything, plenty of parking, and the pool was never crowded. Take advantage of the charming bar-b-q area and the table tennis. I highly recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, spotless clean rooms, relaxing pool and charming setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands of Indian Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Indian Wells

Also Known As:
Sands Of Indian Wells Hotel
Sands Of Indian Wells Hotel Indian Wells
Sands Hotel Indian Wells
Address: 75-188 Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by golf, tennis and the scenic splendor of the Palm Springs, the Sands Hotel of Indian Wells provides a great vacation escape for families and couples alike. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. Outdoor Salt water pool and jacuzzi. Featuring cable TV, all rooms at the Sands have a kitchenette. Each comfortable furnished room includes a private bathroom. Guests at the Sands Hotel can relax with a game of shuffleboard, ping-pong, or 3 hole miniature golf. Outdoor entertaining areas with BBQ facilities and seating are available. Hotel office hours:Monday 9am-5pmTuesday 9am-5pmWednesday 9am-5pmThursday 9am-5pmFriday 9am-7pmSaturday 9am-5pmSunday 9am-9pmIf arriving after hours, please call the hotel for instructions on late arrival procedures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sands of Indian Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands of Indian Wells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.