We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Idyllwild. Loved the FV Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Valley Inn
Save
You added Fern Valley Inn to your Saves list
25240 Fern Valley Road, PO Box 116, Idyllwild, CA 92459   |  
Hotel amenities
Venice, CA
1 review
“Loved Idyllwild. Loved the FV Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I stayed here for an extended period of three weeks when working on a project. The staff was lovely and extremely helpful. The cabin was really sweet. My only complaint was that there was a shower, no tub. But this is pretty standard for all the cabins in Idyllwild. Otherwise it was an wonderful experience.

  • Liked — The staff was really friendly. The rooms felt like you stepped back in time. So sweet.
  • Disliked — No Tub. Some of the rooms do have, but ours just had a shower.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SAN DIEGO - OTAY AREA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Good B&B getaway for couples. We stayed at the "Rose Garden" cabin. It was quite and comforatble, very remote and recommend to couples seeking to getaway for a day or two. Recommend getting this cabin or any other with a kitchennette, and it does get a little cold at night, be sure to pack up on logs and food. All utensils are there.

Respectfully,

The Garcia's
San Diego, CA

  • Liked — HOME FEELING
  • Disliked — STOVE WORKED FOR A LITTLE BIT ONLY
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

Warning to everyone who wants to stay here. This isn't really a B&B. There is no breakfast served. The morning basket he refers to is the normal basket of coffee and tea by the coffee maker. We were disappointed when we asked him in the morning for breakfast and were told they just give morning baskets. We stayed in the Fern Grotto room. The room was decently clean except for the shower. You could see black stains on the tub underneath the mat. There was one oddity about the place. He put signs everywhere telling you what you couldn't do. The oddest ones were the "please don't sit on the quilt" and the "please don't take the towels out to the pool" signs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2004

Quiet, clean, and very idyllic. Stayed in a cabin that was decorated in a rustic style with a beautiful quilt. Owners were very friendly and helpful. A real get-a-way from city life---spent three nights away from it all in the Fern Valley Inn and will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2003

The "Hideaway" at the Fern Valley Inn was so adorable, we did not want to leave. It had all the amenities needed, and was quite roomy for two people. I especially enjoyed the charm of this cozy little cabin from the antique furniture and french doors, to the wood burning stove. Most importantly, the cabin was very clean and well maintained, as well as the grounds. Mother Nature assisted in providing beautiful surroundings, and the Inn keeper was friendly and accomodating. Overall, The Fern Valley Inn provided us a wonderful atmosphere in which to escape to for the week-end.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Valley Inn

Address: 25240 Fern Valley Road, PO Box 116, Idyllwild, CA 92459
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fern Valley Hotel Idyllwild

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.