We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strawberry Creek Inn
Save
You added Strawberry Creek Inn to your Saves list
26370 Scenic Hwy 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the detached cottage rather than in the Inn itself. Although nicely appointed with antiques and knic-knacs and basically clean, we were very disappointed in a number of items. The jacuzzi tub requires special handling (read guest book notes for details); only dura-logs are allowed in the fireplace and they are only supplied for a limited number of months - we had to buy our own in early May; one small piece of 'strong' paper towel was supplied to wash dishes.. in order to get your dishes clean I would suggest picking up a sponge as we did; the baking pans were so grease stained and filthy that we wouldn't even use them to cook in; and the myriad windows were covered so incredibly thick with soot and grime, that you can barely see clearly through them. One very important note, although this is a B & B, be advised that breakfast is NOT included if you stay in the up-charged cottage, that is an additional $40/day. The cottage does sit close to the road, so be advised that it is not as quiet and secluded as one might hope.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menifee
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Idyllwild is a nice place to visit. There are so many things to do, shops to visit, trails to hike and people are very friendly. The inn was beautifully decorated and well maintained. There were cozy nooks in which to sit and read, a comfortable rocking chair and a coffee table made from a sled! The breakfasts were to DIE for! We had a chipotle soufflé on Sunday morning which made me regret not buying the inn's cookbook. There was a sign posted for almost any question you may have regarding your stay, which was good because the owners were rather difficult to reach and not very talkative. Hence, only 4 stars. Otherwise, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The common room was fabulous with puzzles and books and checkers, and movies to take to your room. Our breakfasts were light and very tastey. The room had intricate, antique-loooking (I am NO expert) decor and lamps - was just a bit dusty in the ceiling areas. (Note: make sure your TV works before you let the Innkeeper out of your view). The only part that felt a bit off from other B&Bs was that the Innkeepers least desire was to converse with any of us! At breakfast, if you were not seated with your mate when the food appeared, the announcement was made as to what the dish was, once, and off he went. Perhaps a tiring week for them. Being right off the main road, traffic will make some noise if you stay during a weekday commute morning.

Room Tip: The ADA compliant room allowed for a larger shower, nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Strawberry Creek Inn very much. We stayed in the Evergreen room and LOVED the fireplace! We appreciate that they include the java log each night we stayed and the breakfasts were AMAZING! Very yummy. Love the sitting room and the cozy feel of the room. It's a nice touch that you could choose from postcards and they would mail them out for you! Our only criticism of our stay was the shower and the bed. I'm 5' 5" and the shower was too short for me and the shower head was terrible. The bed wasn't very comfortable at all and the mattress definitely needs to be replaced. Other than that, we definitely enjoyed our stay at the Strawberry Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 2 days last week at the Inn. It was cold outside, but cozy inside. Food was excellent and our hosts were helpful. We hiked in the snow and enjoyed the Inn's library. We highy recommend this spot for a restful get-away.

Room Tip: Maggie's room is rosy-hued and has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My sister and I traveled to Idyllwild, CA in June 2012 to visit relatives and were very impressed with the Strawberry Creek Inn close to the heart of Idyllwild (just a short walk along Strawberry Creek to town). The Inn had several individual rooms facing a courtyard deck and some rooms inside the main house. Everything was very clean and well-kept. Every morning we had a different and most delicious gourmet breakfast presented to us by Rodney and Ian, the best innkeepers ever!!! The eggs came right from the chickens raised on the property. The innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the area and would do anything for us. It was a comfortable and wonderful stay. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Strawberry Creek was everything we'd hoped it would be--quiet, peaceful, and private. The innkeepers, Rodney and Ian, were so warm and welcoming. We stayed in the main building in Maggie's room and it was truly beautiful, so many small special details like a canopy bed and small antiques decorating each corner of the room. Our room featured a nice bathtub, which I'm not sure the others have (a major plus for me). The breakfasts were delicious. Each room has plush robes, a TV with VHS/DVD and CD player, and refrigerator. The grounds are also incredibly beautiful. I would absolutely recommend Strawberry Creek for anyone wanting to get away for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Maggie's Room had a bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strawberry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Creek Inn

Address: 26370 Scenic Hwy 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat that will rejuvenate your spirit and relax your body, the Strawberry Creek Inn offers peaceful luxuries and simple pleasures. Just two hours or less from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles and San Diego, the San Jacinto Mountains will envelope you in the rustic beauty of Idyllwild, California. * Walk along Strawberry Creek * Savor a homemade breakfast of fresh, organic ingredients * Read in the library * Bask in the summer sun * Snuggle in front of a roaring fire in winter Come visit and rediscover life’s quiet joys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Creek Hotel Idyllwild

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.